We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay, even in the mid-winter!!! Rooms are excellent and the restaurant serves great food. Will be going back for a third visit next year! The staff are very helpful, and extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Any room is good, but ask for a view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear maisielove,

Thank you for the kind words you wrote in your review of the Samoset. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for a third time next year and plan to again exceed your expectations.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    265
    85
    25
    22
See reviews for
390
513
13
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My family and I just returned from a weekend at the Samoset Resort. As one of my favorite places in the world it never disappoints.....service is the best. ...view is amazing. So comfortable and convenient ...kid friendly. Best Cosmo I ever had. Everything is spectacular can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Had a double. Queen ocean view i highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Patricia E,

Everyone at the Samoset extends a warm thank you for your review stating we are one of you “favorite places in the world”. Although we can’t take complete credit for the view of the sunsets, we do make every effort the ensure that all our guests have the same kind of experience as yours. Our skilled Enoteca staff will continue serving our wonderful Cosmos and sunsets for your enjoyment when you return.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have family in the Rockland area and stay at the Samoset several times a year. It is always perfect....no matter the season. In the summer, the pool, tennis and golf are awesome. Great kids activities too. Over the holiday season, the decorations, ice skating and indoor pool are perfect. Wonderful kids stuff too. Rooms are very nice with extra comfy beds. Restaurant has the great combination of excellent food (but also "kid friendly"). We always look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Spa looks great but never used...yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Julie D,

It was with great pleasure that I read your “Another wonderful stay…” review of the Samoset. Since you return to us several times throughout the year when visiting family in the area it is reassuring to know your experience of our amenities, dining, kids’ programs, recreation activities, and guest service are consistently exceeding your expectations.

I will be sure to share your review with our associates. Hopefully your next visit will include a visit to our wonderful spa that you mentioned as it is truly a wonderful place.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We love our stay here ,everything s as usual super we enjoy the pool ,jacuzzi ,resort is convenient to Camden which has cute shops ,mt batty is worth a climb. Across the st is the state park just a walk through down to the water the view is spectacular. A must see

Back to the samoset. The complete staff have been 100%. And maybe much better,
La Bella Vita Was super. , the breakfast buffet is super

Overall the samoset could do just 1 thing for me for next year to make my annual visit to rockland
Perfect. Is to stay open Sunday nite and then close Monday so as won't have to find another hotel for Sunday nite ,after the samoset everything is just a letdown

Room Tip: All rooms are good some have better views of the ocean each room that I have had has beengood
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mytc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Mytc99,

What a pleasure it was to read your kind review of the Samoset. Thank you for taking the time to write it. We truly love what we do and knowing our efforts provide guests such as you with a relaxing getaway complete with excellent amenities and activities is our reward. I assure you we will take into consideration your request for us to stay open Sunday night during Veterans Day weekends in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My famiy and i have stayed multiple times at the Samoset Resort and have always had a perfect experience. The rooms are great - very comfortable beds, more than adequate space. We always look forward to the amazing to dining in La Bella Vita - food is amazing and the view is breathtaking. This past weekend we were able to take advantage of the pool - a nice treat when the temperature is in the teens! Lastly, i am always very impressed with the resort staff. Very courteous, friendly, and always wanting to help. We look forward to many more stays at the Samoset.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family i recommend room 410 - or one similiar. The room is a suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Mark N,

It was a pleasure to see your review of the Samoset. Your description of multiple visits with us always resulting in a “perfect experience” is our goal for our guests. Thank you for commenting on our comfortable beds, amazing dining options, beautiful views, and the warm indoor pool. I will share with our staff your kind comments on their friendliness, courtesy, and willingness to always help. We look forward to seeing you again.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Wish I could post pictures of the sun setting over the bay. That alone is worth the trip. A shouldn't miss stop if you are enjoying Maine. Expect to spend a few bucks here, but it's not Motel 8! A luxury resort from start to finish: room appointments, grounds, restaurants and a beautiful golf course that is challenging and picturesque. This is a place for the discriminating traveler.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RinkoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear RinkoA,

Your review was a pleasure to read and I appreciate your comments about the Samoset. You certainly experienced everything we have to offer by viewing our lovely grounds, your room, La Bella Vita restaurant, and our golf course. We can’t exactly take credit for arranging the beautiful sunsets, but are so glad you appreciated them just as we do. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Great stay at Samoset! The two bedroom condo exceeded our expectations! The property is beautiful and well maintained. Our only disappointment was, the closing of the lobby and the restaurant while we were there. We were told that "corporate" decided that the hotel section would be open Friday thru Sunday during this part of the season. What a shame!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rcjf38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear rcjf38,

Thank you for your review of the Samoset. Both our Timeshare Property Manager and I were pleased to read your two bedroom condo exceeded your expectations. Our grounds staff works very hard to keep us looking so nice and I thank you for complimenting their efforts, as well.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
10.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing