We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Great Views”
Review of Island View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island View Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We'd read the many positive reviews but because of the very reasonable rates our expectations weren't super-high. From the minute we drove into the beautifully landscaped parking area, we were thrilled with this hotel. Our room was on the lobby level and was very spacious, nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. The balcony was large and private, with an amazing ocean view.

The setting of the hotel is lovely, sitting up on a hill with a huge wildflower meadow down to the ocean. A winding path is mowed through the meadow leading to a tranquil seating area next to the ocean. The pool was also beautiful with flowers, interesting scuptures and landscaping - more like a private home than a hotel.

The hotel was small so even though it was full, it was very quiet and peaceful. The ladies at the front desk were really friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions and information.

The only negative I can think of is that there is no restaurant or bar on the property, and nothing really within short walking distance, so we had to drive for all meals. They do have complimentary coffee and tea in the mornings, and we had a good sized fridge in our room.

Overall, the Island View Inn far exceeded our expectations and we will definitely return !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed at the Island View in mid-June, 2010 and were impressed with the hotel’s décor, cleanliness, attention to detail, and friendly staff. The view of the bay and the woods that surround the property offer a serene environment. Behind the hotel, it’s a short walk down a steep, grassy path to an area with chairs that overlook the bay. The infinity pool is heated, has a water fountain and also offers a great view of the bay. The property is well landscaped and very clean. The Island View Inn is about a 5 minute drive south of Camden, Maine.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLATraveler0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I was pleasantly surprised to get such beautiful rooms. Giant king sized bed with sliding glass doors onto a screened in balcony with chaise and chairs overlooking the bay. Comfortable wing chairs to sit in. The pool was warm and we swam in it despite cooler outside temps. We had a wonderful experience, everything was fresh and clean. Our friends had a handicap room and it was set up in a very friendly fashion for a wheelchair. Easy roll in shower, ramp from parking lot and all the amenities of the other rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StatenIslandLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My husband and I travel frequently and are pretty particular about our lodgings. We booked a room at the Island View Inn because of it's location and modest cost. We were very surprised at what we got for our money. The room and balcony were spacious, modern and clean with added touches of comfort. The view was spectacular , especially from the infinity-edge pool.

The front desk staff were very nice and helpful.
We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

What a wonderful place to stay! Rooms are very spacious and immaculate. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. We had reservations for one night but extended our stay by two additional nights! We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and helpful. Also enjoyed the pool and our nightly strolls down to the oceans edge. We will definitely go back and will recommend Island View to our friends. What a relaxing visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonic1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This was our second choice, but once we checked in it quickly became our first choice.
The room was spotless, with furniture you would find in your home, not that tacky hotel
stuff. The bathroom was huge, with enough towels to serve a small army, and the most
unique shower curtain. The private balcony is truly private and large enough to really
relax on, with a ceiling fan [nice touch], and a beautiful view of the bay and the distant islands. The grounds were gorgeous, and the edge pool warm and relaxing [warm
enough to enjoy on a cool spring day]. All in all I would recommend this place to anyone looking to get away and relax on the Maine coast. A true GEM!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nohebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My boyfriend and I recently traveled 5.5 hours to Rockport Maine for a getaway weekend from the "real world." We were so impressed my the Island View that we would go back in a heartbeat. The inn was so warm and comfortable inside that it actually felt like a beachside home. The grounds itself are beautiful, each room has an ocean view with a large balcony that over looks a huge grassy area with chairs and umbrellas that goes right down to the water. The room itself was large, incredibly clean, and they give you a rubber duckie for the shower! Very cute touch. Also has a heated pool... We would 100% go back and would recommend it to anyone that is looking to getaway. Camden was only about a 5-10 minute ride away, great places to eat.. try the Camden Deli and Rockland was not far either. Overall a wonderful place, very clean, relaxing views and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BPM422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.9 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
8.8 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Inn

Address: 904 Commercial St, Route 1, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#5 Business Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £68 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Island View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Hotel Rockport
Island View Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing