We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Slow”
Review of Rock City Cafe

Rock City Cafe
Ranked #13 of 87 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too Slow”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As one other reviewer put it, "Great food, bland service." Consistently slow. I no longer consider this and option for my lunch hour. Even when they are not busy, they tend to be slow.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluecove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    42
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Espresso”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped on a rainy Sunday and ordered two small Lattes. We watched them being made on the very high end Ranchillio machine by a Barista that really knew what she was doing. They were as near to perfect as we've had. Smooth, strong, and delicious. They roast their own beans, and that makes a big difference too. Clean, modern, light shop was very friendly and appealing. Highly recommended, especially if you are a coffee snob as we are.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, bland service”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Came here as i had looked at the reviews and wanted to give it a try while in Rockland. there were 4 of us, we ordered 2 sandwiches and 2 soups. The cashier was not overly enthusiastic or memorable. We ended up waiting for more than 20 minutes (after being told it would 15) so perhaps staffing should be looked at. The food was luckily worth the wait, the grilled cheese was very good, never had it with dijon and was very pleased. The reuben was fantastic, the sourdough used really made the sandwich. Oh and the french fries are great too! they are pre seasoned (vinegar?) and are very good by themselves. Soup was a hearty veggie, it was good.

We came back later to grab some pastries before we left town, i'm glad we did. We ordered several different items, and were very happy to see a different cashier this girl was more pleasant and eager to help. We didn't get a cinnamon roll because they were monstrous but the did look good, the cookies were great, just the right amount of soft, and the chocolate death torte (or whatever it was called) is seriously amazing (helps I had mine with wine later that night) very chocolately and rich...I should have got the bigger size.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beer!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A wonderful place to gather right on Rockland's Main Street. the beer selection was terrific and service was great too

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Go-To Breakfast spot”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Best coffee and best informal breakfast in town. Lunch is great too. I walk there most morning in Rockland when I'm not going for a "full sit-down breakfast." I get an egg wrap and my wife most often has a slice of awesome fruit pie. Lunch wraps and soups have been very good too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HainesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock City Cafe also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Rock City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing