We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strawberry Hill is a wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Hagerstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Strawberry Hill is a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We just made our second trip to Maine - both times we stayed a day or two at Strawberry Hill. We enjoyed the rooms and the views so much that we will definitely go back for a third visit. The next time we plan on staying the whole time at Strawberry Hill and making day trips to see some of the sights in the area. We would recommend Strawberry Hill to all of our friends and relatives. Once you see the moon over Penobscot Bay you will understand why we plan on going back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    60
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
76
187
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, MA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Strawberry Hill is significantly less expensive than a lot of the other ocean view hotels in midcoast Maine, so I was expecting sort of a "budget hotel" experience. However, the rooms were comfortable, clean and decorated with more character than a typical chain hotel room. The ocean view was fantastic. The outdoor pool was on the small side and rather warm, but still refreshing on a hot day, and surrounded with lounge chairs and tables with umbrellas for relaxing or reading. There were flowers growing everywhere -- beautiful. The hotel is within a short drive of Rockland and Camden. No breakfast is served, but they have coffee, hot chocolate, and juice. I got the sense there are a lot of "regulars" who stay at this place every year. The guests we met at the pool were friendly and helpful with recommendations for things to do in the area and places to eat. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed at the Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn on two occasions, to drop off and to pick up our teen who was taking a course at Maine Media. We were so happy with our selection of hotels! After reading Trip Advisor reviews, we knew this was the place we wanted to stay, and we were right. Our room was bright, cheerful and clean. The staff was warm and friendly. The view from our room was breathtaking! Each room has a set of binoculars, which we used frequently to view the boats out on Penobscot Bay. The grounds are absolutely beautifully landscaped and the pool was clean and very well-heated. Although breakfast is not included, Strawberry Hill provides morning coffee and tea. And what could be sweeter than being greeted by Pumpkin, the resident cat and unofficial hotel manager? We loved the Rockland area, and we plan to return just to visit the area. When we return, we will definitely stay at the Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu-AnnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2010

There are no negatives to talk about at Strawberry Hill. The rooms are more than adaquate, pleasant people, incredible gardens, chairs and umbrellas at the shoreline of Penobscot Bay and good restaurants nearby. (The Helm, rte 1 Rockport- 4 mins - plus high end dining near by ). - not to mention Pumpkin.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barriekern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This place was great. The grounds are beautiful as the owner is a professional gardener and there were flowers everywhere. In addition there is a rolling green lawn and meadow down to the sea with chairs and umbrellas perched for guests to use. And, a heated pool.

The rooms were clean and well appointed and had a small refrigerator. The motel was conveniently located on route 1 but well off the road with no noise at all. It’s convenient location allowed us to explore the area quite easily. Each room had great views of the water and 2 Adirondack type chairs. I would have liked a small table between the chairs for our afternoon cocktails.

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The room was immaculate, cheerfully decorated, and with a great view of Penobscot Bay. The owners were very friendly and obviously nature oriented as the grounds were beautifully maintained and bird/butterfly (and woodchuck) friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa333_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I have family in the Rockland/Camden area, so I am there once a year (or once every 2 or so years) and the one thing that stays constant is that Strawberry Hill is a solid choice.

During the fall and summer Rockland/Camden becomes a huge tourist destination. Thus, as with most places that do well in tourist season, the hotels charge crazy prices. The bed & breakfasts in the area are upwards of $200 a night and because it is a small town your options for chain hotels are limited and still expensive. Enter Strawberry Hill.

I've stayed here in winter, I've stayed here in summer. Each time the price was $99 per night. Can't beat it.

First off, the view from this Inn is AMAZING. I grew up around it, but it still blows me away. The hotel overlooks the Glen Cove bay and your ocean view is just stunning. Sit on the balcony from your room and just soak it in. The grounds are amazing. They have a pool that is sparkling clean and nice with a great pool deck. They have a massive lawn that stretches out to the ocean and they've put beach chairs and umbrellas at the water's edge so that you can go down there, sit and relax with the view.

The location is perfect. It is technically in Glen Cove which is smack in the middle of Rockland and Camden. So if you are seeing both areas, this location is just the right thing. It is however, right off a busy road. You cannot hear the noise from the road though.

The rooms are spotlessly clean. They all have a nautical theme (you are in Mid-Coast Maine after all). The rooms are spacious and adequate. They have free wifi as well.

If this matters to you, it should be noted that there is no restaurant on premises. (not an issue for us).

I am a repeat customer and will continue to be. This is a hidden gem and if you want EXCELLENT and affordable, come to Strawberry Hill.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessika14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
318 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
183 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
136 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
1.7 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Property: Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Address: 886 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
#4 Business Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy all our ocean view rooms with direct ocean access. We are located half way between Camden and Rockland on US Route 1 in the town of Rockport. Our hotel/inn sets back from the road so if your looking for quiet relaxation we are your destination point. All rooms are decorated in a nautical theme with balconies and patios to enjoy the views of the ocean. We have two outdoor heated pools and direct ocean access with sitting and umbrellas next to ocean for you to relax and enjoy the schooners and lobster boats in the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Seaside Hotel Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing