We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn within walking distance of harbor and Main Street”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ripples Inn at the Harbor
Ranked #5 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Ripples Inn was a lovely, comfortable inn, convenient to the harbor and to many of the activities of Rockland. Our room had a bay window with a cute sitting area...it was called the "poet's room" and had many books of poetry on the bookshelves. All the rooms had unique themes. On the second floor there was a guest pantry, with a fridge, microwave, coffee, tea and snacks. Our breakfast included yummy cinnamon French toast with sausage, as well as juice, yogurt with blueberries, cantaloupe and coffee or tea. Our hostess, Sandi was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay at this lovely, unique inn!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arwilber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

What a jewel this bed and breakfast is! It's just as charming as it can be as are the owner and her dear little dog. We couldn't have felt more at home with our comfortable room, quaint but perfectly equipped common room, and gourmet breakfasts. Ripples is in walking distance of shops and restaurants. It's an attractive and welcoming venue. Wish we'd planned to stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroomsGastonia_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We are on a tour of the east coast on our Harley's and after a long day we arrived to a very warm welcome from Sandi. Plenty of choice of food in the local town. The bed was so comfortable and the shower good which is important. The Inn is in a street just off Route 1 and was quiet. The bed was very comfortable and I had the best night’s sleep in 4 or 5 days. Breakfast great and set us up for the day. Would definitely recommend as a place to stay. Sandi is a great host.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We arrived late and I felt bad as i had said I would be there earlier but the owner, Sandy, had no problems with our tardiness. She showed us our rooms and gave us directions and advice to the local eateries (which we should have paid more attention to) and sent us off to explore the town which is only about two blocks away. We had an enjoyable dinner at sunset and explored the town (which closes a little early). The next morning we were late waking up and once again Sandy was very accomodating. Crabcakes and eggs in the morning were delicious and we sat and chatted longer then I expected as I was enjoying the company. Off to the town and the terrific Farnsworth Museum and some great pizza for lunch. All in all a perfect, albeit brief, stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartman127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We liked Ripples because it is so close to everything. We didn't even need our car (we left in Brunswick anyway and rode the train to a quaint old railroad station directly across the street from the inn. Better than that, there is a restaurant and nice bar in the trsain station. The waterfront and main street are walking distance from the inn and the fall colors were beautiful on the trip up. Only stayed one nigth and went back on the train the next day. The room was tiny but ok and the breakfast was good. Had dinner ina little mexican place on Main Street and then stopped into the Good Company wine restaurant after. A sushi restaurtant and Italian restaurant and other bars and restuarants also walking distance. Will stay longer next time to sample the other food. Good galleries and a nioce art museum there too but only had limited time inside.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Outsiderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

My wife and I made plans for a New England visit with the Lobster Fest as a part of the trip. We booked Ripples Inn several months ahead because of its location very near the festival. Less than 2 weeks before our stay the owner sent us an email stating that she had family coming unexpectantly and would not have a room for us. She offered a friends cottage and sent pictures. It looked like a garage and did not even have a sink in the bathroom. We made alternate plans but had to stay in a different town. I reported her to the Chamber of Commerce but this is an unacceptable thing to do. I would never make plans to stay there again as obviously she cannot be trusted to provide a room.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
5  Thank 3brains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

I just returned from my fifth stay at the Ripples Inn at the Harbor. I've visited in the winter, spring, summer, and fall, and ALL seasons are spectacular there. Summer temperatures are most often mild, with only the occassional super hot day, making air conditioning unnecessary. In the winter, cozy up to the stove/fireplace in the parlor and enjoy a book and a cup of tea on the sofa.

I've stayed in the Beach Room, Garden Room, and most recently the Friends and Family Suite at the back of the house. All rooms are beautifully appointed, with the Garden room and Friends and Familly Suite being a bit larger than the rest (the Friends and Family Suite is actually two separate rooms sharing a hallway and a bath). The common area is a great place to check email and keep drinks and snacks cold in the communal fridge.

Location is key, and Ripples' got it! Just a block from all the summer festivals, and a short walk to town, there's no need to use your car unless you are venturing farther off. Also a wonderful "home" for other day trips -- we've visited Camden, Belfast, Boothbay, Wiscasset, and Popham Beach to name a few.

If you're coming from out of state (like we do, from New Jersey), try to stop in Portland (Maine) or Portsmouth (NH) on the way. Two really great "cities" (definately NOTHING like NYC, but cities in the New England sense) with wonderful shops and restaurants and a great stopping point to stretch the legs.

Ripples Inn is young, fun, and not your traditional "stuffy" B&B. The innkeeper has done a wonderful job updating the space while still keeping the charm of such an old house. I love Maine and I love Ripples. Every time I visit I wonder why I'm still living in New Jersey!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yoginitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.1 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berry Manor Inn
Berry Manor Inn
#1 of 8 in Rockland
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LimeRock Inn
LimeRock Inn
#2 of 8 in Rockland
592 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Granite Inn
Old Granite Inn
#3 of 8 in Rockland
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripples Inn at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripples Inn at the Harbor

Address: 16 Pleasant St, Rockland, ME 04841-2710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range: £114 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep like a ROCK at ROCKland Maine's Ripples Inn. Feels like your home away from home... on the coast yet without the COST! Enjoy the simple pleasures of a Maine lifestyle like big yummy breakfasts and soft warm beds for those cool New England nights. Come walk the rocky coast; grab a lobster roll; find a treasured book at the coffee shop; stroll in town. Come for a craft workshop, a cooking lesson or a thrilling adventure on the water. There's so much to DO! DE-STRESS! Come for a vacation but leave with an EXPERIENCE! Wake up your inner child and dabble in your creativity. Take a risk... You could be a Poet and not know it! (or something equally great) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ripples Inn At The Harbor Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing