We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cranston,RI
1 review
“The BEST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

This quaint inn in Rockport, ME is the best inn I have ever stayed in. I Travel a lot around the North East and happend to run by this Inn by accident because there where no vacancies around and I since have been going back for 10yrs now. The rooms are so clean, cozy and feels like home. Every room over looks the bay and have a deck to go out on and have your morning coffee and watch the birds come and feed from all the feeders out in the yard along with a in ground heated swimming pool. I can't say enough about this place. The staff is friendly and meet your accomadations for instance I brought our bikes up and didn't want to leave them on the rack and they said you can leave them in our garage. How nice!! I strongly, strongly refer this Inn for anyone looking for a coastal get away with a lot of surronding attractions. Located in Rockport,, Me on RT 1 Enjoy!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    57
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
73
181
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

When arrived the front staff was not very knowledgeable about our reservation. My son had booked the room and paid with a credit card for both nights as it was a birthday gift for his mother. The front staff had the credit card number but stated that they only charge for one night in advance and we would need to produce a credit card for the second night as she did not want to punch in all those numbers. We wanted to make sure that both nights were not originally charged, while we were waiting one of the owners came in and was very upset that we were questioning the front staff and that we should know that they only take payment for the first night in advance and the second night is paid at arrival. I tried to explain that usually the second night is charged to the original credit card unless othe wise state but he kept talking loudly and asked if I had ever stayed at motel before. He said that I should know all this. We could not explain that we only wanted to make sure that the second room had not already been paid for he just wouldn't listen. We paid for the second night ourselfs. This totally ruined our week-end. He just gave us the key did not explain anything about the inn. We had to hunt for the ice machine, no coffee in the room finally found out they do have coffee for a couple of hrs in the morning. Room and view are nice. Would recommend due to the treatment by the owner. I told him that I could not beleive his attitude toward a paying guest who only wanted an explanation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radar445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontheroad97, Owner at Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2010
We are sorry the customer was not happy but the statements made in the review are not correct.
The reservation was booked on our "online reservation system" and we had no phone conversation with the customer prior to arrival. When the customer arrived they insisted that both nights had been charged to the card already. The front desk checked and advised the customer that only one night had been charged, which is our policy ONLY to charge the first night, and the balance is due upon check-in time. The customer had the computer printout in his hand, and stated that we should put in our policy that we only charge for the first night. I showed him on the printout that he had where it said "only the first night is charge to your card at the time you make the reservation". He proceed to read it and then stated "it should be in bold print plus it was too long for him to read". Once he agreed that the second night had not been charged, we asked to see the credit card to charge the second night. He said to punch in the numbers we already had but we stated that we are required by the credit card company to verify the credit card by seeing it and swiping it, which not only is a safety feature for us but also for the customer and is own security. We always require to see the card at check-in which is a security feature we provide to all customers and to make sure that their credit information is secure. It has nothing to do with punching in the numbers.
As for the ice machine, it was located just outside his room and the coffee was located just inside the front door of the office. Just check our reviews for being "courteous".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honor Michgan USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

From "check in" to"check ou" the experience of staying at Strawberry Hill was exceptional. The view is breath taking and the facility is so very clean. Pelple and the cat ( Pumpkin) are there to greet you and make sure that your stay is "like home" No ordinary rooms here. Each is warm, cozy and quiet. We were going to stay only one night, and we "wanted" to come back for a second night of pleasure. Don't pass by this chance to relax. and enjoy the sunrise over the bay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Stayed here 2 nights with my husband on a week long tour of Maine coast.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - charming seaside decor in rooms, very comfortable & clean,
enjoyed the beautiful ocean view in the adirondack chairs outside our room, lovely pool area. Would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katnh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami , Fl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

There are not enough adjectives to describe this hotel,and staff. They are truly great! The views are spectacular, the rooms large and super clean and nice. The staff is wonderful. Cheryl helped me with a minor emergency, calling 911, giving me support and even offering to help with the luggage! They also gave great tips on restaurants in the area. This is a great location as a base to see the mid-coast region of Maine. The hotel is so beautiful, the gardens are so lovely. To wake up each morning with views of Glen Cove and the incredible gardens is enough to make you want to stay longer. I cannot find one flaw in this hotel , the rooms are cleaned early and well done, it is quiet. Stay here!! They should be #1 in Maine , period!!! By the way they are not expensive considering the prices of hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turlyMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

This was my third trip to Maine and my second stay at Strawberry Hill. The location is outstanding and the view of the water is amazing. The room was clean and decorated so nicely that it felt like home, there was even a quilt on the bed. The management was helpful and polite (a refreshing change from chain hotels). This Inn is close to Camden, which is a beautiful small town and a nice place to shop. When I go back to Maine, I will definitely stay there again. Kudos to the owners for paying attention to the details that make this a special place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warmways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

We just made our second trip to Maine - both times we stayed a day or two at Strawberry Hill. We enjoyed the rooms and the views so much that we will definitely go back for a third visit. The next time we plan on staying the whole time at Strawberry Hill and making day trips to see some of the sights in the area. We would recommend Strawberry Hill to all of our friends and relatives. Once you see the moon over Penobscot Bay you will understand why we plan on going back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
3.0 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Property: Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Address: 886 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#4 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy all our ocean view rooms with direct ocean access. We are located half way between Camden and Rockland on US Route 1 in the town of Rockport. Our hotel/inn sets back from the road so if your looking for quiet relaxation we are your destination point. All rooms are decorated in a nautical theme with balconies and patios to enjoy the views of the ocean. We have two outdoor heated pools and direct ocean access with sitting and umbrellas next to ocean for you to relax and enjoy the schooners and lobster boats in the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Seaside Hotel Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing