We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Searching for Sausage”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Primo

Primo
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Italian and Mediterranean inspired menu...James Beard Award winning Chef Melissa Kelly prepares Farm to Table Cuisine in a restored farmhouse. 4 Acres of kitchen gardens, heritage pigs & chickens supply the restaurant with the freshest ingredients. Primo is both a gem to our local clientele as well as a culinary destination for food lovers in search of casually elegant dining. Supporting local and sustainable farms & businesses. Creative & seasonal cocktails, artisanal breads, handmade pastas, gelato and much more. Sundays and Thursdays come for $1 oyster night at the bar or join us for our small plates menu at our new Antipasti Counter. WE HAVE 40-50 SEATS AVAILABLE FOR GUESTS DROPPING IN WITHOUT RESERVATIONS.....THERE IS ALWAYS A PLACE !!! Private Salon on the second floor for up to 14 guests or reserve one of the original parlor rooms. Make a reservation or feel free to drop in to our lounge area.
marblehead, ma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Searching for Sausage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

August 8, 2014, marked our third trip to Primo in Rockland. We found this visit to be consistent with the other two. The menu and specials offered a wide range of gourmet cuisine. The service was of a good standard. The large wait staff is trained and professional. The prices are as high as expected. The only thing different this time is that my wife and I both remarked on the portion sizes and value. I don't think portions have changed but our reaction upon paying a $110 check was to remark on the portion size of the entree's. In my case, it was really disappointing that there was so little of the homemade spicy sausage that highlighted my pasta dish. I savored every little six or seven bits but come on! A dish like this would cost $18 - $20 at a lesser restaurant and would have had one-third more food and one wouldn't have to search for sausage. Here, the price was $30.The fact that we split a very nice salad and ordered wonderful profiteroles for desert meant we didn't leave hungry and enjoyed the experience (although our otherwise thoughtful waitress entirely forgot a second drink order and we chose not to remind her).

We would still recommend the restaurant, especially for first-timers interested in fine dining and a large and creative menu. But we both agreed that the value aspect has, for us, assumed a somewhat different and more important share of how we think of Primo. Wonderful food but just a bit of a let-down.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    110
    76
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good quality food and service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

As two foodies living in Europe, we always love to dine at restaurants that leave a memorable experience. The food and service (Benjamin was our server) at Primo was excellent. Our server was knowledgable about how everything was prepared - and we asked a lot of questions. We had a $100 gift cert and paid an extra $75 for the tab (2 cocktails, 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 glass of wine)
Only feedback:
1. The English lavender Maine ginger beer cocktail was slightly overpowered by the ginger so the lavender seemed nonexistent.
2. Wine choices: even in the finest restaurants in Paris, Rome and Vienna you can get better priced wine! The average price of wine was $10 a glass or $40 a bottle. There should always be a "house" available for around $25.

My starter (octopus) was divine and my main (scallops) were excellent. They were slightly oily. Recommend doing a more wood-fired style like the octopus.

My husbands starter (Italian charcuterie) was good. The prosciutto wasn't aged and was very fatty. We visit Italy regularly and the meat on this platter was not on par. Pate was fab. My husbands main (seared tuna) was cooked rare and was melt in the mouth tender.

We will return on our next trip to Maine. Hoping for a better priced wine selection ;-) and maybe we will bring some Italian cured meat to share with the chef

Helpful?
Thank jlunden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific evening of shared small plates off the bar menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A few minutes after we had been seated in the bar area, we completely forgot the hour we had waited to get in after having arrived with no reservation on a Monday evening. That hour wasn't so bad anyway on a perfect August evening. We spent it alternately on the porch and exploring the surrounding gardens.
When we indicated to the waiter that we wanted to share small plates among the six of us, he threw himself into facilitating our approach, making sure the dozen or so plates we ordered came out at a pace we could handle. Many of the dishes were standouts, including the proscuitto-wrapped scarmorza, Tuscan ribs, Moroccan lamb kebabs, and an arugala salad. There was also an excellent plate of crudites, most or all of which came from Primo's garden. The deep-fried stuffed olives weren't up to snuff (they scalded my fingers with hot juice when I bit into them, but then didn't taste like much). The roasted turnips were a real disappointment--they were just bland, not richly flavored like when my wife makes them.
Desserts were terrific, and the atmosphere in an old victorian house was lively and attractive.

One thing the management might want to pay attention to--parking on a busy night became a bit helter-skelter. In the confusion, some patrons couldn't be bothered to keep a clear path through the main drive past the building, intruding on either side of it. I can't imagine this situation meets local fire regulations, a significant consideration for a packed wood structure with a highly active kitchen. Is it asking too much that Primo hire a couple of high school kids to guide patrons to legitimate parking spots?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hume V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Second time here and just as good as the last. Highly recommended!! Mid Coast Maine at it's best. Oyster night Thursday and Sunday..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere, a little overpriced but definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great food, local and organic ingredients with a creative twist.Decoration is tasteful with a "homey" atmosphere. Wine and drinks are totally reasonable, makes for a great night out.
I would suggest sticking to the finger food/smaller dishes more reasonably priced.
The main courses are good but not exceptional and way overpriced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewartfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Primo also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing