We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fell in love with him!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Jack Lobster Boat Adventure

Captain Jack Lobster Boat Adventure
Southern California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fell in love with him!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

He waited for us as we could not find parking. He greeted us with a big welcoming smile and we had such a blast. What a special treat to spend time in Maine like this. He makes the kids feel special and part of the catch. He gives you a feeling like you live there with him and you are now an official crew member working on his boat. The time on the ocean makes you more curious about what is around the next corner and a yearning to learn more. Before 20 min. pass you are pointing out his buoy's before the Cap can! Very exciting and educational. Learned a lot about the male and female lobster, how to recognize him or her, how to measure them, how to look for one with eggs or one that is "untouchable" - meaning a female who is a large producer and cannot be caught. Very nice experience, very nice man. I would've ran away with you capt. if I didn't have the kids with me!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mommisalami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    3
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Does not honor reservations”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We made reservations for a family of four for a Friday morning, and when we showed up, the owner, Captain Steve Hale, would not honor them. He went so far as to say that he didn't even remember taking the call, which happened three days before. We had two gift certificates for the adults, so he probably found 'paying' customers and we were bumped. He thought he was doing us a favor by telling us that we could wait a few hours and spots might open up on a later tour. It was a very unfortunate experience, and we won't be back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 77harp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A two hour cruise...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Very informative tour, learned a lot about the life of a lobsterman. Captain Steve (the boat's called the Captain Jack) took us out across the harbour, pulled in about 10 traps. We had to ask him to slow down the process of removing the catch, releasing the undersized ones and rebaiting so that everyone could see. He spent some time on the radio with other working boats, which is OK if you have some nautical background to appreciate it. My traveling companion enjoyed herself, which is why we went on this cruise in the first place. If you want to know about lobsters and lobstering today, this is a good place to start.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AMDew1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go to Camden - Lots of choices and much nicer personalities!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Tried to get a reservation but left 2 voice mails and one email with no response. Went to dock to see if we could just show up since Captain Jack doesn't return calls but he told us we would have to wait until Friday (3 days later). Forget it! Drove to Camden and got right on a beautiful, large sailboat - the Appledore for a 2 hour gorgeous cruise out to sea, sailing with an informative, warm crew.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nbell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a fun afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I went out on Captain Jack Lobster adventure and really enjoyed it! It was informative and scenic, and just plain and simply a good time!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Jack Lobster Boat Adventure also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Captain Jack Lobster Boat Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing