We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just had the best experience! The resort is drop-dead gorgeous, La Bella Vita was delicious and the staff was gracious and charming. Bellman Matt was a total sweetheart to my wheelchair bound friend, squiring her to the Craft Fair like a queen. Bliss all around.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Buffy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Buffy R,

Bliss, drop dead gorgeous, and feeling like a queen all sound like ingredients in a recipe for a perfect stay at the Samoset. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your time with us so much. I will be sure to share your comments with Matt who is a valued member of the Samoset’s bellman team.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

The ocean view was spectacular and the accommodations were very nice and comfortable. The only problem I had was that the bathroom was not very accommodating to handicap, however the gym pool bathroom was most accommodating for my needs. We really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Donna H,

I am glad you enjoyed the accessibility accommodations available in the restrooms of The Club. We also offer accessible resort rooms, which feature roll-in showers for our guests who may require such accommodations to be more comfortable. If you return for another visit with us be sure to mention during your reservation process that you require an accessible room and we would be more than happy to accommodate your request.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is our second time staying at the Samoset. (The previous time was under different management.) The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are going with kids 5-12, check out the kids club. This allows your kids to do a few activities while you hit the gym, get a bite or just relax.
The views from the room we stayed in was amazing. We had a great view of the breakwater, Owl's Head Light, and Vinalhaven.

Room Tip: 4th floor gives you the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Steele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Steele M,

Thank you for your review of the Samoset. Our Samoset Kids Club is as popular an activity with the adults as it is with the kids precisely for the reason you stated. Parents can enjoy workouts, pool time, or a relaxing meal while their children have fun with our staff exploring the shoreline, doing crafts, playing outdoor games, and meeting new friends. With morning sessions from 9 a.m-noon and evening sessions from 5-9 p.m. there are many options for both the adults and the kids to have some fun.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

So this is a super lovely hotel. The only small glitch was I was given the wrong room but this is a fantastic place for kids and almost 99% spotless. Great restaurants and lovely staff. One suggestion is to keep the indoor pool open until 10.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear wearyinwaban,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed the restaurants and staff at the Samoset. While I am dismayed to read of the issue with your room I trust that our Front Desk staff were able to appropriately remedy your concerns and it did not impact the enjoyment of your visit. I will be sure to bring your suggestion about the pool hours to our Recreation Director.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

while driving down the coast Maine we stayed only stayed at this hotel for one night. The property is gorgeous. We took the golf course tour at 7 pm which was beautiful at dusk. There is this pure, serene, shadow of peacefulness that is draped over the entire property. They have a lovely heated pool and hot tub, as well as volleyball nets, basketball courts, and much more. The rooms were lovely, and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel restaurant, La Bella Vida, was perhaps the best meal we've had this whole trip. A musician who sang and played the sax walked around playing songs that were great for all ages. We are healthy eaters and they had many healthy and even vegetarian options. Friendly and efficient service staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epw1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Epw1234,

If you were only here for one night and were able to experience the golf cart sunset tour then you truly were able to see the outdoor beauty which is the Samoset. Thank you for your review letting other travelers also know about the delicious food in La Bella Vita, our zero-entry heated outdoor pool and hot tub, and the selection of outdoor sports games found at the Ultimate Backyard. I do hope you are able to return again for a longer stay.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I might be a bit biased because I've been coming here for a weekend every year for 21 years (and I'm 21 years old). Even if I was new, I would fall in love.
There's nothing better than waking up in the biggest, most comfy feather bed ever, getting out of bed and going to sit on the patio, and looking out over the super green golf course and over the ocean.
The rooms have a great kitchen, a huge bedroom, a pleasant bathroom, a great sink/mirror area, a good-sized closet, and a very comfy living room.
The rock beach is amazing, almost entirely consisting of smooth stones and little shells.
The arcade is fun and is great for kids (and some adults too!) to hang out in.
The work out area is well-kept and has a lot of things to work with.
It's close to town so anything you'd want is only a few miles away.
The pool room and the pool itself are always clean and relaxing. And if you're not a pool person, there's a hot tub!
The walking paths and breakwater nearby is always worth a visit.
Even the lobby is beautiful; the wooden floors, cute gift shop, and great restaurant are worth seeing.
And the service people are always super nice and informative!
All in all, I couldn't ask for anything more! Love it here so much

Room Tip: Any rooms with a patio are great for the view! And if you have a big family, or are staying with fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Simone S,

We enjoy seeing many return travelers come back year after year to the Samoset, but it’s rare to have a traveler tell us they have been here once a year for their entire life.

Thank you for returning each year and allowing us to grow up with you. Your review contains wonderful information about the property such as the rock beach by the Rockland breakwater, the walking paths, and our location close to the towns of Camden or Rockland. Thank you also for the kind comments about our indoor pool area and the cleanliness and variety of fitness options found in The Club. We look forward to seeing you for trip number twenty-two.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had two lovely days and nights here. We had our 8 yr grandson with us and was so happy to have a heated pool for all of us to enjoy. There was lots of yard games to play as well. Inside, we found games like chess and checkers to enjoy in front of a fireplace while have a wonderful tray of snacks. When it began to rain, we traveled to the indoor pool and he also found video games to enjoy during the rain.

Rooms were comfortable with a great view of the water and golf course there.
We will return there someday.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Alice S,

Thank you for letting us know about the nice time you had while visiting the Samoset with your grandson. He must have kept you busy with trips to our indoor and outdoor pools, playing lawn games, and checkers by the lobby fireplace. We hope you are able to return someday for another visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
339 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
389 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £94 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing