We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, and Charming”
Review of Island View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island View Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, and Charming”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I are 60-something, and we wanted a place that was just as the title of the review described, plus quiet. We found it all, and in a beautiful, seemingly secluded setting, even though the inn is just off a rather busy road (Rt. 1). You'd never know it though, because you can't hear or see any traffic.

The room was clean as a pin. Believe me, we are both sticklers about cleanliness. The maid did a fantastic job every day, and we made sure to tip her generously.

The king-size bed was very comfortable. We had five good nights of sleep. The sheets were crisp and white, and the pillows were soft and full.

The place is simply charming. It caters to adults without children, too. The view from the private balcony is stunning. Several mornings we woke at sunrise to take some of the most beautiful pix of the sun rising out of the sea. The landscaping is immaculate, and quite pretty. Paths down to the little cove on which the inn was located made for a nice, albeit steep walk. No problem. We took it slow and easy, and got some exercise in the process.

The infinity pool is wonderful. It's heated and clean and gets ample sun exposure. The view to the cove and the sea and islands beyond is breathtaking.

If I could change one thing about the inn, I would put two sinks in the bathroom. It just makes it easier for two adults to get ready for the day. Otherwise, the inn is terrific, and the price is really reasonable for such a nice place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor. The view is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    35
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
54
206
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

All the reviews are right, lovely grounds, great pool, nicely decorated rooms with a very nautical flair. Good location, easy to get to Camden. But the view is the best part! Beautiful. We are looking forward to staying here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim and Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived at 3 am on a Wednesday morning. It was dark out so we had no idea what lied in store for us in the morning when the sun came out. When we awoke, it was to the most beautiful view and peaceful surroundings we could of ever imagined. The way our rooms were laid out, it felt like we were the only people there. Although the Inn was booked solid it was never busseling with people or noise. The location was great. We were 2 min. from the Lobster Festival in Rockland and a short drive to many attractions. I would recommend this gem to anyone, especially if you want to escape the touristy feeling of vacation. The rooms were very clean, large and comfortable. Very warm feeling. Free coffee was right outside my bedroom door. Only slight issue we had was being woke up by housekeeping the morning that we had arrived. The office was aware we were coming in late but due to flight delays it was very late. Once we asked the front desk to put a do not disturb on our rooms (because we are late sleepers) we were never woken up again. We slept like babies there. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The pool area is were we gathered in the morning for our pastries and coffee. It was an outstanding view and a peaceful way to start our day.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in this hotel are fantastic. They all have a view of the bay and a private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Looked for a place in the area for a summer getaway and found the island view, all around great experience, reasonable rates, spotless rooms, amazing grounds perfectly kept, and location in the middle of everything, not to mention the views from the oceanfront rooms. Definitely highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Downbythesea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at Island View last week and enjoyed every minute. The balcony with a water view was so peaceful, the room was beautifully furnished and looked like it had just been painted. Everything in the hotel is pleasing to the eye. The landscaping is also perfect for the area, beautiful flowers and plants everywhere you look. The front desk staff was very cheerful and helpful. The infinity pool overlooking the bay is beautifully designed and very relaxing. This is a perfect spot for a get-away.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bed that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nykathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed here last week. It was perfect! Great view, large rooms, very quiet. I was surprised by how nice the pool was - I was not expecting to lay around a pool in Maine, but the weather was fantastic and the setting was phenomenal. They have little seating areas with umbrellas set up around the grounds, including by the rocky seashore. Great places to have a glass of wine. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Every room has a spectacular view, even though the day we were there the weather wasn't co-operating. The room was very clean, well appointed and had a great feel with a balcony and opening doors which meant we could enjoy the fresh air. The person at reception was very helpful, proving suggestions of where to visit and dinner choices which turned out to be excellent. The only downside is that breakfast isn't available but the suggested establishment in Rockland turned out to be fantastic.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
184 reviews
9.4 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
110 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
4.9 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Inn

Property: Island View Inn
Address: 904 Commercial St, Route 1, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#5 Business Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Island View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Hotel Rockport
Island View Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing