We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island View Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at this lovely inn. We loved almost everything about our experience: the generous size of our room, the colors of the walls, the furnishings (a wonderfully comfortable, very large bed with lots of good pillows, a large desk and chair and 2 aqua/turquoise armchairs), the tasteful nautical decor, the adjustable lighting, the very large bathroom and last but not least, the very large private, balcony. The view that we could see from the bed or chairs out onto the grounds which lead to the ocean was very beautiful and extremely refreshing at all times of day. As for the inn's staff, the lady who cleaned our room kept it spotless and had a very nice manner (special mention to Francesca). The only thing that we we didn't like about our stay was the coldness of the only other staff member we met who worked in the hotel office. There was unfortunately no warmth in her manner and greetings and she never asked us how everything was or made any helpful suggestions. Had she been the only person working at this establishment, we wouldn't have felt very welcome at all. Needless to say, we were hesitant about entering the office area where coffee was available in the morning.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, on the right side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnolia1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Having stayed at hundreds of motels and bed/breakfasts (some costing 3x as much), this is our all time favorite! The spacious room with balcony faces the east and overlooks a beautiful Maine cove with islands in the distance. We woke up each morning in bed with a colorful sunrise (see photo). In the afternoon, we walked down the hill to the water's edge where several comfortable chairs were placed. My wife read while I photographed the scenery. The clean, white room contained a large desk and an extremely comfortable bed. Very friendly and helpful staff. The owner lives nearby. Lots to see and photograph in the area! We wished that we had booked the room for a longer stay and definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This little gem is just adoreable. The rooms are not huge, but furnished in a light seaside manner and are very clean and the staff is very accommodating. Our favorite thing is to sit on the large balcony and enjoy the beautiful view of Glen Cove while enjoying a glass or two of wine.

We have stayed here many times and especially love the Fall. It is just south of Camden, a place offering shopping and great dining.

I highly recommend the Island View Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank renny9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We've been traveling to Maine for almost 20 years, and I don't know how this place escaped my radar until now. Needing only a room for 1 night, I decided to give the Island View Inn a try. We were greeted by a very delightful and helpful receptionist, who told us we were getting one of the newly decorated rooms. To say that my mouth dropped open upon seeing the room is no exageration! I'm an interior decorator, and I never expected anything like the room we were in. It had first class furnishings and decor, not to mention a view over the infinity pool with the open ocean in the distance. The only thing that would make it altogether perfect is a continental breakfast in the morning...but that's minor compared to what you do get. Worth the money!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peachy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We only booked one night and if we had known how great the Inn was we would have stayed longer. We were met by a gracious host, moved in, walked down to the water and swam in the infinity pool. The room with an excellent view of the bay was very well appointed. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had stayed at the sister inn (Strawberry Hill Inn), last year and decided to try this inn just for a new experience. Wow! The rooms and deck are larger and the furnishings are nicer. You get a quilt to put around you while you are sitting on your private deck complete with a ceiling fan and lounger, two chairs and table. Very quiet and stunning views make this Inn a great addition to any vacation. They only offer coffee and tea but less than five miles is Camden and Marriners Restaurant right on Main Street. Locals go here...you should too.

Room Tip: Second floor offers better views. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginiagirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My daughter and I were on a first trip to Maine and decided that we would prefer to stay in one place and take day trips. So, we decided that something near Camden should be just right and chose 'The Cove' rental at Island View in Rockport. The main Inn seemed perfectly situated with a fantastic view but we wanted 2 bedrooms. The 'Cove' is a stand alone about half mile or so down the road. It was a great value, spacious and wonderfully decorated with 2 full baths, including a Jacuzzi tub. Full, and fully equipped kitchen. Living room, dining room, sun room.. Like a little house. Well furnished, comfortable beds. I could go on and on. BUT KNOW THIS... It is right on Hwy 1 and the view is across the Hwy through big power lines. So, I wouldn't stay here if my idea of fun was to hang out on the deck. However, the bedrooms are set back so that wasn't an issue. And I live in an environment with underground utilities so I might be more sensitive than some. That said, if you wants TONS of room and a wonderful headquarters you simply cannot beat this! My GPS brought us in from Portland in a odd way and all our day trips went North through Camden. We thought we were miles from civilization so imagine our shock when we left for the Portland airport and discovered a Wal Mart just 5 miles or so from us. And everything else in Rockport from chain restaurants to a TJ Max Home Center! In sum...if you are coming to hang out on the deck skip this... If you want an amazingly spacious, really well furnished HQ with 2 BR/2BA don't miss it. By the way, house sits up away from highway with large yard so is definitely safe and OK for families. 1.5 hrs to Bar Harbor or Portland. Really, the property is SO nice, thus the 5 stars. I couldn't deduct for the Hwy and power lines because our daylight hours were spent on island mail boats and in small villages.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank backpackluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.9 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
134 reviews
4 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
256 reviews
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
20.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Inn

Address: 904 Commercial St, Route 1, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#5 Business Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £67 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Island View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Hotel Rockport
Island View Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing