We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and cheery atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Claddagh Motel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I stayed at the Claddagh Motel for a few days in May of this year. I loved it. I loved everything about it. The initial warm welcome of the proprietors made one feel very much at home. They are both Irish and being Irish myself we spoke a lot about common histories. The room I stayed in was comfortable and spacious. It had been redecorated, with newly painted ceiling beams complimenting a vibrant array of colour on the patchwork bed quilt and matching cushions. The really important thing for me however, was that the bed was clean and comfortable and contributed to a really good nights sleep. All amenities worked well. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Toiletries and good quality towels were provided in the bathroom and again - very important - the shower pressure was just right. Breakfast was continental and served in a cosy room with large windows providing an almost panoramic view of the motel's surroundings. There I could see the hospitality and friendliness that I experienced extended to all the other guests. The atmosphere was good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cluevawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Claddagh Motel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

We had the opportunity to come to the Claddaugh Motel as a trip with my parents to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary. We picked it because my Mom is Irish.

I would like to echo the sentiment that Alex makes you feel right at home. We could have just sat and listened to his stories. Siobahn sense of style and color in the rooms made you feel like you were in Ireland. Our room was very spacious and adorable with the Irish Linens and throw pillows not found in the chain hotels.

The whole motel is incredibly clean. The location is right on the water and awesome. We are already planning to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

My husband and I chose to stay at the Claddagh motel because we saw excellent reviews on tripadvisor. I have to say we made the right choice. The owners were very nice and went an extra mile to make us comfortable.

One of the nights when my husband borrowed a wine opener from Alex ( one of the owners) he gave us two wine glasses along with saying that the wine should never be had out of plastic cups. I thought that was really sweet.

The rooms were very cozy, clean and well decorated. There was high speed internet access. Bathroom was small but served it's purpose very well.

We had originally intended to stay one night but stayed on for another night. We got good tips about the places to see around. The owners were never in a hurry and were very patient in answering our questions.

Overall, we are both very happy that we chose to stay here and would definitely stay at the same place when we go back. It was an excellent value for the price we paid too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singha303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Stayed here for two nights over Memorial Day weekend as a result of all the positive reviews on this site. Motel is very easy to find. We had a two room suite which was spacious and clean. Had kitchenette and a large bathroom. Two TVs, one in each room. It was a chilly weekend and the heat worked well. Owners were very nice, chatted over breakfast and gave our little son an Irish soccer ball, pencil holder and pens, which thrilled him. Breakfast was blueberry muffins, toast, English muffins, coffee, tea and OJ. No noise from Route 1, but the whole area was surprisingly quiet for a holiday weekend. We came here for a family event and would definitely stay here again the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My sisters & I have been staying at the Claddagh Motel for a number of years, traveling from Syracuse, NY to visit our elderly aunt who is in assisted living at Quarry Hill in Camden. Alex & Siobhan are always accommodating & welcoming! We have probably stayed in most of the rooms at one time or another and all are clean, with the most comfortable beds and pillows ever! Their suites provide convenience of kitchen areas which we have used when traveling with grand-kids & don't want to eat out every night...Their rates are very affordable. Location is between Camden and Rockland area, so one can travel either way for just about everything. They have a great pool for kids & teens. I have never had a bad experience at the Claddagh and recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlannaSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

This is a cute old-fashioned motel with pride of ownership everywhere – the grounds, the exteriors, the linens on the beds and the furnishings in the guest rooms, the convivial breakfast room reminiscent of Europe. Alex, one of the owners, is outgoing and every person he meets immediately becomes his best friend. The motel looks like it was picked up intact from Ireland and deposited exactly where it belongs on the down east coast of Maine. The location is perfect if you are visiting the Rockland-Camden area.
The room size was satisfactory; no closet though there is a shelf over the fridge with an area to hang clothes. The in-room fridge and coffee maker are convenient. The bed linens are just special with the kind of personal touch you normally only get in a B & B. The bathroom size also was satisfactory though the shower had the uncanny knack of losing either hot water or cold water mid-shampoo. This happened two different mornings so we began to wonder if a message about the water consumption was being sent. The bathroom linens do not live up to the same standard as the bedroom linens. Bring your own toiletries.
The bed was a bit too hard and we did not sleep well any of the nights during our stay. Unfortunately, the room was very noisy. We could clearly hear the gentleman in the next room snoring all night and the next night we heard all of the activity from the adjacent room on the opposite side. The traffic noise from Highway 1 was very loud and a problem in the early morning hours. The breakfast in the charming breakfast room was convivial.
The pool looked inviting though we did not use it. There is a cove nearby that makes for a pleasant early morning expedition. Plenty of parking (free!) and easy in-out. Sweet sort of old-fashioned motel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank queen of belize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacks, owner at Claddagh Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2008

We are a little disappointed to read this review. Both my husband and I try very hard to accommodate everybody and ensure that their stay will be an enjoyable one. I personally am involved in the cleaning of the rooms along with our regular cleaning staff, all of whom have been with us for a number of years.Even with this excellent staff the rooms are checked everyday by either myself or the head housekeeper. We were so suprised/shocked to hear that there were no toiletries supplied and this wasn't picked up by either myself or the head house keeper on final check of rooms.This was a genuine oversight for which we are truly sorry. All our rooms come well stocked with the essential toiletries.This was never brought to our attention.Our towels are all motel quality towels with the exception of the big bath towels which are far better quality and bought elsewhere. 95% of our rooms are set back off the main road and our beds are all Chiropractic supreme beds. We have never been told before in our twelve years at this business that you could hear the guests next door snoring. We are truly sorry that this guest had a hard time sleeping which is rather unusual in this facility. We did have a problem with one of our hot water heaters. We have four in total and as soon as we were aware there was a problem, we took care of it. We regret that this guest did not like our rooms as we strive to give the best we possibly can and will continue to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Loved the location. Rooms were beautifully decorated. The owners were lovely. Continental breakfast was really nice. Alex lent us a kettle, teapot and mugs , also made sure we didn,t run out of tea. We stayed for 2 nights, would have been happy to stay for more, if time allowed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devontitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.7 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#2 of 10 in Rockport
332 reviews
3.2 mi away
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Rockport
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
218 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
0.6 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claddagh Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claddagh Motel & Suites

Address: 1044 Commercial St, P.O. Box 988 Rockport ME 04856, Rockport, ME 04856-3801
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockport
#5 Family Hotel in Rockport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Claddagh Motel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cozy Irish-owned motel set on 3 plus acres of well manicured grounds with white picket fences scattered throughout. In room coffee,refrigerators,free local & long distance phone calls US & Canada & wi-fi. All rooms decorated in an Irish cottage style with painted beams, lace linens & tablecloths. Continental breakfast every morning serving Irish Tea & Scones just to name a few. Heated outdoor pool on site & private access to Clam Cove Beach only a two minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Claddagh Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claddagh Motel And Suites
Claddagh Hotel Rockport
Claddagh Motel Rockport
Claddagh Motel & Suites Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing