We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Country Charm Makes for a Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for our one year anniversary. Beautiful rooms. Charming and cozy. We stayed in the king suite with a jacuzzi tub- outstanding room size with great big beams and many windows makes it feel like a house. This was our second time visiting. Will stay again whenever we visit Camden.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Brianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights last week. Helpful staff. Air conditioner was on the blink in the middle of the night and drive us crazy. Facilities need to be refurbished soon. Breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hswmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Recently my wife and I stayed at this spacious inn in Rockport Maine. The inn is conveniently located along highway no. 1, but set back far enough that highway noise was not a problem.
Due to delays on our part we didn't arrive until midnight, and then left mid morning the next day, so we didn't really have a chance to check out local attractions.
The manager very graciously left the key out for our room. The room was very spacious, ( a suite ), with a rear access to a garden in addition to the main entry.
The room was clean and comfortable
Breakfast was very generous with a variety of items to choose from and good coffee.
We stayed there on a Groupon certificate which made the accommodation more affordable to us, but I am sure the regular rack rate is competitive, especially for what you get.
Would love to have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here before. Facility seems to have deteriorated (AAA now 2 diamonds, from 3) - experienced some maintenance issues upon arrival, which were rectified, some towels raggedy and coarse, breakfast seemed to have fewer options, while we were told prior to arrival that feather bedding is not used, came to find out that large pillows on bed contain feathers - replaced on day 2 with hypoallergenic pillows, bed was hard.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterk0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billhahn, Owner at The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

I want to thank Peter for his thoughts and comments about the Inn. I believe that the pillow issue has resulted from an "unintended consequence" . From time to time we have had specific requests from guests for feather pillows; in the interest of good service we purchased some to have on hand for special requests. I would guess that a few found there way into our normal inventory of hypoallergenic pillows, which we will endeavor to correct. Peter also points out that AAA has dropped our rating from 3 to 2 diamonds which is also correct. AAA ratings are based strictly on property style, materials, and ongoing design trends in the industry, not overall guest experience; the reduction in our rating was a result of our choices in furnishing and finishes, not property condition. I firmly believe that we offer good value and a level of caring for our guests not found at many properties; one guest indicated this when she said she had stayed at hotels all over the world and liked ours the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Inn located on the outskirts of Camden and easily available to Rocklands Art galleries and Port Clydes ferry service to Monhegan Island is a find as it readily caters to family size groups with its spacious rooms with suite like space dining areas. It provide home baked goods for afternoon snacks and a interesting breakfast which is not that of a B&B but is certainly good. Its rates are not that high and its access to the abovementioned towns is valuable. Its right off the Route 1 highway and is quiet . And there is a indoor swimming pool off the entry way....and various items for sale . Staff is very hospitable.

Room Tip: Many good sized rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erabmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Country Inn at Camden/Rockport in Maine is a wonderful place to stay for business or pleasure! With a wide choice of room and housing opportunities during the summer months and great rooms for the rest of the year; I find myself returning every fall to enjoy the area and the accommodations. The suites are lovely, and spacious.

Lots of places offer a "breakfast"; but, the Country Inn offers a real "meal" as they provide selections of fruit, beverages, breads/pastries/bagels, waffles, cereals, tea and coffee (this is not the full selection)!

There is a nice indoor heated pool on site, and many local attractions to visit. I highly recommend a stay at the Country Inn at Camden/Rockport!

Room Tip: On a cooler evening in the fall or spring you can request a suite with a gas fireplace, and take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billhahn, Owner at The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

I am just using this particular review to thank our guests that take the time to write about the things they enjoy at the Inn. While I don't do this often enough, I want to express my appreciation for the effort. I review all reviews with staff, and I know they appreciate the kind words as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

When I came into the lobby, I was ready not to like it. The outdated 1980s "Cracker Barrel" country theme didn't feel professional or restful to the eye.

However . . . the night was very quiet (we were off season), the bed was great (firm), and the staff was very friendly. Even made homemade cookies for us!

The room had a nice sitting area with a couch, and a little table for a working area.

The fitness center was great (displays working on the machines---not always a given), and they even have free weights, which is hard to find in most hotels. The pool is the best hotel pool I've seen in a while. Plenty long for real lap swimming--not just a "show" pool.

The breakfast was adequate. Quiches to heat in the microwave, some fancy breads . . . brunch-type fare.

All in all a restful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler8655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billhahn, Owner at The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your insights. I appreciate the positive comments, and think that the " not restful to the eye" comment has merit; we will consider that when working on upgrading our landscaping and exterior plans. I would offer that when the Inn was constructed, we really didn't think of it in terms of "decor" which to me suggests building a box, then spraying on whatever look is desired, a Disneyland approach. While the architecture is pretty straightforward, we simply built what we thought to be warm, inviting, comfortable, homey, New England based spaces for our guests, made the more so, I think, by our staff, as mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
1.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
647 reviews
3.9 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
1.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
178 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport

Address: 8 Country Way, Rockport, ME 04856-6147
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rockport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £77 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of yesteryear, at Country Inn at Camden/Rockport, the pace slows and the mind rests. In this family friendly hotel with designated pet suites, you will discover the casual essence of Camden and Rockport Maine and come to know you can just be yourself here. It’s a place that invites you to be relaxed and fully at ease. Discover the coziness of this modern inn resting on wooded grounds. Country Inn is located between Camden and Rockport Maine harbors along Route One. Savor the moments in our heated swimming pool, cozying up to the lobby fireplace or enjoy building a snowman in our backyard. A country style breakfast buffet is provided each morning and late afternoon refreshments are offered each day during tea time. Warm chocolate chip cookies are served in the early evening as you prepare to relax. Don’t forget to check our hotel’s specials and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Inn At Camden / Rockport Hotel Rockport
Country Inn Rockport
Rockport Country Inn
The Country Hotel At Camden
The Country Inn At Camden / Rockport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing