We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in almost every way!”
Review of Island View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island View Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect in almost every way!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We've been traveling to Maine for almost 20 years, and I don't know how this place escaped my radar until now. Needing only a room for 1 night, I decided to give the Island View Inn a try. We were greeted by a very delightful and helpful receptionist, who told us we were getting one of the newly decorated rooms. To say that my mouth dropped open upon seeing the room is no exageration! I'm an interior decorator, and I never expected anything like the room we were in. It had first class furnishings and decor, not to mention a view over the infinity pool with the open ocean in the distance. The only thing that would make it altogether perfect is a continental breakfast in the morning...but that's minor compared to what you do get. Worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peachy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    35
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
54
201
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We only booked one night and if we had known how great the Inn was we would have stayed longer. We were met by a gracious host, moved in, walked down to the water and swam in the infinity pool. The room with an excellent view of the bay was very well appointed. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had stayed at the sister inn (Strawberry Hill Inn), last year and decided to try this inn just for a new experience. Wow! The rooms and deck are larger and the furnishings are nicer. You get a quilt to put around you while you are sitting on your private deck complete with a ceiling fan and lounger, two chairs and table. Very quiet and stunning views make this Inn a great addition to any vacation. They only offer coffee and tea but less than five miles is Camden and Marriners Restaurant right on Main Street. Locals go here...you should too.

Room Tip: Second floor offers better views. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginiagirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currently Oregon
Level Contributor
236 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My daughter and I were on a first trip to Maine and decided that we would prefer to stay in one place and take day trips. So, we decided that something near Camden should be just right and chose 'The Cove' rental at Island View in Rockport. The main Inn seemed perfectly situated with a fantastic view but we wanted 2 bedrooms. The 'Cove' is a stand alone about half mile or so down the road. It was a great value, spacious and wonderfully decorated with 2 full baths, including a Jacuzzi tub. Full, and fully equipped kitchen. Living room, dining room, sun room.. Like a little house. Well furnished, comfortable beds. I could go on and on. BUT KNOW THIS... It is right on Hwy 1 and the view is across the Hwy through big power lines. So, I wouldn't stay here if my idea of fun was to hang out on the deck. However, the bedrooms are set back so that wasn't an issue. And I live in an environment with underground utilities so I might be more sensitive than some. That said, if you wants TONS of room and a wonderful headquarters you simply cannot beat this! My GPS brought us in from Portland in a odd way and all our day trips went North through Camden. We thought we were miles from civilization so imagine our shock when we left for the Portland airport and discovered a Wal Mart just 5 miles or so from us. And everything else in Rockport from chain restaurants to a TJ Max Home Center! In sum...if you are coming to hang out on the deck skip this... If you want an amazingly spacious, really well furnished HQ with 2 BR/2BA don't miss it. By the way, house sits up away from highway with large yard so is definitely safe and OK for families. 1.5 hrs to Bar Harbor or Portland. Really, the property is SO nice, thus the 5 stars. I couldn't deduct for the Hwy and power lines because our daylight hours were spent on island mail boats and in small villages.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backpackluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I were visiting the Camden/Rockport area in Maine and decided to stay at the Island View Inn for a couple of nights...Our room was exceptionally clean and decorated in a nautical theme---All of the rooms have a beautiful view of the bay (although I recommend staying on the 2nd or 3rd floor) Every room has a private balcony for a relaxing stay!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor to have a more dynamic view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chayes8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Island View Inn over the weekend. We couldn't have chosen a better place. The room was far from average, and the view from our room was impressive. Very friendly staff, private landscaped decks. Infinity edge pool right outside your door. What more could we ask for? Descriptions and photos on line did not come close to the elegance that was in store for us. This place is definitely worth a return trip.......

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Best room in our coastal trip so far. Clean modern cottage feel. Friendly staff, beautifully kept grounds. Private decks, heated pool. Highly recommended.Gorgeous views, relaxing at its besy. Excellent value too

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlenelovesmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
168 reviews
9.4 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
129 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
2.9 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Inn

Property: Island View Inn
Address: 904 Commercial St, Route 1, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#5 Business Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Island View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Hotel Rockport
Island View Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing