We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Fest 2014”
Review of Trade Winds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trade Winds Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
1 review
“Lobster Fest 2014”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

very nice place close to Festival site and 2.5 hrs away from Arcadia National Park and Bar Harbor Maine for Whale watching, good for Summer activities, driving distance from major city such as DC, NY or Phyilly,

Room Tip: ask for Suite and AAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johns H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    62
    55
    44
    51
See reviews for
51
90
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a Family owned hotel on the Main street in Rockland You will find yourself in the middle of all the the summer fun and shopping. The Time share and newer rooms are very nice! there are some older rooms (that will be renovated soon) that are used during the busy season. Bob and Amy keep this true New England motel in beautiful shape. This is a great spot for bus tours to stop and or stay...

Room Tip: Request a Newer room on the 4th floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have stayed here twice - Memorial Day weekend 2014 and 4th of July weekend 2014. I booked the least expensive room with 2 double beds and no view. The building itself is outdated and walking through the hallways to get to the room reminds me of a Stephen King movie. But the rooms are clean and not as outdated as the hallways. Staff is nice and efficient. You are at a great location for walking downtown Rockland and the Park Street Grille across the street is my new favorite. Overall a very decent place to stay and I was very happy with both rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed there from June 7-13th in a timeshare condo unit 308 that we booked thru RCI.

The unit was nice, clean, and the staff was friendly and quickly responded to our every need.

The unit had all the comforts of home and a nice balcony with a view of Rockport Harbor in the distance. It was very conveniently located right next to downtown Rockland.

The in house restaurant, the Chowder House had very good food, reasonably priced, with good service.

I thought the free continental breakfast was good and very convenient. It offered a lot more than just rolls and coffee.

The front desk and house cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. Nice people.

We definitely would use our RCI points and stay in a condo there again.

Room Tip: Third floor or higher condo units are preferable for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel section and also in the timeshare. Neither lived up to our expectation. The hotel room was old, the walls were patched, and the price was high for what it was. The timeshare wasn't much better. We stayed in both a 1BR unit and a studio. The rooms were converted hotel rooms and the layouts were quite poor. The 1BR had four lights out when we arrived. The kitchen was tiny with a mini dishwasher. The bathroom had a small shower with a shower curtain, as they couldn't fit a door. The studio had a ceramic portable heater, wall air conditioning unit, and tiny kitchen. Neither unit had sufficient supplies, silverware, plates, cups, etc., or eating areas. The whole experience was sub-standard. Additionally, they charged us a $35 cleaning fee (which they wouldn't waive) upon departure for a "short stay", even though we were there for 11 nights. We have owned timeshare since 1992 and this was one of the worst that we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel or timeshare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobPC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockland hotels

Maine
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great view of the water which is the Trade Winds best advantage. The rooms are oldy moldy and very dated. Low lifes abound. The staff is very good and tried hard to make the stay pleasant. The pool area was just ok, but the lcker rooms and showers were gross. The hot tub looked diseased. Yuck. The pool attendant discouraged me from taking a towel off the trolley. Very odd.

Room Tip: Take Lysol spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Royal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Positive: The room had a beautiful view. It was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The staff was helpful. it had a nice balcony.

The Negative: Full price for the room. Had a patched wall that was not painted. Workers started sawing in room across the hall around 7:00 in the morning. Very small bathroom. Old tube TV. Curtains did not close completely.

The entire place including the room I had needs a updating. It could be very nice if done.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
321 reviews
2.9 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.6 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Inn

Property: Trade Winds Inn
Address: 2 Park Dr, Rockland, ME 04841-3447
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trade Winds Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Trade Winds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds Motor Hotel Rockland
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Motel
Trade Winds Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing