We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Berry Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berry Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Unfortunately we only had time for 1 night at the Berry Manor Inn - we would have liked to stay longer. This B&B is delightful with very friendly and informative owners. I would recommend staying here to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment on line about the Berry Manor Inn. We are constantly hearing from our guests that one night at the inn and in the area is just not enough! There are so many activities and great restaurants in the area that one definitely needs at least 3 days to even begin to take them all in. The great thing is that the majority of restaurants, museums and outdoor activities are available throughout the year in this area. Hopefully next time you visit Maine from "down under" we will get to host you for more than one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    18
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
72
728
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cheryl, Mike and staff are there to make you feel right at home as soon as you enter their B&B. Extremely well maintained and such a beautifully decorated Victorian home with 12 very special and unique rooms. Ours was Room 4, a spacious QS with delightful bedding and linens in the bathroom. The scented candle in the room added to the ambience on the fireplace mantel. Cheryl and Mike offer up great recommendations for dining and sightseeing for the day. They just think of everything and yet provide a complete sit down delicious breakfast (8:00 - 9:30) every morning after an early bird delivery of delicious coffee and orange juice on the 2nd floor at 7:00 am. The awesome pies are the frosting on the cake, we had choices of cherry, blueberry and raspberry. My fav was the raspberry. They are available 24/7 along with a frig full of water, soda, ice cream and juices along with at least 30 varieties of teas. Definitely going to re-visit soon. Make your reservations early, they sell out quickly during peak seasons and festivals. Fantastically run B&B and we enjoyed chatting it up with Mike while watching the NBA Finals in the living room. He's a hoot !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slwasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We really appreciate that you noticed our obsession with the maintenance and cleanliness of the inn. We work very hard to be great stewards for this 116 year old building and to keep it comfortable for our guests' enjoyment. We are also very proud of our staff and how hard they also work to not only keep building clean and fresh but also to anticipate our guests needs. Unfortunately we do sometimes mess up but we sincerely try to have all of our guests leave our inn and say "Absolutely Awesome"!! Thanks for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAvenport
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Cheryl was born to run a B&B! She met us and graciously showed us our lovely rooms and the house appointments. She helped us find a good local restaurant and made our reservations, which were essential. She was never hanging over us, making us feel uncomfortable as in the other B&B's I've stayed in. Every possible comfort was thought of, including a well stocked common refrigerator (anyone else sick of the water bottle on the dresser with the $5 price tag as in so many hotels these days?) and the best feature is the PIES..yes, there are pies available 24/7 and ice cream in the common area freezer, I love blueberry pie, but it was a tough call with the raspberry and cherry. Delicious. so, even if you have given up on B&B's, come to Berry manor and enjoy. They made our trip extra special , a place not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ras_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We do try to provide our guests with small welcoming touches that can make our inn feel more like home or as Mike likes to say "better than home because you do not have to do the dishes". I agree with you about the nickel and diming treatment one often experiences at hotels, I know we charge one rate and that includes the room, off-street parking, concierge services, a full multi-course breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary use of our stocked guest pantry area with sodas, juices, coffee, teas and of course our homemade pies!! We look forward to seeing you again in the future until then hope you continue to enjoy the pleasures of a B&B experience!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newburyport
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our stop in Rockland on our way to Mount Desert Island could not have been more delightful from the warm and inviting welcome tour by Cheryl, to the beautifully appointed room (best sheets ever!), superb breakfast and perfect, quiet location. Top notch and great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thanks Marc for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. For your information, the sheets are from Cuddledown in Maine and are part of their hotel collection. Hopefully next time when you make the trek from Newburyport you will be able to stay a little longer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Cheryl, Mike and staff truly go the extra mile when it comes to making their guests feel comfortable. My wife and I spent 4 wonderful nights at this B&B in May 2014, and while I generally do not post reviews, our stay at the Berry Manor was so exceptional it warrants an expression of our appreciation to its innkeepers. The parking lot was full each and every night. A testament no doubt to the excellent reviews already bestowed upon this establishment. I could elaborate further, but I believe it is something one should experience first hand. Continued good luck and success to these fine innkeepers and staff.
Frank & Maria

Room Tip: Recommend top floor of the cottage house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Frank and Maria - Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at our inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were willing to take the time to share that with the world! I also appreciate the recognition for the "extra mile" that we try to go for our guests. Sometimes and hopefully not often, we miss the mark but we really do try to make ever guest experience memorable. We really do get energized when we see our guests enjoying the inn and all that there is to do in this part of Maine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellows Falls, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Recently, my great friend Sandra and I had the opportunity to visit charming Rockland, Maine. She had secured accommodations at the Berry Manor Inn, a B&B located walking distance to the coast. I had never experienced a B&B although Sandra had. I was immediately impressed with the exterior appearance and landscaping. Upon entrance the ‘wow’ factor continued, a stunningly beautiful interior true to it’s time period. We were then greeted by Michael (co-innkeeper), a very extroverted individual who made us feel like we were old friends. Michael took us on a tour of the Inn, all the way sharing the history, features and amenities (homemade pies 24/7 with ice cream, sodas, juices, teas and coffee and more). He explained that there was fresh coffee and juices available on the second floor if we wished to partake before breakfast. Breakfast, served in an attractive period dining area came in courses served by a delightful young lady with assistance from both Michael and Cheryl (the other co-innkeeper) a cheerful, knowledgeable lady. The quality and quantity of food was TOP SHELF. The cherry attitude of all made for a very pleasant breakfast. The room we stayed in was SPOTLESS compliments of Cheri the assistant innkeeper and VERY comfortable and well appointed. When it came time to venture out Michael and Cheryl where very helpful with suggestions, directions, maps and brochures. Our stay INCLUDED a venture with true lobster-men as they checked their traps and educated us about lobster and the area. Included also was a lobster lunch (you pick your lobster) just down the road that was fabulous and included a tour of the operation.
Both Sandra and I are well traveled and have worked in the hospitality business and unequivocally, whole heartedly and honestly recommend Rockland and, in particular, the Berry Manor Inn as an outstanding experience not to be missed. On a scale of 10…this place and these people rate an 11.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1951Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We love it when our guests are first time B&Bers and we get to convert them to this wonderful way of travel!! Since one of the owners of the inn (Mike) does not really like B&Bs, we like to tell our guests that we designed our B&B inn to counter all of the things that people are afraid of with B&Bs. All of our rooms have private en-suite baths, all of our rooms have televisions and each of our rooms are in a corner of the house or abutting walls have been insulated so although you could hear some noises from other guests like at any lodging establishment, the guests next door do not sound like they are in your room!! Also, we have chosen to serve our breakfast continuously from 8am -9:30am at individual tables - no cow bells here or one mass table where one feels obliged to talk to strangers when they haven't even had their coffee yet! We also thoroughly enjoy helping guests enjoy experiences while they are visiting that you just cannot get many places like a trip on a working lobster boat or a visit to a working lobster pound. Thank you for the feedback and we are so glad to be your first B&B experience as you never forget your first!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed 4 wonderful nights at the Berry Manor Inn. From the moment we arrived we felt so welcomed from Cheryl, Mike, and their incredible staff. It was as if we had come to stay with old friends. I can’t say enough about our experience and how interested Cheryl and Mike were in making sure that we had everything we needed. One of our cherished memories will be of the warm conversations we had with Cheryl and Mike. If you’re looking for the best B&B in central Maine then look no further because this has to be it. Thanks Cheryl and Mike – our new found friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for the positive words. Your experience is exactly the experience that we strive to have all of our guests enjoy. We also enjoyed the time getting to know you and our many conversations solving the world's problems!! We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Maine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
0.3 mi away
LimeRock Inn
LimeRock Inn
#2 of 8 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Manor Inn

Property: Berry Manor Inn
Address: 81 Talbot Ave, Rockland, ME 04841-2922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic AAA 4 Diamond Maine bed and breakfast in the lovely town of Rockland. Our historic Rockland, Maine lodging features 12 beautifully appointed rooms with luxurious bedding, whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Don't miss out on complimentary gourmet breakfast, evening sweets with our award winning pies, off-street parking & our stocked guest pantry. Searching through all the Rockland, Maine Hotels or bed and breakfasts in Camden? Come discover the magic of The Berry Manor Inn, a Select Registry Property. Named a Top 10 B&B in the Nation by Yelp and TripAdvisor Reviewers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Berry Manor Hotel Rockland
Berry Manor Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing