We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bill & Corinne R. Brewerton, N.Y.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Claddagh Motel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Brewerton N.Y.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bill & Corinne R. Brewerton, N.Y.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This past visit was our second stay at the Claddagh, a great motel. You are treated like you are royalty, no request too big or small. The rooms are the cleanest you'll find anywhere and brightly decorated.

After leaving I found out I left a bottle of medication in the room. It took one call to the host, he searched the room and found the medication and promptly mailed it to me. He refused any payment for his kindness, that's exactly how he is, you come first. find that at any other motel, you never will. We loved the coffee pot and endless supply of coffee in the rooms. I found nothing at all wrong with the rooms or the treatment we received. We will stay there again. Thank You for a great stay, See Ya Lata.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamRoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    56
    19
    0
    1
See reviews for
89
129
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, CA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Claddagh Motel in Rockport, Maine. The host was very much the Irish Gentleman and greeted us warmly. Our room was very clean and well maintained and had a refrigerator and huge Mr Coffee pot. (so much nicer than the usual one that holds 2 cups) . My only drawback was that it looked like someone who really liked flowers painted the entire room. It was a bit much for us but it was for one night, so we laughed and enjoyed it. The beds were comfortable and there were lots of nice towels. The host recommended a local spot for dinner called the Helm and they have the best salad bar I've seen in years.....kind of like they had here at home 20 years ago. In the morning was a more or less standard continental breakfast but was appreciated and served well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49erlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacks, Owner at Claddagh Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We want to thank you for staying at the Claddagh and for your nice review. We work very hard at our business and really appreciate your comments. We are planning major updates in our rooms for next year. Although most of our units have been freshly painted and recarpeted in the last two to three years, I do believe the room you were in from your description is the only one we haven't repainted and changed the color scheme in although the carpet is new. This will most definitely be carried out next year along with changing some furnishings and doing major updating on our bathrooms. We plan to have all this completed for next years tourist season. I hope if you ever return to this area you will come back and see all the nice work we 'll have done.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardman Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were traveling through the area and found a room last minute at the small motel. We stayed in a small suite. Very clean, comfortable. The host was so kind. He phoned around to local restaurants to find us a good place for lobster dinner. Not a 5 star hotel, but a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh N Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacks, Owner at Claddagh Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We want to thank you for staying at the Claddagh and for your nice review. We work very hard at our business and really appreciate your comments. We are planning major updates in our rooms for next year. Although most of our units have been freshly painted and recarpeted in the last two to three years, I do believe the room you were in from your description is the only one we haven't repainted and changed the color scheme in although the carpet is new. This will most definitely be carried out next year along with changing some furnishings and doing major updating on our bathrooms. We plan to have all this completed for next years tourist season. I hope if you ever return to this area you will come back and see all the nice work we 'll have done.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

At first, this motel is quite good but compared to others were we stayed it's a three point rating for us.
We stayed there one night and arrived at 8 pm without reservation. Since all regular rooms were already full we got the suite for the price of an regular room. Perfect. The suite was quite big but also a bit old. But for one or two nights absolutely OK. A little breakfast is also served. The best at the motel is the owner who is so funny and hospitable and very easy going. We really enjoyed our talks with him. He is worth to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausisnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacks, Owner at Claddagh Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
We want to thank you for staying at the Claddagh and for your nice words about us (the owners).Delighted we live up to our reputation of good old Irish hospitality which comes so naturally to us, just the way we were brought up ourselves.Yes indeed, we are an older motel but we are constantly updating. We try to keep the old world charm while offering the modern day comforts and conveniences at the same time.It is important to us to maintain the character of the "Irish country cottage" while offering all the comforts of home..One area that upset me was that you only gave us a three on cleanliness. As a Registered Nurse myself, I am very involved in the daily cleaning of all rooms and suites. We have an excellent housekeeping staff and I personally try to bring the high standards of cleanliness expected in the health care field into my motel units. We are so focused on cleanliness that your rating in this area has shocked me. All rooms are checked every day prior to occupancy by either myself or the head housekeeper. However, once again we want to thank you for staying with us. Hopefully if you ever return to this area, you will come back to see us for more "good old Irish hospitality".
Alex and Siobhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My mother and I were very pleased with our accommodations and the wonderful hospitality shown to us by the Innkeepers. I have stayed here once before many years ago and remembered how clean the room was and the property was well maintained. The motel was near all the attractions we wanted to visit. Alex was especially helpful in making suggestions of what else there was to see in the area. The mornings head start of delicious tea and coffee, scones, bagels etc. were abundant. The Gilmores could not have been more gracious and helpful with anything we may have needed. It was a wonderful experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Having stayed at the Claddagh several years ago, I was impressed with the updates Alex has
made. The bathrooms are tiled, the beds comfortable, and the kitchenette better furnished than some motels I have stayed at. The place was clean and the staff friendly. It's a good place because it's between Rockland and Camden, but quiet and nicely sited.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this quaint Motel. Extremely friendly and helpful owners.
Room was clean. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was clean however sink was outside the washroom and off to the side as part of a little kitchenette making it a tad inconvenient.
Grounds were very nice, providing various sitting and picnic areas with BBQ, also a pool.
In our particular room internet was a tad spotty which was odd considering the the extender was right by our room (most likely a technical issue).
Breakfast was provided in an area of the main office. Although small, it was a cozy and sunny spot.
We did the enjoyable walk (5 minutes or less) down the street and through a yard (their rental property I believe) to get to the nearby beach.
Overall a nice stay. At the time we stayed and considering price paid would say ok value. Dont forget to ask for AAA/CAA discount.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovingdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
0.7 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
318 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Rockport
122 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
0.6 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claddagh Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claddagh Motel & Suites

Property: Claddagh Motel & Suites
Address: 1044 Commercial St, P.O. Box 988 Rockport ME 04856, Rockport, ME 04856-3801
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockport
#3 Business Hotel in Rockport
#5 Family Hotel in Rockport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Claddagh Motel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cozy Irish-owned motel set on 3 plus acres of well manicured grounds with white picket fences scattered throughout. In room coffee,refrigerators,free local & long distance phone calls US & Canada & wi-fi. All rooms decorated in an Irish cottage style with painted beams, lace linens & tablecloths. Continental breakfast every morning serving Irish Tea & Scones just to name a few. Heated outdoor pool on site & private access to Clam Cove Beach only a two minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Claddagh Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claddagh Motel And Suites
Claddagh Hotel Rockport
Claddagh Motel Rockport
Claddagh Motel & Suites Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing