We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ledges is a little gem of a place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Nokesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ledges is a little gem of a place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a great place to stay in the Rockport, Camden, Rockland area. Very clean, very large, and very comfortable rooms and overall amenities. Wonderful views and the pictures of the place are not misleading at all. We would definitely stay here for several nights the next time we do a road trip to coastal Maine. A great place to use as a "base" while exploring the mid-Coast area and some of the lakes.

Room Tip: Looked like ALL rooms face the Penobscot Bay (i.e., have a wonderul, peaceful water view). We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    358
    57
    11
    7
See reviews for
242
682
76
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Although it had been 5 yrs since my wife and I had returned to Maine mid-coast, my recent stay at The Ledges was just as good as the last. Great ocean view, super clean rooms, comfortable bed and a very accommodating staff. Don't hesitate to stay at this place if in the Rockport, Rockland area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is our second stay in this wonderful place in Rockport. As before, our experience was incredible. The motel, the premises and staff are excellent. This is a place for the ones looking to disconnect from the routine. Peaceful, quiet, great views and ample-clean rooms. We stayed at the Cove retreat, which is perfect for small families. Kids have ample space to play, while you can stay in the deck watching the splendid view. There is a grill for the ones that want to cook outside (we loved it). Rooms are clean, ample space and the cove is completely furnished. Breakfast is great (continental with homemade pastries) Great views while you spend time with others.
The staff will make you to feel like home. Very friendly, and always looking to exceed. Great combination!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, those have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon_from_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were privileged to take a vacation w/our daughter who lives in Brooklyn N.Y. and we drove north to explore Acadia National Park. We were so thankful to come upon Ledges by the Bay on our Northward journey with wonderful, clean rooms complete with a deck overlooking the bay. The morning breakfast in their dining porch which takes in a spectacular view was very good considering it was offered for free. The grounds were not only beautiful, but beautiful kept and afforded abundant outdoor enjoyment including a swimming pool, picnic and lounging in the sun areas complete w/a fountain. The price was very reasonable and if we ever get back to explore more of Maine, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: They are all good w/an awesome view of the bay and beautiful grounds to hang out on leisurely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granniedahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a nice stay here for three nights in mid June. This was a perfectly adequate room and bath. The bed was excellent and the bathroom was very good. Also the little fridge was good and very useful to keep a bottle of wine. Otherwise the room would have been fine -- if it was 20 years ago!; Despite the lack of upgrades it suited us, was quiet and the view was spectacular. We used the room to relax and regroup between excursions and we were happy. If you plan to use your room for long stretches this might fall short. The continental breakfast is very generous and the coffee maker in the room was quite good. We were able to save money on our room and spend more on our visits to shops and restaurants. This is a good option to have on the list.

Room Tip: The top floor certainly had a great view of Penobscot Bay; the other rooms seemed to as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank massbayreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in 2014. It was a nice location, not worth the price we paid, but we were there for a July3 and July4 so the prices were higher than normal, I suppose. Other places where we paid this much on this trip were much nicer. It was rainy and humid and that made the bathroom floor tiles slick -- dangerous to walk on in shoes although it was ok in bare feet.. The room was clean and very quiet. Nice view from room to the bay. It is a VERY steep lawn down to the water -- no easy way to get down there. We could see chairs and the shore but couldn't get down there. Ice machine was broken -- we had to go to the office to get ice. Nice, large, generic, older motel room. Were were in a deluxe waterview room on the first floor. We enjoyed the area -- pretty drives, we ate in Camden and Rockport and found good meals both places.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciainTexas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Waterview room on the first floor. Lovely view of the bay from our balcony from which we watched fireworks one evening. The pastries at breakfast (continental style) were of good quality. The staff was great. The small outdoor pool was an added bonus. Easy drive to Camden Hills State Park. This motel was between Rockport and Rockland.

Everything in the room was top-notch.

Room Tip: There are 3 different types of rooms: deluxe, superior and standard. They have different amenities a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicalclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.2 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
5.0 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.8 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Property: Ledges By the Bay
Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing