We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We needed an inexpensive, but still nice, motel for our business visit. We found Ledges through Trip Advisor and we're not disappointed. The motel was spotlessly clean. The view was spectacular. The staff were good. I'd come again to this place and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    358
    57
    11
    7
See reviews for
242
682
76
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My recent stay over a weekend was OK except for one thing...they use some cleaner(s) in the room or on the carpet that are so heavily scented that the room was unbearable when we walked in. My husband is very sensitive to perfumes and cleaning odors, and his nose immediately quit working. Even though it was freezing outside, we opened the door and the sliding glass door and sat there in our jackets while we aired out the room just to tolerate it. We considered only spending one night, but since we were in the area for a workshop, we knew it would be extremely difficult to move, so we decided to stick it out and air out the room anytime we were there. Fortunately, we spent very little time in the room. The heat in the room was hard to control, but since we brought some additional bedding we were able to turn the heat down and still be comfortable. On a good note, the room and bathroom were clean. All in all it is average for this type of motel. Great view!

Room Tip: Stay in the building closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank edhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a nasty hotel, then we found this one..its heaven! Can't say noooo more...going back again..love them..the staff is ago friendly, the rooms are so clean the location is perfect. Have suggested it to allot of friends

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beeb1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia Falls, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My room was quiet, very, very clean and LOVE the staff. It was a wonderful stay because I felt so comfortable in my room. I am planning to return soon with my husband for a quiet get away weekend soon. The view could not be beat. Would be great if they offered breakfast in bed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've stayed here several times over the years, friendly staff, beautiful views, very clean, and comfortable. I think it's the best deal in this area, I now live locally and once had to stay there when my pipes burst, they were so nice and gave us a good price. I recommend it to everyone I know!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monhegan Island, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The rooms are equipped with microwave, mini fridge, glasses, Keurig machine, DVD player, hair dryer which is so helpful when traveling. The beds are comfortable. Rooms are clean, And the sunrises can't be beat!

Room Tip: The best room, and we have stayed in a lot of them, #11 and #1, are both great. Roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraHire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Corinth, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a wonderful visit first time to the Ledges By the Bay in Rockport, Maine. Nice room, comfortable king size bed, and great ocean views. The only issues was ice not being available one day at all and some vanity light bulbs not working. Otherwise a nice stay with reasonable off season rates. Also it would be nice if they could upgrade to larger flat screen TV's for the rooms, just to be on track to what other motels usually offer. I would definitely recommend this motel to other visitors when coming to the greater Rockport/Rockland area, especially off season with the fantastic rates.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean views, being so close to the water you wouldn't want to miss this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.2 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#4 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
5.0 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.8 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Property: Ledges By the Bay
Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing