We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location in Camden/Rockport. Needs to refurbished soon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice location in Camden/Rockport. Needs to refurbished soon.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights last week. Helpful staff. Air conditioner was on the blink in the middle of the night and drive us crazy. Facilities need to be refurbished soon. Breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hswmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    67
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
75
68
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Recently my wife and I stayed at this spacious inn in Rockport Maine. The inn is conveniently located along highway no. 1, but set back far enough that highway noise was not a problem.
Due to delays on our part we didn't arrive until midnight, and then left mid morning the next day, so we didn't really have a chance to check out local attractions.
The manager very graciously left the key out for our room. The room was very spacious, ( a suite ), with a rear access to a garden in addition to the main entry.
The room was clean and comfortable
Breakfast was very generous with a variety of items to choose from and good coffee.
We stayed there on a Groupon certificate which made the accommodation more affordable to us, but I am sure the regular rack rate is competitive, especially for what you get.
Would love to have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here before. Facility seems to have deteriorated (AAA now 2 diamonds, from 3) - experienced some maintenance issues upon arrival, which were rectified, some towels raggedy and coarse, breakfast seemed to have fewer options, while we were told prior to arrival that feather bedding is not used, came to find out that large pillows on bed contain feathers - replaced on day 2 with hypoallergenic pillows, bed was hard.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterk0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billhahn, Owner at The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I want to thank Peter for his thoughts and comments about the Inn. I believe that the pillow issue has resulted from an "unintended consequence" . From time to time we have had specific requests from guests for feather pillows; in the interest of good service we purchased some to have on hand for special requests. I would guess that a few found there way into our normal inventory of hypoallergenic pillows, which we will endeavor to correct. Peter also points out that AAA has dropped our rating from 3 to 2 diamonds which is also correct. AAA ratings are based strictly on property style, materials, and ongoing design trends in the industry, not overall guest experience; the reduction in our rating was a result of our choices in furnishing and finishes, not property condition. I firmly believe that we offer good value and a level of caring for our guests not found at many properties; one guest indicated this when she said she had stayed at hotels all over the world and liked ours the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Inn located on the outskirts of Camden and easily available to Rocklands Art galleries and Port Clydes ferry service to Monhegan Island is a find as it readily caters to family size groups with its spacious rooms with suite like space dining areas. It provide home baked goods for afternoon snacks and a interesting breakfast which is not that of a B&B but is certainly good. Its rates are not that high and its access to the abovementioned towns is valuable. Its right off the Route 1 highway and is quiet . And there is a indoor swimming pool off the entry way....and various items for sale . Staff is very hospitable.

Room Tip: Many good sized rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erabmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Country Inn at Camden/Rockport in Maine is a wonderful place to stay for business or pleasure! With a wide choice of room and housing opportunities during the summer months and great rooms for the rest of the year; I find myself returning every fall to enjoy the area and the accommodations. The suites are lovely, and spacious.

Lots of places offer a "breakfast"; but, the Country Inn offers a real "meal" as they provide selections of fruit, beverages, breads/pastries/bagels, waffles, cereals, tea and coffee (this is not the full selection)!

There is a nice indoor heated pool on site, and many local attractions to visit. I highly recommend a stay at the Country Inn at Camden/Rockport!

Room Tip: On a cooler evening in the fall or spring you can request a suite with a gas fireplace, and take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billhahn, Owner at The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I am just using this particular review to thank our guests that take the time to write about the things they enjoy at the Inn. While I don't do this often enough, I want to express my appreciation for the effort. I review all reviews with staff, and I know they appreciate the kind words as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

When I came into the lobby, I was ready not to like it. The outdated 1980s "Cracker Barrel" country theme didn't feel professional or restful to the eye.

However . . . the night was very quiet (we were off season), the bed was great (firm), and the staff was very friendly. Even made homemade cookies for us!

The room had a nice sitting area with a couch, and a little table for a working area.

The fitness center was great (displays working on the machines---not always a given), and they even have free weights, which is hard to find in most hotels. The pool is the best hotel pool I've seen in a while. Plenty long for real lap swimming--not just a "show" pool.

The breakfast was adequate. Quiches to heat in the microwave, some fancy breads . . . brunch-type fare.

All in all a restful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler8655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billhahn, Owner at The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your insights. I appreciate the positive comments, and think that the " not restful to the eye" comment has merit; we will consider that when working on upgrading our landscaping and exterior plans. I would offer that when the Inn was constructed, we really didn't think of it in terms of "decor" which to me suggests building a box, then spraying on whatever look is desired, a Disneyland approach. While the architecture is pretty straightforward, we simply built what we thought to be warm, inviting, comfortable, homey, New England based spaces for our guests, made the more so, I think, by our staff, as mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great stay; I would definitely stay here again. I got a nice big suite (with kitchenette, sitting area with its own TV, spacious feel with high ceiling) for the price I've been paying for reg. hotel rooms this trip. Very friendly check-in with a guy who gave us good advice for local restaurants. The lobby and room decor is really cute; each room has a unique pattern and they're in good condition. The room and bath were very clean. The breakfast was OK; they have a lot of items different from the usual chain options (2 kinds of quiche, banana choc. chip bread, fresh pineapple). The pool and fitness center were the best this trip; their equipment is well-maintained, and they have free weights.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
3.9 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
1.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
320 reviews
1.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
146 reviews
5.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport

Property: The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Address: 8 Country Way, Rockport, ME 04856-6147
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rockport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of yesteryear, at Country Inn at Camden/Rockport, the pace slows and the mind rests. In this family friendly hotel with designated pet suites, you will discover the casual essence of Camden and Rockport Maine and come to know you can just be yourself here. It’s a place that invites you to be relaxed and fully at ease. Discover the coziness of this modern inn resting on wooded grounds. Country Inn is located between Camden and Rockport Maine harbors along Route One. Savor the moments in our heated swimming pool, cozying up to the lobby fireplace or enjoy building a snowman in our backyard. A country style breakfast buffet is provided each morning and late afternoon refreshments are offered each day during tea time. Warm chocolate chip cookies are served in the early evening as you prepare to relax. Don’t forget to check our hotel’s specials and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Inn At Camden / Rockport Hotel Rockport
Country Inn Rockport
Rockport Country Inn
The Country Hotel At Camden
The Country Inn At Camden / Rockport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing