We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the carriage house!”
Review of Berry Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berry Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the carriage house!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 wonderful nights during a vacation in New England. Our first room, 2, was absolutely lovely, but room 9 in the carriage house was really something special. The whole inn is beautiful and Cheryl and Mike are incredible hosts. Cheryl gave us perfect suggestions that fit our vacation style. The inn is a few blocks from downtown Rockland and a short drive to a number of beaches and attractions. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We definitely try to read our guests and to help match how much a guest wants to do on any given day with the options of what there is to do. It is so nice when we have guests like yourselves that stay for more than a day or two so that they do get a chance to really relax and live the cliché "Maine - the way life should be"!!! It is very rewarding to know that we have helped make your vacation everything you wanted it to be. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    18
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
739
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tn.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Berry Manor in June. I can't say enough good things about the inn, the owners, Cheryl and Mike and Lori and Angie. First of all, we stayed in Room 1, a Deluxe King Room. It was wonderful, the bed/sheets super nice, room well designed: I loved having a dressing table, a nice bathroom with a great shower, 2 heads, lots of hot water and great water pressure. The room had it's on AC, plus windows opened. We didn't try the fireplace! The windows had nice shades to block the light which allowed us to sleep later than normal, plus the inn is located on a very quiet street. I looked in all the other rooms in the inn (not the carriage house) and they all looked just as nice.

The inn itself was wonderful! I loved having juice and my morning coffee always ready in the 2nd floor sitting room (just outside all the rooms), plus, I'm not sure how they have the inn soundproofed, but even though the inn was full, I never heard another person! Breakfast was fantastic, with lots of variety. We could have bypassed lunch (except for all the great choice nearby that we felt we needed to sample). Pie always available, was also very very nice. My favorite was the cherry, while my husband was partial to raspberry.

The best part about the inn was the innkeepers and the staff. I don't think I have ever been more cared for than by Cheryl and Mike. They are extremely intentional about making sure that you need or want for nothing. Every morning as they were serving breakfast, they chatted with the guests as they stopped by each table with questions such as "do you need any help with plans for today", or "how was your dinner last night", "do you need dinner reservations for tonight" etc. If you said you planned on walking around town, they would suggest some places to eat, or shops to visit, and let you know if as an inn quest you received a discount. If you mentioned that you were thinking about dinner at __________, they would either have made you a reservation by the time you finished breakfast or suggested a better alternative. For ex: we indicated one morning that we were planning on taking the Puffin cruise from Pt Clyde the next day. Cheryl advised us to order lunch from the Brownbag in Rockland , they would have our sandwiches ready to pick up as we left town the next morning and she would have a backpack ready with iced water to keep the sandwiches cold. Additionally , she also placed the order. The next morning, she had indeed packed the backpack with iced water , but also binoculars, a poncho, blanket, and bugspray. This is truly 5*service. This type of service was given to every guest!

So, if you are planning a trip to Midcoast Maine, add Berry Manor Inn to your itinerary. Plus, Rockland is very convenient for daytrips north to Camden/Belfast, or south to Boothbay Harbor, etc.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 1,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaFranklin_Tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Mission Accomplished!!! Thank you so much for your words and for appreciating the small details and service that we try to offer all of our guests. It was great that you and your husband had 5 days to spend in the area as it truly gave you the time to experience so many of the things that there are to do in the Rockland/Camden area. As innkeepers we often "live" through our guests so we love when our guests come back at the end of the day exhausted but happy because of the wonderful experiences of their day. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff. Although Mike and I are very involved in the day to day operations of the inn we still rely on our innkeepers to be extensions of ourselves. We are very fortunate that they care as much as we do about making our guests' experiences as great as they can be. Do we miss the mark sometimes - of course but hopefully with all of us actively involved and sharing the common goal of a great guest experience we do not miss very often and ideally we get a chance to correct any mishaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My partner and I visit the Berry Manor Inn annually for a 5-day weekend over Memorial Day. It's the best 5 days ever with Cheryl's always-accommodating nature, the service overall and the incredible breakfasts. It's really more like going home than going to an Inn. We just love it ! There is a quiet sitting room where we have a cup of coffee in the morning and a glass of wine before we head out to a number of wonderful eateries in Rockland.

Room Tip: We stay in the same room each stay on the third floor, but all of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah11126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that we are your "home away from home" in Maine and can continue to meet your expectations year after year. We look forward to being able to share with you all of the new stores or restaurants that have opened since your last visit the year before. We are very honored that we have so many return guests like yourselves and actually mark the dates on the calendars by specific dates that specific guests come to visit. For instance, we know the summer season has officially kicked off when the two of you walk in the door each Memorial Day!!!! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent two nights of our New England trip at the Berry Manor Inn, and it was absolutely a highlight of the trip. This place is as perfect a spot for a romantic getaway as I can imagine. The location is ideal. Everything about the property is gorgeous. Everyone on the staff was exceptionally nice and the service was impeccable. The food was amazing - the best pie we've ever had. Even the cat is friendly. The owners have literally thought of everything. There is no way our visit could have been made to be better. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiwlli009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are proud to have been part of your 25th Anniversary trip to Maine and appreciate hearing that we positively contributed to the celebration!! We love to host couples celebrating life together and work hard to make all of our guests' stays a special experience. Thanks for letting us know and for sharing that we hit the mark!
PS: We will give the cat, Nemo, and extra treat for his contribution!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Cheryl and Mike are celebrating more than a decade as Innkeepers, but not just any old innkeepers - they have perfected the art of anticipating their guests' needs - sort of Downton Abby on steroids. Almost before you can name it, Cheryl has offered a solution or Mike has produced whatever you have asked. This isn't a stuffy place. At breakfast guests are treated to Mike's collection of weird hats and exotic t-shirts. This last trip I was assaulted with a sword in my pancakes. And then there is the sideboard of stuffed and singing animals. New additions included an alligator with Louis Armstrong's voice and a pirate with a parrot on his shoulder both singing a Calypso ditty. If you are expecting a staid Victorian breakfast, you should go somewhere else. Breakfasts can be wild and zany delights - and not just the over the top food.

Room Tip: My favorite room is on the top floor - room 6. I always wanted to go to Africa, but instead I stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njonesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Downtown Abbey on steroids? Well that is an interesting description :)!! I have to agree that our breakfasts are definitely not "stuffy" and some days although not all, do get a little raucous. Mike and I have always tried to strike that balance of helping our guests feel pampered at the inn enjoying our "relaxed luxury" yet still feel okay about making themselves at home, raiding the pie in the middle of the night or putting their feet up to read a book in the library. For some people Mike's "contribution" to the Victorian décor and his antics at breakfast can be a little much but generally most of our guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and appreciate that we are not stuffy and pretentious. We are happy that after eight years and counting you continuing to choose to stay at the Berry Manor Inn for your sojourns to the Rockland area and are happy that we still make you laugh and can surprise you now and again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Unfortunately we only had time for 1 night at the Berry Manor Inn - we would have liked to stay longer. This B&B is delightful with very friendly and informative owners. I would recommend staying here to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment on line about the Berry Manor Inn. We are constantly hearing from our guests that one night at the inn and in the area is just not enough! There are so many activities and great restaurants in the area that one definitely needs at least 3 days to even begin to take them all in. The great thing is that the majority of restaurants, museums and outdoor activities are available throughout the year in this area. Hopefully next time you visit Maine from "down under" we will get to host you for more than one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cheryl, Mike and staff are there to make you feel right at home as soon as you enter their B&B. Extremely well maintained and such a beautifully decorated Victorian home with 12 very special and unique rooms. Ours was Room 4, a spacious QS with delightful bedding and linens in the bathroom. The scented candle in the room added to the ambience on the fireplace mantel. Cheryl and Mike offer up great recommendations for dining and sightseeing for the day. They just think of everything and yet provide a complete sit down delicious breakfast (8:00 - 9:30) every morning after an early bird delivery of delicious coffee and orange juice on the 2nd floor at 7:00 am. The awesome pies are the frosting on the cake, we had choices of cherry, blueberry and raspberry. My fav was the raspberry. They are available 24/7 along with a frig full of water, soda, ice cream and juices along with at least 30 varieties of teas. Definitely going to re-visit soon. Make your reservations early, they sell out quickly during peak seasons and festivals. Fantastically run B&B and we enjoyed chatting it up with Mike while watching the NBA Finals in the living room. He's a hoot !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slwasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMIowners, Owner at Berry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We really appreciate that you noticed our obsession with the maintenance and cleanliness of the inn. We work very hard to be great stewards for this 116 year old building and to keep it comfortable for our guests' enjoyment. We are also very proud of our staff and how hard they also work to not only keep building clean and fresh but also to anticipate our guests needs. Unfortunately we do sometimes mess up but we sincerely try to have all of our guests leave our inn and say "Absolutely Awesome"!! Thanks for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
110 reviews
7.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
LimeRock Inn
LimeRock Inn
#2 of 8 in Rockland
566 reviews
1.7 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Manor Inn

Property: Berry Manor Inn
Address: 81 Talbot Ave, Rockland, ME 04841-2922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic AAA 4 Diamond Maine bed and breakfast in the lovely town of Rockland. Our historic Rockland, Maine lodging features 12 beautifully appointed rooms with luxurious bedding, whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Don't miss out on complimentary gourmet breakfast, evening sweets with our award winning pies, off-street parking & our stocked guest pantry. Searching through all the Rockland, Maine Hotels or bed and breakfasts in Camden? Come discover the magic of The Berry Manor Inn, a Select Registry Property. Named a Top 10 B&B in the Nation by Yelp and TripAdvisor Reviewers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Berry Manor Hotel Rockland
Berry Manor Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing