We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great old theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Strand Theater

Strand Theater
Machias, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great old theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We went in January, with the new digital projectors, to see "Philomena" with Judi Dench. The quality of the film was great, although it bothered my mother's eyes and she went to sit further back. Nice sound, nice seats, and they had cup holders. We bought nonpareilles and they weren't too outrageous. Water fountains down in the basement next to the bathrooms. I don't know if they had handicapped bathrooms upstairs, but my mother wouldn't have been able to walk downstairs. Nice ambiance! I would definitely come again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank soozi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rockport maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Rockland Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Going to The Strand is such a wonderful treat! During the long cold winter it's a great place to see good movies and top notch live entertainment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank franneydaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Restored theater from the 30s. Great staff, huge arrary of entertainment from new movies to classic, live performances, simulcasts from London and the Met. Unsurpassed!And warm chocolate chip cookys.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Royal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“See a Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Wonderful old theater that puts on top-notch performances and has a feel that is second to none. If time is available- go to the show and take the entire family!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHELLE66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored first-class theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We live in Rockland and frequent the Strand as often as practical - almost without regard for what is playing because it's such a treat to be surrounded by such architecture and craftsmanship. The restoration took place just a year after we moved here and the Strand has improved our quality of life by just being there. I recommend the balcony for the best experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strand Theater also viewed

 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Strand Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing