We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a rainy or sunny day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Project Puffin Visitor Center

Project Puffin Visitor Center
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for a rainy or sunny day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Right in the center of Rockland, this small operation provides ( at no admission fee ) a good educational film of 20 minutes duration on the successful efforts to re-establish a puffin population along the coast of Maine. The effort and techniques have been so successful that they have been copied around the world for other threatened seabird populations. In addition you will find informative exhibits, a gift shop and a most helpful staff. We were two adults and we enjoyed it but we can imagine it having great appeal to young children or to teenagers. As I said in the topic it is a good way to enjoy yourself on either a sunny or rainy day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank billyboy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
173 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A small gem on Main Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The sign outside says you can visit a human size puffin burrow and its true. There were life size puffins squawking at us too. But this was a very enjoyable visit. Small, but free and very educational. If you didn't fall in love with them before, you will after your visit. Purpose is to promote the efforts of Cornell University to re-establish the puffin colonies along the Maine coast. A good rainy day activity. Good information to enhance your knowledge before or after a puffin watching cruise.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mikencarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Check out these adorable birds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Located in downtown Rockland, this small center/museum provides information on the Atlantic Puffin. I first became aware of these birds on a trip to Ireland; they quickly became my favorite. When we decided to visit Maine, this was a must on our itinerary (not open every day so check ahead). If you are not familiar with these beautiful creatures, it is worth the short time to stop in and learn about them and the efforts being made to help them make a comeback on islands off the Maine coast. We viewed an enlightening movie and saw a “blind” used to view these birds in their habitat. You can crawl into a puffin nest (great for kids) and listen to their sounds. Be sure to check out the art exhibit and gift shop. Very informative and a great way to help conservation efforts for this extremely worthy cause.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 4PeaceLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“small, but friendly staff make up for the size of the center...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

this is a clean, well-appointed center. the first room is the gift shop. as you walk through the hallway, there is a video-viewing room with a short, informational video. the ladies who were working the day of our visit were friendly and informative! they answered our questions and escorted us to the video room. although the puffin season was one week after our visit, this was a nice "introduction" to puffins, the project and the center. if you have some time and are interested in puffins, this makes a nice stop!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank honolulujc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate new york
Level Contributor
249 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Touristy...but nice, and for a good cause”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The Puffin place is neat...but you have to pay to get in and that takes some of the flavor out of it. THe gift shop is free to get into, tho'. THe exhibit is nice and the cause is wonderful (The puffins are so wonderful to look at and watch - be sure to take a cruise to actually see them!!!).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie M, Manager at Project Puffin Visitor Center, responded to this review, 31 August 2016
The Project Puffin Visitor Center is apart of the National Audubon Society, which is a non-profit organization. To visit the puffin center there is no admission fee, although we do have a suggested donation. Here at the puffin center we understand not everyone can monetarily support the project, therefore coming in and learning about our efforts and spreading our message is one of the BEST ways to help support us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Project Puffin Visitor Center also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Project Puffin Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing