We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Timeshare Condo Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trade Winds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trade Winds Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
Burbank
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Timeshare Condo Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed there from June 7-13th in a timeshare condo unit 308 that we booked thru RCI.

The unit was nice, clean, and the staff was friendly and quickly responded to our every need.

The unit had all the comforts of home and a nice balcony with a view of Rockport Harbor in the distance. It was very conveniently located right next to downtown Rockland.

The in house restaurant, the Chowder House had very good food, reasonably priced, with good service.

I thought the free continental breakfast was good and very convenient. It offered a lot more than just rolls and coffee.

The front desk and house cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. Nice people.

We definitely would use our RCI points and stay in a condo there again.

Room Tip: Third floor or higher condo units are preferable for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    56
    52
    40
    51
See reviews for
44
83
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel section and also in the timeshare. Neither lived up to our expectation. The hotel room was old, the walls were patched, and the price was high for what it was. The timeshare wasn't much better. We stayed in both a 1BR unit and a studio. The rooms were converted hotel rooms and the layouts were quite poor. The 1BR had four lights out when we arrived. The kitchen was tiny with a mini dishwasher. The bathroom had a small shower with a shower curtain, as they couldn't fit a door. The studio had a ceramic portable heater, wall air conditioning unit, and tiny kitchen. Neither unit had sufficient supplies, silverware, plates, cups, etc., or eating areas. The whole experience was sub-standard. Additionally, they charged us a $35 cleaning fee (which they wouldn't waive) upon departure for a "short stay", even though we were there for 11 nights. We have owned timeshare since 1992 and this was one of the worst that we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel or timeshare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobPC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockland hotels

Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great view of the water which is the Trade Winds best advantage. The rooms are oldy moldy and very dated. Low lifes abound. The staff is very good and tried hard to make the stay pleasant. The pool area was just ok, but the lcker rooms and showers were gross. The hot tub looked diseased. Yuck. The pool attendant discouraged me from taking a towel off the trolley. Very odd.

Room Tip: Take Lysol spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Royal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
281 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Positive: The room had a beautiful view. It was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The staff was helpful. it had a nice balcony.

The Negative: Full price for the room. Had a patched wall that was not painted. Workers started sawing in room across the hall around 7:00 in the morning. Very small bathroom. Old tube TV. Curtains did not close completely.

The entire place including the room I had needs a updating. It could be very nice if done.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The employees were friendly and the room was clean fresh towels everyday. Nice view of Rockland Harbor. Lighthouse Museum across the street. Great location walking distance from ocean and great restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank npd281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My company booked 4 rooms for business. Upon checking in our guys were told they require a $200 deposit because they are a non smoking motel. This was not disclosed during making the reservations. I was contacted by one of my employee who put me on the phone with the night worker. He was the most unprofessional motel employee I have had the displeasure to deal with. He argued with me. He hung up on me and slammed down my employee's phone and cracked the screen. I phoned the morning person. After no answer for an extended amount of time. The call was finally answered and yet, again had to deal with attitude. I was informed she "heard" all about the conversation and he was doing his job. The fact remains this is off season in Maine and they disregarded the fact of this matter and made us the customer the problem. Needless to say we had the one room check out and took our business else where! I will not recommend this motel to anyone! The fact that if your a smoker you are going to be treated like a 3rd class citizen and your refund of deposit is at their "discretion" If you do stay there. I would suggest viewing the room prior to check in to establish there was no smoking prior to you and the person showing you the room puts it in writing. Otherwise you risk not getting your deposit returned. Do not recommend this to anyone. The only plus to this is they do refund immediately if you change your mind and check out after paying. .

Room Tip: The location of the motel was convenient to our place of business. Anything else is a negative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I didn't want to pay much for a room so got their cheapest - which is no view, double bed. It's November, cold, and so dark right now I don't care about the view. But the room truly was bad for the money. Ancient furniture, poorly set up, tiny room. Now I don't care how small or viewless a room is if it's clean and well-appointed. Eventually I complained and the front desk was quite understanding and accommodating. An upgrade to a renovated room made my day! Many of the rooms are updated nicely and here's hoping those little ones get done soon too!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyJackAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.1 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#4 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Inn

Property: Trade Winds Inn
Address: 2 Park Dr, Rockland, ME 04841-3447
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trade Winds Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trade Winds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds Motor Hotel Rockland
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Motel
Trade Winds Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing