We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claddagh Motel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Island View Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Cove Inn & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledges By the Bay(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$186
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner Bay Motor Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Towne Motel(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
248
60
20
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
60
20
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconestwo bedroom suitecontinental breakfastwonderful hostsplace to staycomfortable bedsfull kitchenclamsclam covemid coast mainenice stayroad noisebar harboralexirishcamdenkitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights at the Claddagh Motel after reading all of the great reviews on tripadvisor. I'm glad we did! Our stay was especially nice because of the owners. Alex greeted us at check in with friendly conversation and suggestions of things in the area to see. Our room was basic but very clean and cozy. The shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure. While we were there we visited Owl's Head Light State Park (at Alex's suggestion) and Birch Point Beach State Park which were both great and close by. After we had checked out and were eating breakfast in town, we got a call from Alex letting us know that we had forgotten a few things in the room and he was putting them aside for us. We were so happy they called us! We were still close by so we went back to collect our forgotten belongings and thank them. If you want a clean room at a reasonable rate and super friendly owners then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tj2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have visited the Claddagh for years, so when we were coming up for a wedding nearby, this is the only place we considered. The motel itself, is an older property with relatively small rooms. The ground are spacious and there is private access to a very pretty cove on the bay. The décor can be a little (or more than a little) over-the-top, but it is a lot of fun in a very Irish way. What sets this place apart is the owners, Alex and Siobhan. They are Irish to the core and the nicest people in the world. There is nothing they won't do to make your stay more pleasant, from steering you to area gems you would never find, to helping out in all kinds of emergencies. Siobhan is responsible for the décor and the cleanliness of the rooms. By this, I mean there is not a surface in the place you couldn't eat off. It's nothing short of amazing. Alex presides over the front desk and breakfast room. Allow extra time in the morning, because he can talk the ear off a brass monkey and you wouldn't want to miss a word. This is a very special place. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this isn't it. The kind of people who run this motel are much rarer than that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jqpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were delighted with our long week end at Claddagh. We knew from the greeting on arrival by Alex and his wife that we had stumbled on to a gem. Their hospitality and friendliness were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble from our requests to borrow an iron to borrowing a knife and chopping board for some cheese and wine to enjoy in their well maintained gardens. The rooms were immaculately clean and had all the amenities. The breakfast were adequate and offered all you need to start the day. I would recommend this place to any one looking for a charming, friendly and affordable place to stay. I will be back!

Room Tip: I wouldn't necessarily go for a room with a view. I preferred the rooms parallel to the road as they were lighter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britishgal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We were surprised at the prices of hotels in the area! We needed a large suite to accommodate two families and the price here was more than reasonable. Our suite overlooked the charming property. The location is central to attractions in Camden, Rockport and Rockland. We had so much to do on our trip, we wished we had more time to spend at the hotel. The owners are super nice. The room was spotless! We would certainly stay here again if we are in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESouth398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were dismayed at the general high expense of hotels in the state (we were there during their high season). We settled on the Claddagh based on the recommendation of someone in town. The proprietor is an Irish charmer. The rooms are small, fairly clean with an attempt at charm. No view. Further up the road are other hotels with great views (but I did not check the cost). They served a quaint Continental breakfast, complete with Irish muffins, with a home-y feel. Just meeting this gentleman made the stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacks, Owner at Claddagh Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

I would like to thank you for staying at the Claddagh and for your wonderful comments on the owner. Yes indeed I couldn't agree with you more, the owner is charming which explains why we are still together after 30 years. Being an older motel some of our rooms are smaller than the newer more modern lodgings. Because of this we keep are prices relatively low. We are actually one of the most reasonable motels in the area. I hope my attempt "to charm" hasn't disappointed you when it comes to the room decor. I personally have a passion for decorating and am responsible for all the room decor. I understand that not everyone may feel the same about it as we all have different tastes. We base our Decorating style on an Irish Cottage. Only some of our rooms have ocean views but all our guests have ocean access. I hope you had a chance to walk to the ocean,( a sandy little cove), via our private ocean access .Delighted you enjoyed your continental breakfast and once again, Thank you for staying with us.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Gilmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews