We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice mini vaca”
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Andi at the front desk was extremely helpful with information about the area and came to the rescue when our batteries in our TV remote died.

Huge sliders to the deck provided an exceptional view and made the room feel bigger than it was.

The only negative was the room could have used room darkening shades. The bay is beautiful at sunrise but that's a bit early.

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 are smaller but have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This bayside motor lodge was a great base camp for a quick two night trip to the main coast. Check-in / check out was easy, staff was helpful, beds were comfortable and view from the balcony was superb. The lodge has no food service, but options are available within a few minutes drive. A good choice if you plan to spend most of your time touring / away from hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbhIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice place. Very clean room, quiet and a great view. Also has a firepit available & Adirondack chairs with the view.. K Cup brewers in room and a nice continental breakfast. Very close to Rockland [North end of town]

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinnyWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Highly recommend the Ledges. We had a room with a queen bed, a fireplace and sliding glass doors onto the deck overlooking all of Glen Cove! Wonderful quiet location halfway between Camden and Rockland. The room was clean and comfortable and they provided a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Have stayed here before and will stay again the next time we visit Midcoast Maine, one of our very favorite areas of the State.

Room Tip: Rooms10-14 have no rooms above them. Most, if not all, rooms have a deck overlooking the Cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneJ914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had traveled to Bar Harbor but made a quick escape to get out of the crowds. Driving by, husband turned in to see if there were available rooms. So glad we did! Comfortable beds with soft bedding. Two sinks! Clean room, with a balcony with two chairs, looking out over a green space to the harbor. Birds galore! Even saw our first marmot munching on the dandelions! That evening, we witnessed our first fog rolling in from the ocean, the only time during our trip. Keurig coffee was a nice touch. We were too early in the season for the breakfast, but took a short drive to Denny's.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had been staying in Camden area over the last few years, at other places. We passed this location each time, hubby would say he would like to stay here "next time." We decided to book a few days here, after going online and viewing the rooms. We were more than pleased, starting with the friendly front office help. The room was great, had coffee maker in the room, as it was off season, and a fridge, microwave, DVD player with movies, and games! That 1st night we "lit" the fireplace and had some wine on the deck. We woke up to fog the next day, but it cleared and we enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck, in comfy chairs, looking out over the bay. The room was clean, smelled good (a plus for me) and had a new King sized mattress. We could not hear the guests on either side of us. The grounds were colorful, after a long and harsh Maine winter, and well kept. We really were very happy and satisfied. The woman who checked us in directed us to a great restaurant for dinner that night. I would recommend this place to anyone who is coming to this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank electricladymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently traveled to Maine for a weekend and found this place by accident. The front office was more than accommodating and gave us a room with a view. We didn't think too much of it as it was raining and fogged in. The next morning was beautiful and what a view. They were not kidding. Highly recommend for reasonable money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulette06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.2 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
260 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
395 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
643 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockport
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £59 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing