We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hot dog and fries”
Review of Wasses Hot Dogs

Wasses Hot Dogs
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hot dog and fries”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A friend told us that we HAD to have a hot dog from Wasses while we were in Rockland, and so we did. My husband is from Chicago so he has high standards when it comes to hot dogs as there are some terrific hot dog joints there. The hot dog was terrific and the fries were great, too! The price was reasonable, too. We enjoyed watching a 10 year boy ride his bike to Wasses in the rain, order some fries and sit under the overhang while gobbling up the fries. Americana!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    48
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“How can a hot dog be this bad?”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A hot dog from this place is something perhaps a four year old would enjoy. You get a cheap greasy dog in a cheap little soggy roll, so soggy you have to peel away the paper napkin that sticks and actually becomes part of the roll. French fries are of the same grade, limp and soggy. Try the kraut dog if you want to add even more water to the mess. A hot dog has great possibilities, unfortunately not here. Yuk!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too greasy!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hot dogs, which are not of a very high grade, are fried on a grill plate that is covered with about 1/2 inch of vegetable oil. Much too gastronomic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad - but I was expecting something better”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We decided to try here after reading all the amazing reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotdogs were fine, but not as amazing as I was hoping they would be! It;s maybe worth a visit if you're in the area, but I wouldn;t go out of my way for one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveljade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss Wasses!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Wasses Hot Dogs have been in the same location since I was a child! There's something magical about them that cannot be replicated at home. I bought the exact same kind of hot dogs and the peanut oil to fry them in and they were nothing like Wasses. I've heard the secret is in the grill...but whatever it is, you'll never find a better hot dog. And I normally don't even eat hot dogs! .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wasses Hot Dogs also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Wasses Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing