We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding location overlooking Penobscot bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsdale, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding location overlooking Penobscot bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

On a business trip and on a budget, this place fit the bill. The property is beautifully maintained and the site on a hill overlooking Penobscot Bay is nothing short of spectacular. I only wish I could have stayed longer so I could sit and enjoy the incredible view. In season, there is a swimming pool, and chairs down the hill closer to the water.

All the rooms face the water. They are simple and small, but certainly adequate. We were on the ground floor, and there were little terrace areas where I assume chairs are placed in warm weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innkeeper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    57
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
71
181
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

While we had not visited this property for a number of years, our recollection was positive so we decided to spend a night when traveling with out of town visitors. All members of the party were very pleased by the setting, cleanliness and comfort provided at Strawberry Hill. Visiting two weeks before Halloween we found the property charmingly decorated and an excellent location in which to take memorable photos of the visit. The morning sunrise over the bay was well worth the early wake-up call and the availability of powerful binoculars made it fun to watch the lobster boats heading out for the day. Highly recommend this property which is very convenient to Camden and with a much better view than most Camden properties.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had reservations for one night recently and found it necessary to cancel because of a health issue. We were suppose to cancel 48 hours in advance. I understand the cancellation policy but were offered no refund amount of any kind. Reservations were for Sunday night and we had to cancel on Thursday. No refund or credit was offered. Also when booking a room consider that you are charged for the room upon booking instead of upon registering. We have stayed in many hotels and motels but never were charged for the room on our credit card until we arrived and registered. Just a warning for those who book this inn. We were very disappointed and will no longer consider a stay at this inn and wanted others to be aware of this unusual policy.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florasuisuncity, Owner at Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Our cancellation policy is very clear and noted on our website and on all confirmation emails. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours prior to arrival day, not 48 hours as customer stated. Also, we do advertise that on all reservations we require a one night deposit, which is pretty much standard thoughout the industry these days. We state our cancellation policy clearly on the website, email confirmations, and on all phone reservations. We are sorry that the customer misunderstood or did not review the policy that they were provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Strawberry Inn during our recent trip to Maine; we were very impressed with the accommodations and bay views! The staff we encountered was friendly, as well. The walls are quite thin so you can hear people in the rooms next to you, but this didn't keep us from sleeping very well while we were there. In the morning I got up to see the run rise; didn’t even have to leave the room, just sat on the balcony and watched it come up over the trees/ water which was fabulous. If we had visited during the summer the pool looked very nice, as did the hike out to the bay from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This motel was simply the perfect spot for my fall vacation! Close to Camden, local restaurants (Primo) and Mt. Battie. The rooms were very clean, well kept, and the views were outstanding. Quiet, well manicured grounds, great coffee in the am. As I was making these reservations for friends along with myself, I was a bit concerned that everything would be 'perfect'. It was!

Room Tip: They all overlook the cove, so how could you go wrong?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was by far the nicest place we stayed at during our 2 week road trip in New England. We were greeted by the amazing Halloween decorations on arrival! The rooms were of a good size and spotless and looked out across the bay. We took a walk around the grounds which were very well kept. The place we felt was a bit in no-mans land though with neither Rockland or Rockport close by, but with having a car this didn't really matter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie_robsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

After reading the reviews of this property, I called to see if we could get in for a couple of nights in early October. On line, it did not appear to be 2 nights available for us, but Violet made it happen. She also arranged a room for , us on the ground floor since my husband has difficulty with stairs. We were placed in a very accessible room with great views and sweet decor. My husband also has sensitivities to odors, such as mold, perfumed sprays, etc. We were sitting in the room the second night enjoying the view with the windows open, when I mentioned, " this room has absolutely NO odors". We have traveled the world and I cannot remember a room as clean as this was. I was very glad to stay here. The binoculars were such a surprise, the Halloween decorations were amazing, and I was patting myself on the back for choosing this property. I wish we could have stayed longer, but there was more of Maine to explore!

Room Tip: any room would be a great stay. We did hear the people above us occasionally moving around but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinsmom788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#4 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
3.0 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Property: Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Address: 886 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
#4 Business Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy all our ocean view rooms with direct ocean access. We are located half way between Camden and Rockland on US Route 1 in the town of Rockport. Our hotel/inn sets back from the road so if your looking for quiet relaxation we are your destination point. All rooms are decorated in a nautical theme with balconies and patios to enjoy the views of the ocean. We have two outdoor heated pools and direct ocean access with sitting and umbrellas next to ocean for you to relax and enjoy the schooners and lobster boats in the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Seaside Hotel Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing