We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opening day for the golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I would like to complement the staff at the Samoset on the condition of the golf course. I had called ahead for a tee time and was greeted by Gary in the pro shop who was very friendly and professional. Upon arrival our golf gear was handled by the starter who also was very friendly.
The course is in phenomenal shape, the greens roll perfect and bunkers are manicured perfect. The entire staff from the pro shop to the grounds crew was very nice. We had an incredible day on the course and then enjoyed the atmosphere and great food in the pro-shop restaurant.
Thank you Samoset Resort for making my birthday one to remember!
-Mike Roddy
Belgrade Lakes, Maine

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Mike R,

What could be better than an early spring golf day for your birthday? We appreciate your choosing to spend your special day with us. Our course came through the winter with flying colors and our grounds crew continues to invest loving care into making sure we are ready for season. Thank you for mentioning both the course and our pro shop staff as it takes both to run a successful program.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We are locals. We were given a seventy dollar gift certificate to the restaurant for our wedding. It fell into the dashboard of our car. When I called the resort, they connected me to an accountant that said she had record of it and record that it had not been used. She said she would have to get the approval of the general manager to see if they could reissue it, but she thought it would be fine. She called us back to let us know she was sorry but he would not honor it. The guest of our wedding wasted seventy five dollars. I feel a general manager ought to have more integrity at an establishment such as this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, Controller at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Elizabeth H,

I kindly encourage you to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this matter. Your misrepresentation as being a recent guest reviewing our resort is inaccurate. The context of your review questioning our integrity is unfair and misleading. It is unfortunate you have chosen to misrepresent yourself and us in this public forum.

We originally spoke with you regarding the lost gift certificate almost a year and a half ago. Our gift certificates are paper certificates and treated the same as actual cash. The non-refundable and non-transferable information is printed directly on the gift certificate. Our policy is widely understood as a standard in many businesses across many different industries and is the reason we denied your request for a replacement.

Since you live locally, I would again encourage you to speak with me personally if you feel the need to discuss this further.

Sincerely,

David Matthews, Controller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We are time share owners and this was a trade to the timeshare units not the resort hotel. The units were clean and spacious enough for two people, we had a one bedroom. They were well equipped even with a small partial kitchen.We had a balcony with a water and golf course view. I'm sure in the spring, summer and fall season the resort is very busy. Sine we were at the tail end of the winter season everything was quiet and very peaceful. The surrounding area provided plenty to do even though some shops and restaurants were still closed for the winter. We look forward to going back, soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view and the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiszr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear cruiszr2,

We are so glad you chose to “trade in” and visit the timeshares at Samoset Resort. Your description was perfectly accurate in stating this time of year is peaceful and quiet, yet still full of things to do in the surrounding areas. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your well-appointed, clean, and spacious unit while visiting with us. Thank you for your kind review and I hope we get to welcome you back again sometime.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Although we were only at the property for twenty-four hours we left totally refreshed. Ashley had a quick and flawless check-in. Rebecca L. in the gift shop gave us the local's way up Mt. Battie, which was great. We enjoyed a delicious dinner with very attentive service, thank you Vicky. A walk on the breakwater to the lighthouse is a must followed by a massage. I can't imagine a better way to spend a birthday. We may have to start a tradition. The rate was great as well. Highly recommend...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed_Palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Ed_Palmer,

We enjoyed recently welcoming you and your wife for a special birthday weekend. It is wonderful to read of your enjoyment for outdoor activities such as hiking Mt. Battie and indoor ones such as visiting our spa for massages. Top all that off with a delicious dinner in La Bella Vita and yes, you may just need to start a new birthday tradition with the Samoset!

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a nice two bedroom suite very clean nice pool ,game room for the kids,nice grounds for strolling.Good spot for day trips all along the coast. Would definitely go back some time.There is a well known golf coarse on site. Went to Acadia national park and Boothbay Harbour and was told skiing is close by.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear phoodman,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your letting us know you had a great time. Sounds like you were busy seeing many of Maine’s beautiful sights, including Acadia and the Bar Harbor region. I hope you get to enjoy skiing with us next winter at the Camden Snow Bowl.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We go to the Samoset a couple of times each winter with our kids for a getaway. We went for the ice bar this year and a couple of other events that the hotel graciosly sponsored for Make-A-Wish. The rates are incredibly reasonable in the winter, so low in fact that our friends never believe us. We especially like the adjoining rooms so we can bring a babysitter so we can go to the great restaurant and bar after the kids go to bed. The staff is always happy to accomodate such requests, but I do wish there were more double queen adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Adam D,

Sounds like you were able to enjoy many of our winter highlights this year with your family. I am pleased to read of the fun you had with your family at our ice bar and the events hosted by Make-A-Wish of Maine. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your positive experience.

We are looking forward to your return next winter.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Samoset Resort on several occasions both with family and as a girlfriends get a way!
For the family: the resort is very freindly towards children, they are made to feel wlecome, yet you still have "adult" time. The pool is fantastic and they also offer planned childrens activities...really great for school breaks.
For the girlfriends: Fantastic spa, rooms and wine list....what more can I say! This is a great place to go for a few days and leave feeling refreshed!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear diana c,

We appreciate not just your review, but also your unique dual perspective of enjoying our resort with your family and with girlfriends for a getaway. Sounds like you’ve had top notch experiences with both and we are pleased you’ve enjoyed your visits with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
339 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
389 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £93 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing