We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Water Farm Cafe and Market - CLOSED

Salt Water Farm Cafe and Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$49
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Opened in April of 2013, Salt Water Farm Restaurant & Cafe in Rockport's stately Union Hall provides locals, tourists and sailors alike with fresh, local options for breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus a comfortable bar six days a week, with brunch on Sunday. The experience and creativity of the staff and the vision of owner Annemarie Ahearn translate to inspired farm-to-table versions of traditional dishes, like clams bagna cauda, and seasonal highlights such as wild mushroom gravy with biscuits or a vine-ripe tomato salad. If you live in Rockport, lucky you; if not, here's a reason to visit. (Source: Portland Press Herald - Sept. 20
Thomaston, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I decided to try this place the same day we heard about It and we didn't even check here to see how it was being reviewed. I thought it was one of the best meals we've had at restaurant in a while. I can agree with some of the other commenters that it's got some quirks but we like places that have an ever changing menu and all the food we ordered was excellent. The prices and portions are what we have come to expect from places like this, i.e. a bit pricey and not very generous. We plan to go back, though, we're thinking it may be our new favorite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    21
    14
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Word Is Out - Go There For Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Salt Water Farm (SWF) - or as they joke, single white female, is growing into itself since it opened earlier this summer. At first it was a bit off-putting upon arrival, but that's mellowed. The lunch menu varies from day-to-day, so the options are a surprise every time - and delightfully fresh, healthy surprises at that. The several salad options are incredibly fresh and well done as are any of their meatier lunch options. If it is a nice day, be sure to sit out on the back deck, nothing quite like it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Circumspect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't tell anyone else about this place....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This restaurant is now one of my very favorite places to go. I would drive to Maine from CT just to eat there again. It is very simple decor, very airy, clean lines, with pops of color from the tomatoes, eggplants, peppers, and such in bowls along the walls. You need a reservation for the outdoor dining tables with the view of Rockport harbor, so note to self for next time! We ate inside and had one of the best meals ever. All food served is sourced locally...and when I tell you it's delicious and special...you better believe it. I had the lamb burger and I'm not even a lamb kind of gal. It makes my mouth water just reliving that experience. But, like I said, don't tell anyone else about this place, let's just keep it between me and you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bgtmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldoboro, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretentious and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had high hopes for this restaurant but it fell short in just about every category. The menu is a bit odd in that there were only 3 main entrees for our Friday night dinner. There were about 8 small plates (appetizers) on the menu. The waiter warned us that many people weren't satisfied with the small plates so we should consider ordering many and share them along with having an entree. Things did not start well...we ordered gin and tonics and they had no tonic. They offered to make us spicy gin bloody mary's which according to the bartender, was one of her specialties. The bloody mary was good but not special...too spicy for one in our party and it was sent back twice before he was satisfied. We ordered salads and leek and mushroom tarts - both were delicious. For our main course, three of us ordered duck and one ordered scallops. Have you ever heard of scallops being filleted? So...for a $22 entree, he had 4 scallops....a steep price in our opinion. No side dish for any entree. The duck was cooked perfectly and the sauce was delicious. The arugula pesto was tasteless but it really wasn't integral in the dish. For dessert we ordered two pies which we shared between the four of us. Nothing special....not warmed up. Coffee arrived about 5 minutes after we finished our pie. The service was horrible. The waiter was disinterested in us and he was quite distracted. There seemed to be an abundance of staff milling about but no one seemed to be doing much of anything except talking to each other. The decor is lovely. The food was good but there are better restaurants in the area with superior service and locally grown food. The staff is pretentious and needs some serious training. Save your money and go next door to Shepherd's Pie or better yet, spend a bit more and go to Primo's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank midcoastfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Liked our lunch experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Despite some of the previous reviews, we liked the menu, staff, and overall experience. If you want the same ol' burger and lobster roll place, this is not it. I had very fresh, bean and greens soup with lovely, crusty bread. My husband had a melon and ham salad, which was very fresh, pretty and tasty. All the other meals served around us looked to be very fresh and interesting. No complainers in sight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank martarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Water Farm Cafe and Market also viewed

Rockport, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing