We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little store!”

Good Tern Natural Foods Co-op and Cafe
Ranked #37 of 87 Restaurants in Rockland
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch
Camden, ME
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great little store!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Wide ranging organic produce section. Lots of healthy food and snacks. Good selection of supplements, personal products and gift items for those wanting a healthier choice. Soups, sandwiches and other fast meals to eat there in the cafe section or to-go. Really nice and helpful staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank oaktree56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice store poor service”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stopped in and wanted to purchase something from the cafe. Several employees ignored us for an unreasonable period of time so we moved on down the road for sandwiches. Looked like a lovely co op with good produce and specialty items, but I have never been in such an unfriendly one. Usually co ops are friendly and fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBlinds, General Manager at Good Tern Natural Foods Co-op and Cafe, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
We are so very sorry for your poor experience. Good Tern Co-op has been at it since 1980, serving up great food and offering a quality selection of local and organic food products. We have seen a sharp trend toward growth over the past two years and are doing our best to meet up with demand. We aapologize for our lack of attentiveness. We are in the midst of a store reset and hope to improve each department of the store. The cafe is one of the areas we would like to focus on. As it is now we do not offer items to order. Everything is pre-made and self-serve either in the to-go cooler or on the counter. The least we could have done is acknowledged you, welcomed you, and helped you find what you needed. We be been told we are one of the area's most friendly and community-oriented co-op's around. Sorry we didn't live up to that reputation with you. Please come again and we will do our best to make it up to you.
Sincerely,
Good Tern Co-op General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Healthy and good”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I drop in here every time I don't have time to pack my lunch for work. Wonderful organic produce, and always something good and healthy for lunch at a reasonable price. Not a huge selection, but easy to find gluten free, vegan or vegetarian.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank camdenrockportfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the Walnut Burger”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Drop in for lunch. You can have organic soups and sandwiches which are always pleasing.

The store offers the best selection of organic produce in Rockland. bulk oils, honey and peanut butter, bring your own containers to save $.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great local market, for healthy supplies and locavores.”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

With a simple kitchen and well-stocked shelves with fresh produce, most from local farms, and staples and delights, The Good Tern can meet just about any needs, and provide a good cup of soup, in an atmosphere of health (good-sense health, without intimidation). A great resource, even if you usually shop at the supermarket.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank neirret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Good Tern Natural Foods Co-op and Cafe also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Good Tern Natural Foods Co-op and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing