We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time to realax....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Time to realax....”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We just returned from the Samoset Resort. This is quite an amazing place. Very high quality hotel, but not at all stuffy. Accommodations are for romance or family's. Staff are truly helpful & very friendly. We really like the concierge. Rooms are great. We looked right on to the golf course from our deck and beyond that to the ocean. Landscaping & flower gardens are beautiful.
On another note, coffee maker (Keurig) was awful. room service coffee not much better. We went to a coffee place for take out & brought it back. This is a nonsmoking facility. Signs are posted. We had trouble w/ the guests directly below us smoking. We left our deck more than once due to the fumes. Had to ask management 3 times to speak to them. Maybe guests need to be told about no smoking policy @ check-in.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear bridget A,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read how, despite our numerous requests and reminders, another guest’s selfish disregard for our non-smoking policy affected the use of your balcony. We inform guests about our non-smoking policy through the reservation process, on our website, mentioning it again at check in, as well as posting signs throughout the resort. We do provide smoking areas designated specifically for adults who smoke and this guest chose to ignore this option. We do hope that your stay otherwise was a wonderful one and look forward to seeing again.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    269
    87
    25
    22
See reviews for
393
525
13
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
283 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Samoset. The front-desk was very professional and efficient, and the clerk gave us a great overview of the property and its amenities. We appreciated being upgraded to a jacuzzi suite, and our daughter enjoyed the jacuzzi. The suite was spacious and appointed just fine. We liked the ability to take the walk out the stone jetty to the lighthouse (7/8 mile each direction).

Perhaps the Samoset isn't quite a world-class resort in terms of amenities (although golfers may love it), but in relationship to the price it was a fine value and experience. No complaints really.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReillyPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reilly Pas,

Thank you for your kind review mentioning our professional and efficient Front Desk staff members. It was our pleasure to provide you with an upgrade to one of our ocean view hot tub suites. We hope you all are able to return for another visit with us soon.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had our daughter's wedding in June at the Samoset , The experience was amazing, The accommodation's , staff , And Food was spectacular . I cant say enough about this place. Definitely the best experience of our lives. They went way out of their way to make sure that mw and my 200 guest had everything we needed. We will continue to be a repeat customer .
THANK YOU SAMOSET.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Joe G,

Thank you for choosing the Samoset as the venue for hosting your daughter’s wedding. It is an honor to be chosen for such an important event. We’re pleased our accommodations, staff, and the entire experience were so wonderful for you and your guests. We look forward to your next visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The ambience at this resort is well worth the money spent and the staff are excellent at making your every whim realized, the new spa will pamper every one of your senses, but it is the restaurant that can make or break a resort and La Bella Vita is the sort of sumptuous haven that makes the Samoset a cut above others.

The menu is short, but that way every dish can be elegantly presented. You can sample the pizzas, antipasti, pannini, and salumeria board, but the real star of the entire menu is the fig and carmelized pear salad.

The large portion is presented on a plate with the herb roasted chicken sliced and draped on one side of the plate...but turn the plate and you discover a whole fig, cut in half, a half of pear that has been marinating in spices and gorgonzola cheese melted over it. The dainty mixed baby greens also have chunks of the delightful gorgonzola in it and perched on top is an unexpected handful of pickled red onions. Just when you thought the dish had given up all its secrets, you are presented with a sprinkling of toasted, candied pecans or walnuts and the entire salad is delicately bathed in a white balsamic vinaigrette. Each mouthful delivers a new taste sensation that delights the tastebuds and keeps you forking in for more.

I paired it with an Italian Pinot Grigio.

Walk off your lunch with a short jaunt to the breakwater which leads you to an historic lighthouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champagne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Champagne F,

I have the fortunate experience of reading many positive reviews about our resort and our wonderful restaurant, La Bella Vita. Yours has created a reaction stronger than most. I am craving the Caramelized Fig & Pear salad as a result of your descriptive and delicious words. It is currently 8:15 a.m. so I am not sure how the chef will feel about this request.

Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back for another visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you,plan to vacation on the north east coast Samoset is a must. A truly World Class Resort with a an "only in Maine" down home feel. From Lobstah to spectacular ocean views, its all eye candy.
The golf course is great and a challenging play, but one can enjoy just viewing it from your room or the lounge outside. The rooms were cozy and very clean, which was the case throughout. Enjoy a stroll around the grounds and out to the lighthouse.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for the wonderfully positive review of the Samoset. We chuckled over your correct and true spelling of lobstah and are so glad you enjoyed your time visiting with us. I appreciate your compliments of our beautiful grounds and the views of the golf course when sitting on the patio.

Because your review is such a positive one I am hoping you meant to rate us as a “5” and not the “1” which you chose. If it is not too much trouble we would kindly appreciate your updating your score to reflect your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful visit to the Samoset in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I just finished a 5 day stay at the Samoset Resort and I have to say it was just gorgeous! We luckily had beautiful weather and I know that helped but, the view from the pool and the breakfast patio was unbelievable. My family rated it a 10 out of 10. We had excellent service in all dining areas - from the buffet breakfast, to dinner in the main restaurant and lunch by the pool. The blueberry pie in the hotel restaurant was my favorite item of the entire week. It was made with almond flour and Maine blueberries. I don't even like blueberries from the grocery at home but, this was so tasty - I wish I had made time for another piece.

The spa is small but, the staff was quite gracious and I had a lovely massage. The recreation areas were all so very nice from the pool to the tennis courts and corn hole on the lawn. The golf course looked beautiful though, I am not a golfer and we did not have the experience. There is a darling lighthouse right on property that you can walk to and have an even more spectacular view.

There are 2 really cute, quaint towns within minutes of the resorts with plenty of waterside restaurants. We hiked in Camden, sailed out of Camden Harbor and rode bicycles in Vinalhaven.
I would recommend the area and the accommodations to everyone. It is not to be missed if you have the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Laura W,

Our goal at the Samoset is to exceed your expectations so I was very pleased your family rated their five day stay with us as a “10 out of 10”. Thank you for kindly mentioning the service and delicious food in La Bella Vita, our gracious spa staff and your lovely massage, and the many recreational activities available at our resort. Sounds like you explored our area thoroughly during your visit, including Camden and Vinalhaven too. We hope you return for another visit with us.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We only stayed one night, but the resort was beautiful, golf course looked amazing. We did not spend anytime at the pool, but it was crowded the afternoon we checked in. Fog and rain settled in that evening, and we checked out the next day.
Room was a king with a view, though not oceanfront we did have a nice little balcony, with a view of the golf course, and limited ocean view. Bed was comfortable, room had a mini fridge which was nice.
We had dinner at the restaurant, and take away was that it was expensive for italian. One of had veal parm, the other chicken piccata, neither were memorable. Service was good, view was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear travelerSL,

Thank you for the compliments of our resort, golf course, and ocean views. I’m sorry to see that your visit was a short one and I hope you are able to return for a longer stay. I will be sure to share your comments concerning La Bella Vita with our Food & Beverage Director.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
10.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing