We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change of Heart(s)”
Review of Primo

Primo
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Italian and Mediterranean inspired menu...James Beard Award winning Chef Melissa Kelly prepares Farm to Table Cuisine in a restored farmhouse. 4 Acres of kitchen gardens, heritage pigs & chickens supply the restaurant with the freshest ingredients. Primo is both a gem to our local clientele as well as a culinary destination for food lovers in search of casually elegant dining. Supporting local and sustainable farms & businesses. Creative & seasonal cocktails, artisanal breads, handmade pastas, gelato and much more. Sundays and Thursdays come for $1 oyster night at the bar or join us for our small plates menu at our new Antipasti Counter. WE HAVE 40-50 SEATS AVAILABLE FOR GUESTS DROPPING IN WITHOUT RESERVATIONS.....THERE IS ALWAYS A PLACE !!! Private Salon on the second floor for up to 14 guests or reserve one of the original parlor rooms. Make a reservation or feel free to drop in to our lounge area.
Rockland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Change of Heart(s)”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were a group of four friends for dinner last night. Three of us had had less than stellar experiences at Primo in the past. Last night however more than made up for any lapses. We were greeted by the charming host, Julio, and taken immediately to our table. Soon our server, Ed, arrived and in short order delivered our pre-dinner drinks. Ed was then enlisted to advise me on wine to accompany the crispy soft shell crab appetizer and halibut entrée that I ordered. Both dishes were superb and Ed nailed it on the wine (a wonderful crispy white). My friends had the rutabaga soup and then backyard chicken as entrée (no wine for them) -- excellent preparation and presentation on both the soup and the chicken. For dessert we had rhubarb wrapped in an ethereal pastry, profiteroles, and something chocolate (that I only tasted). All of the desserts were divine. Our host, Julio, circulated through the dining room periodically to check on all the tables. He is a great addition to the Primo staff and clearly knows how to make us all feel comfortable and welcome. Primo had four very happy customers last night and we'll be back and we're bringing our summer guests with us. Thank you for a great evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    114
    81
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Maine”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This an absolute must-visit if you are anywhere near Rockland (we drive an hour when visiting family in the Boothbay area). Service is exceptional, the setting is fantastic but the food shines through everything. Changing menu based on what is available and many of the green and sides (and even some of the proteins) come from the garden you walk by on your way into the restaurant. Do not miss this!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphs2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford MA
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Exceptionally inventive menu and great service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We ate Primo for the second time recently. The first time was about a year after it opened and we had, truly, one of the most memorable meals of our lives. This time we were bowled over by the creativity of the menu with options we had never heard of: rutabega soup with pear, ginger, a sea scallop, and black garlic, anyone? How about roasted oysters with a Meyer lemon cream sauce and caviar? While the food was very good, it didn't sing the way we remembered it. And the dishes weren't quite warm enough by the time they made it to the table. My other issue was of disconnected expectations. I ordered salmon paella, so I was expecting paella with salmon added to it. Instead, I got a large piece of salmon on top of some paella-like rice, but not true paella. But our Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc was delicious and our server could not have been more lovely and gracious. I would definitely go back again but would ask a few more questions about the menu beforehand.

Helpful?
Thank MegBedfordMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occassion”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Four of us came here for my wife's birthday. The setting is a Victorian house on a hill with views of the bay. We were seated at a cozy table in a back room and were impressed with the attentive service. We started with champagne and a white clam pizza as a shared appetizer. It was just right. I then had a half order of the daily pasta (with chicken and local mushrooms in olive oil) and for my entree the duck two ways. My wife had a salad and the halibut. The other two had the half pasta, one had the pork saltimboca and the other had the veal chop. We all loved our meals. This is a great place for a special occasion. It is welcoming and features meat, fish and produce from local providers. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMan113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Desert
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb, as always”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Last night four of us had dinner at one of the best restaurants we've ever dined at: Primo Restaurant, where we have dined half a dozen times before.

The menu is very large, with specials added; everything was superb and presentation exquisite. Service is about as perfect as service gets. For appetizers we had two of the specials: deep fried duck livers served with small buttermilk biscuits and fabulous breaded, lightly fried soft shell crabs. For entres, we had lamb prepared two ways (amazing), grilled skate, halibut with lobster agnoloti, sautéed veal scallopine. For dessert: rhubarb crostati, rhum baba with ricotta gelato and fresh figs in honey, profiteroles.

The restaurant is pricey but compares with the best restaurants in large American cities and in European countries.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmep5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Primo also viewed

 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing