We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
337
70
14
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
70
14
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecorated for halloweenchairs and umbrellasbeautiful viewpenobscot baynautical themethe ground floorthoroughly enjoyed our staymorning coffeeheated poolwould definitely stay here againgreat place to staysmall refrigeratorstayed longergreat roomshort drivenice poolwater view
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

What an AWESOME place!! The views, the uniqueness of each room (no cookie cutter hotel rooms here) and most of all the people! Our room was clean, comfortable and the view was to die for. The employees were always friendly and helpful. And in keeping with what I hear about Maine-folks, we felt like a member of the family by the time we checked out! I met the owner, Dana and him Mom, Violet and was treated to a bit of history of area that I'm sure is unavailable in any tour book. The grounds were fantastic! So beautiful and well manicured. So close to downtown Rockport and Camden, alot to do in the area.We will for sure be back!

Room Tip: The view from the top floor was awesome. But I think the top floor rooms all have king size beds so not right for everyone.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We arrived at this Inn to be greeted by the rudest receptionist I have ever come across. She was an older lady who didn't even say hello. All she had to do was check us in and this seemed to be a huge inconvenience to her. I was stunned into silence and turned round to see my two sons who are usually very easy going standing with their mouths open amazed by her attitude. The room we had was very nice, although a little dark as it was on the ground floor. The rooms have been upgraded but the bathroom has not and needs to be, it had an old well used smell to it! The inn is in a lovely location with the garden stretching down to the lawn and we did briefly use the pool. Despite all these things I would not recommend this place to anyone as I do not expect to be greeted in such a rude manner anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danarockportmaine, Owner at Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

We are sorry your welcome was not a pleasant one and we will make every effort in future to make sure this does not happen again. We welcome your feedback regarding your experience
and will make every effort to address the issue.
All the baths and bathrooms were updated in the past two years so we are surprise at this comment. Our rooms receive great reviews and we are diligent in maintaining them to the highest quality possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful part of the world. However do not expect helpful service. The front desk was unable to tell us how to get to the local Lobster festival, did not know whether they had wifi or not and failed to tell us that every morning there is free tea and coffee at the front desk. We found that out as we checked out! The room was lovely but there is no kettle (and for tea loving brits this was a very bad thing!!) and the bath has no light over it so you guess where the shower gel is going. The view, the heated pool and the peace and quiet was, however, wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELa_London86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danarockportmaine, Owner at Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

We are sorry the customer was not 100% happy. The Lobster Festival was just three miles south of us right in the town of Rockland so we are somewhat confused as to why our directions were not enough information. We sent numerous people to the festival and no one had problems finding it. The coffee and tea in located just inside the lobby entrance and is served from 7am to 11am. The Wifi is free to all rooms and needs no codes to access. All the staff is aware that we have wifi and this information is published in our "GUIDES" located in every room. Again, we apologize that the customer did not feel they got great service which our other reviews say we do provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed at Strawberry Hill the first week of September. The grounds were manicured to perfection with fountains and flower beds and the chairs and umbrellas set up on the waterfront were a nice touch. Our room was immaculate with a wonderful view of the bay and it was just a short ride to restaurants in the nearby town of Camden. As we were packing up to leave, the "mistress of the manor," Pumpkin the cat, paid a visit to our room. Loved this place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Had originally been looking to stay in Camden but everything was booked so found this place on line. Was only able to book a single night and then had to move to another room for the second night but both rooms were great. The upper level gave beautiful vistas of the pool, the path to the bay - gorgeous and all well maintained. Great sitting areas all around - at the waterfront, along the path, at the pool and outside each room.
Had a basic continental breakfast - coffee, no coffee maker in the rooms but they did have a 'frig. Very helpful staff. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hightechgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews