We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Great stay at Samoset! The two bedroom condo exceeded our expectations! The property is beautiful and well maintained. Our only disappointment was, the closing of the lobby and the restaurant while we were there. We were told that "corporate" decided that the hotel section would be open Friday thru Sunday during this part of the season. What a shame!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rcjf38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear rcjf38,

Thank you for your review of the Samoset. Both our Timeshare Property Manager and I were pleased to read your two bedroom condo exceeded your expectations. Our grounds staff works very hard to keep us looking so nice and I thank you for complimenting their efforts, as well.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    275
    90
    25
    23
See reviews for
417
540
13
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We've stayed at many resorts. The Samoset is by far the best! Clean neat every person we came in contact with was attentive and cheerful no attitude at all would recommend the Samoset to anyone that wants to relax and feel they got value for there $ Kevin&Penney Northern Maine

Room Tip: tell them what you want you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Kevin B,

Thank for choosing some of our favorite words for your review of the Samoset: clean, neat, the best, attentive, cheerful, relaxed. We could not have said it better ourselves and are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope we see you soon for a return visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN USA
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Locals took us here for Sunday brunch, which was excellent. Great view, and excellent food and service. Looks like this would be wonderful place to stay as well. We only ate here, so not sure about rooms and other services, but looked excellent.

Room Tip: We only did the brunch, so don't know about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear ramcclain,

We appreciate your review of our spectacular Sunday brunch. Thank you for taking the time to comment. I hope you will return again whenever you are visiting the area with your local friends to enjoy another wonderful meal with us in beautiful midcoast Maine.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The resort is centrally located to many attractions. The restaurant (La Bella Vita) at the resort is convenient, the food is amazing and the prices reasonable.
Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park are a 2 hour drive north; the drive is scenic and Acadia beautiful, especially at the top of Cadillac Mountain. Bar Harbor is a quaint town with shops to visit. Visit the Camden State Park and go to the summit of Mt. Battie for beautiful views.
The resort is beautiful, overlooking the water. We were two couples staying in a 2 bedroom timeshare. We had midweek housekeeping service, which was appreciated.
Our unit was on 2 levels with the master bedroom on the lower level with a walkout patio. The suite was small and the low ceiling made it seem smaller. The main level had a LR, DR, and another BR with full bath. The kitchen was partial with no oven but with a microwave and large toaster oven. There was a wrap-around porch with great views. We were in the downstairs bedroom, which had a separate wall-mounted heating unit, which was very noisy – we warmed the room up before going to sleep and then turned it off for the night.
The timeshare building we were in had 2 washers and dryers on the third floor, which required the payment of $1.00 for each. I understand the units are too small to have washers and dryers in them, but come on, can’t we have machines that will operate without payment? The unit needed to be updated; the furniture was on the older side but the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear VALlovetotravel123,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Samoset. Mt. Battie in Camden and Cadillac Mountain in Bar Harbor are two beautiful attractions of our great state.

I appreciate your comments related to your timeshare unit. I have communicated your feedback to our Timeshare Property Manager for review concerning potential future updates to the units and changing the laundry machine options.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just one night. The room was clean, spacious and well-appointed, including a mini-fridge. The resort is very nice and has many amenities. The lounge/restaurant area are comfortable with a good menu - expensive the way one expects at a nice resort, but not outrageous by any means. There are plenty of other options a short drive away. The presence of the breakwater just off the property is a fun activity. We liked it here so much that we're considering a timeshare at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Chris NH,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased to read you are considering a timeshare unit with us after your visit to the Samoset. It was a pleasure to read of your satisfaction with your room, La Bella Vita and Enoteca, and the Rockland breakwater. If you have not already done so please contact our Timeshare Property Manager, Jil Rawlinson Moccia at 1-800-552-1070 to discuss timeshare options and available weeks. We look forward to seeing you again.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a most wonderful week at this resort. The view was absolutely amazing. We went down the shore in the early mornings to watch the sunrise. Our unit was comfortable and has everything we needed. The heating system in the unit was also very efficient. Shops and restaurants were within walking distance but there is also a very good restaurant on site called La Bella Vita Enoticca.

Room Tip: Higher units will have a better view and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovenorfolk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear lovenorfolk102

Thank you for choosing to visit the Samoset and for writing such a positive review about your timeshare unit, as well as La Bella Vita and Enoteca. It sounds as if you had a wonderful visit and my staff and I could not be more pleased. We completely agree the views from anywhere on the Samoset property are amazing. We look forward to seeing you visit with us again.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. It went through a major renovation a few years ago. It's a little dated now and could use another sprucing up. The major attraction of course is the ocean views from almost every room (some more than others) and the golf course. Since golfing is not my thing, I do admit that the view is pretty good, although there are some resort hotels in Maine with better. The restaurant is good with Italian bistro fare, the wine selection is also good with both red and whites in abundance and price points. During the early spring and late fall the hotel gears up for the conference crowds and does a fair job of accommodating. Nice place to visit, staff very welcoming, overall a good experience, but for the view, nothing really special.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast buffet and order off the menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Bert B,

Thank you for your review of the Samoset and our staff after your recent business trip. I was pleased to read you are a frequent visitor to our property and recognized our extensive renovation efforts. Your positive comments regarding La Bella Vita’s menu, wine selection, and value will be shared with our Food & Beverage Director. I’m sorry you were disappointed with our scenic views. We find Penobscot Bay, the Rockland Breakwater, Owl’s Head Light, and the nearby islands of North Haven and Vinalhaven are a wonderful sampling of Maine’s unique rocky coastal shoreline. Thank you again for your taking the time to write your review.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
6.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
110 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing