We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limerock Inn- a must stay B & B in Rockland!”
Review of LimeRock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LimeRock Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our family visited Maine for the 1st time in late July/early August for Lobster Fest in Rockland. We stayed at the Limerock Inn and were not disappointed with any of the amenities. Our hosts, Frank and P.J., went over a above to make sure we had everything we needed. The breakfasts were over the top and different every day. The wrap- around porch was beautiful and the grounds were very nicely maintained. It was a very easy walk to the downtown area and shopping and when we weren't doing that , we were driving the coast of Maine and shopping at some of the other quaint towns along the shore. We will definitely return to Maine and the Limerock Inn!

Room Tip: All of the rooms I saw looked wonderful. I would have stayed in any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Last summer, my parents, wife, and I decided to go to Rockland for this year's Lobster Festival. While my parents stayed at another B&B in town, we went to the LimeRock Inn based on reviews. We were not disappointed!

Frank and PJ are absolutely great at what they do. It's only the two of them, but you'd never know it. The breakfast every morning was superb. Plenty to get you going, but never so much that it felt like too much. If they have the buttermilk biscuits, you are in for a treat!

For 5 nights, my wife and I had the Island Cottage room. It was fantastic. It's somewhat separated from the rest of rooms. There's no room above it and the only rooms next to it are the kitchen and little pantry/office area, so noise was never a concern. Out the back, we had our own little deck with a small table and two chairs. Absolutely wonderful to read a book or have some wine (or knit, as my wife likes to do). Also, it afforded a view of the little gazebo and garden area, which seemed to be frequented by hummingbirds when we were there. To add to how great this was, although my parents were in another very nice B&B, we kept finding that we all sat around at the Limerock Inn together rather than the other B&B. It was just very nice and relaxing.

A little bit more about staying in the room...the king size bed was very comfortable to come back to at the end of the day. Also, the attached bathroom has a nice whirlpool tub in it that was also very good. As is not uncommon for Maine, the A/C was one of the window variety. THis was plenty to keep the room cool or bring down the temperature quickly enough that you never noticed really being uncomfortable. The decor is also very light and refreshing and relaxing.

I can guarantee that should we ever find ourselves back in Rockland (high probability!) we'll be checking with Frank and PJ to stay with them again.

Room Tip: If available, I say definitely get the Island Cottage. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Sailing in Penobscot Bay but weather turned sour, so we put in at Rockland and stayed two nights. Innkeepers delightful, rooms very comfortable, breakfast delicious, and we had lovely conversations with the other guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent one night at the Limerock Inn while touring the coast of Maine. By far it was the very best of all the Inns we visited. Frank & PJ were welcoming and friendly. The Inn was clean and well maintained. Additionally the breakfast was delicious and even included some amazing homemade buttermilk biscuits. When we return to Miane we will definitely be making reservations to stay here again. Thank you Frank & PJ for making this the perfect stay for the last night of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursela89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

my husband and I share a spectacular weekend with our friends at Limerock Inn. We chose last weekend to see what Rockland's Lobstafest is all about. We historically are not bed and breakfast people, but Limerock was recommended by a friend who lives in Rockland. We LOVED the Inn and Frank and PJ made us feel like we were home. The Inn is beautifully decorated, and each room has its own bathroom. The beds were comfortable. I loved the wrap-around porch, where we enjoyed a glass of wine. We were cheerfully greeted in the am by PJ and Frank, and served a wonderful 3 course breakfast, which Frank had created. fresh scones, muffins, french toast, eggs. It was wond erful!!!. My husband and I plan to make this an annual event. We are still talking about those scones Frank made us!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dec19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I love to travel and immerse ourselves in all things local - The Limerock was the perfect backdrop for experiencing the quaint charm of Maine's gorgeous seaside towns. Innkeepers P.J. & Frank offered us fabulous accomodations at every turn and the best part was being walking distance from the epicenter of Rockland life - Main street. We enjoyed our coffee every morning on the wrap around porch while we the fog still hung low to the ground. We sipped wine in the gazebo in the evening after dinner and a day of traveling up and down the coastline. We stayed for five nights and loved every minute of our visit. When left we felt like we were leaving our dear friends P.J. & Frank's home in Maine and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChismMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

A wonderful place to call home for your stay in Maine. We loved the inn, the location, the room, the decor, the lovely proprietors, and the whole experience. We had to find a place at the last minute and they couldn't have made it any easier or more pleasant. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank traveltato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berry Manor Inn
Berry Manor Inn
#1 of 8 in Rockland
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LimeRock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LimeRock Inn

Address: 96 Limerock St, Rockland, ME 04841-2945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range: £76 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LimeRock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockland's first bed & breakfast is tucked away on a quiet side street encircled by a wraparound porch and landscaped gardens. Step back in time to a world of relaxation in comfort and elegance in a beautiful coastal ME turreted Victorian mansion turned B&B. This exquisite example of Queen Anne architecture is reminiscent of the gracious lifestyle of a bygone era. But don’t worry, we offer the best of both worlds having packed in modern appointments like gourmet food, complimentary guest pantry, luxury bath & spa amenities, complimentary wifi, and more. That’s why readers of DownEast magazine chose LimeRock Inn as the “Best B&B in Maine” two years in a row! Come and experience it for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your LimeRock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LimeRock Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing