We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The coast of Maine is beautiful any time of the year and this resort sits right along it.
The lobby is welcoming, clean and open with high ceilings. The front desk staff was polite and courteous and even upgraded us (complimentary). The beds were comfortable, clean and had a view of the ocean from our room. We had an outdoor hot tub but didn't get a chance to use it.
We used the health club and our children participated in some if the kids activities.
Rockport/Camden are great locations with plenty to do and many restaurant offerings. I would recommend this area and resort.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank kkrm1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear kkrm1104,

Thank you for your kind review letting us know about your nice winter getaway with us in February. We were pleased to be able to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a hot tub suite when you arrived. Enjoying the ocean views from our rooms is part of what makes our location very unique. We hope you return for a visit when you have more time to enjoy the outdoor balcony hot tub.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Went over kids Feb vacation week for 4 nights and had a great time! Got a good deal and 2nd two nights upgraded to hot tub suite at a reduced rate. The hotel had planned kids activities for the entire week, which we didn't utilize because we were busy ice skating, swimming and sledding. Food was good, enjoyed that the room service does not charge a premium. Rooms were nicely appointed, perhaps if I were staying in the summer and paying higher rates I may have thought there was a bit of shabbiness to rooms, but for what we were paying totally lovely. The best thing about the Samoset really is the staff. Everyone seemed genuinely happy to help. Service was super prompt. I had a small issue with our room when we checked in, and the front desk person was up within a minute with a new room key. Definitely going back next year! (Oh, and did I mention that they let you bring smaller dogs? Have to pay a security deposit, but probably worth it for those who don't like to kennel their Fido. We don't have a dog, but thought it worth mentioning)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursiepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear nursiepants,

We are so glad you were able to visit with us during February vacation. The resort is such a fun place to be during that time and it sounds like you had a great time ice skating, swimming, and sledding.

I couldn’t agree more that one of the best things about the Samoset is our friendly and hardworking staff. They and I are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent two nights at the Samoset resort and had a very nice time. We rented one of the rooms with the outdoor patio hot tub. This was our 3rd time at the Samoset over the last 20 years. We used the restaurant, bar and spa. I will review those separately.

The Good: The room was nice and the hot tub was very clean and nice and warm. The bed, very comfortable. The patio had a canvas curtain that could be closed for privacy or to block the wind and snow while using the hot tub. Naturally the view is outstanding and cannot be beat (for coastal views). The staff was generally helpful and friendly.

The not so good: I would say that it is starting to look a little worn. The Internet and 4G signals were very spotty which was frustrating -access, no-access, access, no-access. The patio curtain came unattached from the wall and I had to ask twice to have it fixed. It should have been fixed in one 'ask'.

Overall I would recommend the Samoset and will probably return at some point.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jswTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear jswTraveler,

Thank you for returning to the Samoset and for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad you were able to enjoy much of what our resort offers with visits to our award winning spa, Enoteca lounge, and La Bella Vita restaurant.

I appreciate your feedback concerning the maintenance issue in your room and wi-fi acess on the property. Your comments have been shared with our Engineering department. Unfortunately, we are at the mercy of the technology’s signal strength in our area and are working to improve our wireless signal with the networks.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

What a stay. Swimming. Hot Tub. Kids played in very large recreation room. Skating on the large outdoor rink. Multiple fire pits. We even warmed a wedding party who was taking photos outside in the snow. Food was incredible. Service was superior.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Keith G,

Swimming, hot tub, kids, rec room, new friends, incredible food. That’s a good vacation! Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to seeing you again for more fun times.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Camden-Rockland area always shakes it up this time of year with The Toboggan Nationals and Winterfest happening. We were deep in the depths of winter doldrums and so looking forward to the Toboggan races (our second year competing) and returning to the Samoset for a weekend cabin fever reliever, and the resort hasn't failed to keep us happy yet.

Last year we were stormed in by the big dumper of the winter, and were happy to discover the restaurant was reasonable and had plenty of options for any tastes or budgets, plus a nice wine list.

The view of Penobscot Bay from the dining room is inspiring in any weather, but if there was one thing I was disappointed in, it was the climate control there. The room was drafty and uncomfortably cold if you sat near the windows. Otherwise, the ambiance is very pleasant day or night.

Apparently there has been a change of ownership since our last stay and the new owners have obviously invested a lot of money in some needed maintenance upgrades. Our double queen room was quite spacious, the paint, carpet and furnishings all appeared near new and somehow they managed to find a reasonably quiet windowbox heater that maintained the room temp efficiently and nearly silently despite near 0 overnight outdoor temps. If only other hotels would take a page from this book!

The pool/spa area still appears a little dated, but this is Maine, after all, where a certain degree of rusticity is to be expected.

All in all we found the resort to be friendly, attentive, comfortable and attractive, and the winter rates are a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room. They don't cost any more, and the changing mood of the winter weather o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0trudderedbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear h0trudderedbum,

Thank you for your review of the Samoset and for returning for a second visit. We are glad we can serve as your team’s home base when competing in the National Toboggan Championships at the Camden Snow Bowl each year.

I appreciate your feedback concerning the temperature in La Bella Vita and comments about our indoor pool area. Your concerns have been shared and will be considered for any future improvements. I also appreciate your kind comments about our recent renovations and our rooms. Ocean Properties Ltd., a Maine family business, has owned our resort since 1999 and they take an active role in our development and improvements.

We look forward to seeing you again next year in February for the toboggan races.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We live in Maine but we stayed at the Samoset Resort for four nights this winter and our stay was excellent. The color of the ocean is certainly beautiful during the summer but the deep blue winter ocean with the sparkling white snow in the foreground was magical. Our older children, my husband, and I enjoyed the outdoor, balcony hot tub on the cold winter nights. There was even a curtain on the balcony to buffer the winter wind. The large suite with one bedroom plus sofa-bed in the living room offered plenty of room for four people. The hotel is extremely well maintained and all room features were updated and fresh.

We actually went back to the Samoset for the Winter Ice Lounge and to have dinner at La Bella Vita. The food was delicious and the wait staff were professional and friendly. We didn't have an opportunity to use the spa services but hope to do that on our return visit - perhaps during the summer or fall!

Downtown Rockland offers great restaurants and shopping year-round so there was plenty to do in town~

We have found a whole list of hotels owned by Ocean Properties; my husband and I had two anniversary stays at The Wentworth by the Sea in Portsmouth, NH and The Harborside Hotel in Bar Harbor, Maine. When we finally get a chance for a getaway, we know we can count on quality at these resorts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingmore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Travellingmore4,

Your kind review is very appreciated, not just by the Samoset but also our other OPL resorts you mentioned. We are glad you enjoyed the delicious food and professional, friendly wait staff in La Bella Vita. We hope you do make time to visit our award winning spa soon as it is open to both the public and resort guests.

It is always nice to hear a local perspective and your review will be very helpful to travelers who are planning a visit to the midcoast area.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I decided at the last minute to go away the weekend before Christmas for a little rest and relaxation. We booked a King deluxe room overlooking the water/lighthouse. It was located at the end of the hallway far away from the elevators. A perfect room. When we arrived we went downstairs to the bar for drinks and a few munchies. The bar area is great with couches surrounding gas fireplaces and high-top tables. The pizza was yummy and the drinks perfect. We had dinner there that night and it was fantastic. The wait-staff were attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. We had the breakfast buffet which was filled with a wide variety of items. You could also have an omelet or french toast made to order. The resort is located a short ride to Camden which is a great destination for shopping and restaurants. The Samoset is a resort to go back to again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Roberta W,

Thank you for visiting the Samoset and sharing your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to read reviews which include words such as perfect, yummy, fantastic, and attentive. We look forward to your visiting with us again and again.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
339 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £94 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing