We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What an amazing view”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Strawberry Inn during our recent trip to Maine; we were very impressed with the accommodations and bay views! The staff we encountered was friendly, as well. The walls are quite thin so you can hear people in the rooms next to you, but this didn't keep us from sleeping very well while we were there. In the morning I got up to see the run rise; didn’t even have to leave the room, just sat on the balcony and watched it come up over the trees/ water which was fabulous. If we had visited during the summer the pool looked very nice, as did the hike out to the bay from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    60
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
76
188
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This motel was simply the perfect spot for my fall vacation! Close to Camden, local restaurants (Primo) and Mt. Battie. The rooms were very clean, well kept, and the views were outstanding. Quiet, well manicured grounds, great coffee in the am. As I was making these reservations for friends along with myself, I was a bit concerned that everything would be 'perfect'. It was!

Room Tip: They all overlook the cove, so how could you go wrong?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was by far the nicest place we stayed at during our 2 week road trip in New England. We were greeted by the amazing Halloween decorations on arrival! The rooms were of a good size and spotless and looked out across the bay. We took a walk around the grounds which were very well kept. The place we felt was a bit in no-mans land though with neither Rockland or Rockport close by, but with having a car this didn't really matter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie_robsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After reading the reviews of this property, I called to see if we could get in for a couple of nights in early October. On line, it did not appear to be 2 nights available for us, but Violet made it happen. She also arranged a room for , us on the ground floor since my husband has difficulty with stairs. We were placed in a very accessible room with great views and sweet decor. My husband also has sensitivities to odors, such as mold, perfumed sprays, etc. We were sitting in the room the second night enjoying the view with the windows open, when I mentioned, " this room has absolutely NO odors". We have traveled the world and I cannot remember a room as clean as this was. I was very glad to stay here. The binoculars were such a surprise, the Halloween decorations were amazing, and I was patting myself on the back for choosing this property. I wish we could have stayed longer, but there was more of Maine to explore!

Room Tip: any room would be a great stay. We did hear the people above us occasionally moving around but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinsmom788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furlong
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Every room has a sea view over the lawn and a quiet cove! It is actually closer to Rockland than Rockport. Very homey decorations in the room, which was immaculately clean. Strawberry Hill is a smaller hotel so there aren't crowds. A mowed lawn stretches down to seats by the bay for use by guests. The only slight drawback is that sound travels a bit through the walls, an issue when the guest next door snores like a truck. If I get back Rockport this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: My room was on the middle of 3 levels, the same level as the office, and I liked that because it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was just the place I was looking for - a small motel situated with a beautiful view of the bay. The building itself is set back a ways from the highway, and meticulous grounds lead down to the shoreline. Rooms are laid out as typical motel rooms but the décor is very well done and the beds are comfortable. My wife particularly liked the nautical-themed bedspreads. The bathroom was not spacious (perhaps that was the primary complaint of the reviewer who complained about the out-of-date bathroom) but it was nicely done and not old.

We were on the bottom floor so we were well away from the highway but I'm sure rooms on the other two floors do not have problems with highway noise. The hotel is set well back from the road and there is quite a bit of landscaping in place.

We had no problem with bugs (ants or beetles). It was probably too late in the season to worry about beetles. I can understand why they might be a problem in summer. If you sit outside in the evenings enjoying the beautiful view and leave the door open and the room lights on, bugs are likely to appreciate your hospitality. I also tend to believe the innkeeper who said the guest who complained about ants was lying. Our room was very clean and smelled fresh. I had absolutely zero indication of any kind of bug problem.

A lot of attention has been paid to room and grounds décor. Plenty of Maine décor in the rooms. Binoculars provided in each room is a nice touch. Lots of Halloween décor in front of the building and in the lobby to add to the festive holiday atmosphere. The room was freshly painted, furniture was nice. Windows open so we could enjoy the fresh Fall air. Grounds are meticulously kept. The pool area is nice but it was a bit late in the season for actually using the pool.

Restaurants are a short drive south in Rockland or a short drive north in Camden. There is nothing within walking distance of the motel.

A few disclaimers for those who want reasons to not like a place:
1. The lobby is quite small and the only refreshment served is morning coffee and tea.
2. The pool is outdoor and there is no hot tub.
3. This is a small place, so don't look for large resort amenities - no spa, exercise room, tennis court or golf course.
4. No breakfast and no afternoon or evening snacks.
5. The rooms are typical motel room size. There are no expansive sitting areas or fireplaces.
6. No on-site restaurant or lounge.

I don't mean any of those to be construed as negatives. Just make sure you know what you want when looking for a place to stay in the area. Frankly, there aren't many all-inclusive resorts in this area. If you want a small, quiet, clean, somewhat out-of-the-way motel that fully complements the natural beauty of the Maine coast, Strawberry Hill will be a very pleasant stay for you.

One final note - the elderly lady who manages the front desk in the evening is not exactly the epitome of graciousness and hospitality. I suspect some of the negative comments were generated by run-ins with her. As soon as I walked in and was "non-greeted" by her, I remembered some of the comments I had read. I thought to myself "uh-ho" but decided to take a strong positive approach to her and not be put off by her "why are you here" attitude. It worked and I had no problems. I tell you this under the philosophy that forewarned is forearmed. The rest of the staff was great.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out to the bay, so I don't think it matters which room you get. If you have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Quiet, lovely comfortable rooms, well decorated, including binoculars. Spectacular views with a private deck and several areas by the water to sit. You can get exercise in the beautiful swimming pool or hiking up the hill from the water! The grounds are immaculate with beautiful flowers. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
319 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
184 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
4.8 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
139 reviews
8.7 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Property: Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Address: 886 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#4 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy all our ocean view rooms with direct ocean access. We are located half way between Camden and Rockland on US Route 1 in the town of Rockport. Our hotel/inn sets back from the road so if your looking for quiet relaxation we are your destination point. All rooms are decorated in a nautical theme with balconies and patios to enjoy the views of the ocean. We have two outdoor heated pools and direct ocean access with sitting and umbrellas next to ocean for you to relax and enjoy the schooners and lobster boats in the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Seaside Hotel Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing