We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a wonderful visit first time to the Ledges By the Bay in Rockport, Maine. Nice room, comfortable king size bed, and great ocean views. The only issues was ice not being available one day at all and some vanity light bulbs not working. Otherwise a nice stay with reasonable off season rates. Also it would be nice if they could upgrade to larger flat screen TV's for the rooms, just to be on track to what other motels usually offer. I would definitely recommend this motel to other visitors when coming to the greater Rockport/Rockland area, especially off season with the fantastic rates.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean views, being so close to the water you wouldn't want to miss this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Affordable, clean, and convenient are only some of the characteristics of The Ledges. And the view of the ocean, sunrise, and Fox Islands make it a great place to stay in the midcoast. The staff is most gracious and we appreciated having the refrigerator, microwave, and Kerig to help make a few meals and stretch the budget by not having to eat out all the time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobeyGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This place has everything you need and nothing you don't.
It is clean and spacious, with a second floor view of the ocean.
Close to Rockland, but very quiet.
It is affordable, with a fairly large refrigerator and a kiereg.
The only suggestion I would make is more caffeinated coffee (there were only 2).

Room Tip: ask if they have any rooms with a view... you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 834Kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I would definitely stay here again. The view was beautiful, the room was basic, comfortable, very clean. My husband accompanied me on a business trip, was feeling quite ill as we got to Camden. The desk clerk was so nice and had no problem letting us check in early.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This motel is right along Route 1 in the midcoast area of Maine. However, we did not hear any traffic noise. (It was winter, though.) It is a functional motel room that is spacious and is a good value. The room was very clean! The beds were especially comfortable. There was a sink outside as well as inside of the bathroom. We had called ahead and told that that we would be arriving late and it was a blizzard outside. We worried that the room would be drafty and cold. Thank you to the staff that turned up the heat on that snowy night. But the real reason to stay here is the view of the beautiful seacoast. Really extraordinary even in winter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Winter is such a nice time to be in Maine -- we were there right after Christmas and a big ice storm. The day was sunny and gorgeous -- driving through Rockland, Rockport, and Camden was lovely -- lights shining through snow in the evening, sun glinting and sparkling on the ice and snow. Ledges by the Bay is always welcoming in the winter time with views across the bay. And very few tourists -- so nice.

Room Tip: Look at them on-line - in winter -- all rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cembalo8NewLondon_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I'm writing this review many months later, but here it goes....We stayed there May-June 2013, and only for one night. We arrived late by car, and even reception was closed, we had an envelope waiting with our room key and check-in details in the main office.

Once the morning arrived, the view from the room was amazing, as was the surrounding area. You can have beautiful views of the bay from your own balcony!

Self service breakfast was very good, and the view from the coffee room was perfect. We were lucky we had sunny weather and we enjoyed our short stay very much.

Maine is beautiful, and if you're near Camden Area, Ledges By the bay is a wonderful place to stay, and at an unbeatable price. I'd definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a view... upper floor... you won't be disapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebulus2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
20.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £51 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing