We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of our best holidays in the US”
other travellers have booked this property
The decks at the front of the house.  Sit out and relax in the sun or dine alfresco.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The decks at the front of the house.  Sit out and relax in the sun or dine alfresco.
Elegant European style kitchen, with fine English china, dishwasher, washer/dryer, fridge/freezer European style under-counter machines
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The decks at the front of the house.  Sit out and relax in the sun or dine alfresco.
Elegant European style kitchen, with fine English china, dishwasher, washer/dryer, fridge/freezer
European style under-counter machines
Spode china in the dishrack.  Plenty of pots and pans.
Charming dining room; English antique mahogany table & chairs.  China display in the  1870's dresser
Day-use china, serving ware and glasses are kept in the antique Irish dresser.
Comfortable and cosy Living Room.  Harbour views.  Computer area.  Wi-fi throughout the house.
A great wood stove for chilly evenings!
The door to the outside deck is now in the corner where the leather chair is.
The sofa converts to a queen sofabed.
Yellow bedroom; double bed, English antique chest & washstand, air conditioned; en-suite bathroom.
The blue bedroom has a double and a twin.  A/conditioned. Harbour views.  American bureau c. 1910
Back bedroom with double bed; light and airy; air-conditioned, closet, English 19th C bureaux.
The harbour views are rather obscured by trees in the summer.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rockland, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Patrali
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
“One of our best holidays in the US”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We moved into the US about 2 years back, and this is was one of the best holidays we had here. Cathy and George, our hosts, are wonderful people and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The property is delightful - a mix of British quaintness and American style. We stayed downstairs with our two children and a lab. It was spacious, with graceful furniture and beautiful paintings, many of them antiques. There is also a wonderful collection of books there, and after hiking, biking, kayaking throughout the day, all I would do was curl up with a book and a glass of wine in the living room.
Well located, the town centre of Rockland,is a short walk away and there is a tiny beach minutes away. Rockland is a beautiful little town, replete with wonderful restaurants, art galleries and curio shops. The Farnsworth Art Museum is an attraction one would not want to miss. Cathy's and George's recommendations on places to visit, eateries, adventure spots etc proved invaluable. We cannot wait to go back again next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
George and I felt sad when you drove away - you were such delightful guests. I'm feeling better thinking you'll come back. Be sure to bring Freddie. Give him a pat for me. Cheers. Cathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparkle23...
2 reviews
“Allround great hoilday rental in Rockland”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Cathy and George the owners of the Captain Zadoc Brewster House live on site and they do everything they can to make your stay exceptional. The house it's self is very good but when you add on their personal touch then it makes the whole experience one to remember. Nothing is too much trouble for them they made restaurant recommendations, helped with activities, directions and advice for shopping and even gave us some of their chickens free range eggs for breakfast. The apartment had plenty of space and were able to comfortably accommodate our 3 teenagers and they loved having the chance to have their own space. All facilities were there including dish washer, washing machine etc. The location means that you need to take a walk in to the down town area or a short drive but for us this was no problem and we would recommend staying here if you are coming to Rockland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdresm...
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful 100% satisfaction”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The property was beautiful and well maintained
There were little extras like soap, dishwasher and liquid soap, tea, coffee, spices, honey etc...
The owners were there when we had questions or needed assitance
We had a sense of privacy
It was very relaxing
Restaurants and services everywhere were so friendly and efficient

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was beautiful, comfortable and well maintained
Liked least: I didn't like the beaches in the area. They were small and rocky. But we all had an amazing time.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2013
We loved having you. Such great guests. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardma...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“beautiful first floor apartment”
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The apartment is spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped. The furnishings, ornaments and china are beautiful and the bedrooms are very prettily furnished. There is balcony and a sea view. The owners are very helpful and friendly.
Would recommend the Farnworth Art Gallery. Camden is worth a visit and Mount Battie for the views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in an old house with lovely furnishings.
Liked least: Only staying 3 nights.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenLang
UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely House, great location”
Reviewed 18 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October and just loved the 1st floor apartment. It is very well maintained with many individual touches--- china and pictures etc. There is also a computer and printer available for use, which was helpful.
It was so nice staying here that we decided to eat in and enjoy the property rather than go to any of the many recommended restaurants in the town. There is a large supermarket just round the corner so getting supplies is no problem.
Cathy is so nice and helpful to and provided a list of suggested activities and places to go

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The general appearance of the property-- outside and in
Liked least: Nothing-- there is nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom.
Reviewed 10 June 2010 for a stay in May 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mayfik
Bordeaux, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing