We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful, friendly cuisine”
Review of Fog Bar & Cafe

Fog Bar & Cafe
Ranked #22 of 87 Restaurants in Rockland
Price range: US$4 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: FOG BAR & CAFE is a Celebration of Inspired Food, Fresh Maine Ingredients, World-Class Beers from Maine and "Away", Innovative Fresh Cocktails & Friendly Service. We Are Open Year Round and Love Serving in the Heart of Downtown Rockland!
Bremen, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thoughtful, friendly cuisine”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Don't mistake the hip bistro design for mediocre food and small portions - this was terrific!! Great local brews, fabulous cocktails, and fresh locally provisioned foods prepared with utmost attention to creating unique and delicious plates. We had lobsters claws on fried green tomatoes with fresh mozzarella, roasted beer salad with culotte steak, and lobster tacos (3) with peach salsa. All spectacular! Dessert did not disappoint either: bananas foster, deconstructed lemon meringue pie, and a brownie sundae. Great service, wonderful evening, worth the ~ $40/meal - we will be back!

Helpful?
5 Thank snappytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recommend getting whatever is on the specials board since this superb and unique restaurant and bar sources so many of their fresh ingredients locally. The cocktails and beer selection are both rare and exceptional. The burger with their home-made chips is a gourmet staple option but I say go all out on whatever the seafood special is. They have a fun "Drink and Draw" art night where art supplies and inspiration are free. Wonderful, warm, special and one-of-a-kind atmosphere. In the spring and summer season, don't miss Lulu's ice-cream stand in the back yard either!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish it was in Wisconsin!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Four friends and I were vacationing in Maine and had one night you spend in Rockland. The only thing I regret is reading dinner before stumbling onto FOG.(The food looked amazing!) The atmosphere was eclectic and welcoming. It was open mic night and we got to listen to great music. The bartender, Mac!, was very knowledgeable about the drinks and also very gracious and lovely to talk to. Would recommend this place to anyone and definitely will go back the next chance I get.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VanessaDooman608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visiting Rockland for the day, and decided to check this place out. We walked out within 5 minutes. We sat down at the bar to order food, and drinks. The bartender did not greet us. We were the only patrons at the bar. When she did acknowledge us we asked if we could still order from the HH menu. Her response was no, we looked at our watch, it was 7:01. HH ended at 7:00. The bartender turned around again, and ignored us. At that point we both looked at each other and walked out. Any business not willing to compromise when their restaurant is empty does not deserve our business. We left and went to a great place around the block!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonM1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“dinner with Elvis”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stopped in for dinner after an early show at the Strand and were pleasantly surprised with this funky new Main Street eatery in the heart of Rockland. An interesting menu with small plates perfect for a light late night meal. Had the mac and cheese with mushrooms and my companions had tacos. We all left full and happy and thrilled to have found another restaurnat in the neighborhood that we will enjoy in the future. There was an old Elvis movie playing on the back wall that nobody seemed to be watching but lent a bit of surreal humor to the evening. Will return fer sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank flyeroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fog Bar & Cafe also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Fog Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing