We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooner Bay Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Very clean, comfortable, quiet, reasonable, excellent WiFi. I was fortunately able to book a last-minute reservation for a weekend night during the prime summer season, in the popular Rockport/Camden area.

Dayle and David were perfect and helpful hosts. The motel has rooms on 2 floors. Dayle considerately suggested a room on the ground floor since, as a woman traveling alone, I would not have to carry luggage up a flight myself.

The breakfast was more than adequate. The location on Rte 1 is very convenient. It is very close to a Hanneford supermarket and a Renys department store.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    36
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
44
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I was booking a room last minute during the Lobster Festival and basically, this was the only place that had availability and was fairly affordable (given the season and the festival). Ended up being surprisingly nice. They had a very light breakfast (English muffins, cereals, fruit cup, juices and coffee), rooms were clean, the owners were very friendly, cable tv, and room was quite a bit bigger than I expected too. Also had a mini refrigerator in the room. Right on Route 1 and close to Rockland and Camden.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

a nice and clean place to stay
we had 2 rooms for 4 nights during the Lobster Festival
only drawback is the cont. bfsk. is at the home on top of the hill
while your rooms are at the bottom of the hill
not good when it rains in Maine, but really a nice clean place to stay
we spent a lot of money here and would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigknothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

For a budget conscious yet discerning traveler, this motel is a great find. While the rooms are very modest, they are exceptionally clean and well stocked. Especially impressive was the lighting which allowed reading without effort. Quaint and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bahm143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax , VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

This is the third year my wife and I have stayed here while attending a woodworking class in Rockport. The rooms are as clean and fresh as the first time we found this gem. Neat, clean, good price, convenient location....... what more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Schooner Bay was perfect for us. If you want a quiet, clean and homey place to stay in the Rockland-Camden area, look no farther. On-site owners and hosts went the extra mile to assure a comfortable 3-night stay. Great location and breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERMESR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Cost-cutting construction and furnishings, a water-saver toilet that barely flushed, burned out lights, non-fuctional wi-fi, and unwelcoming hosts. Only for the very tired. I notice that all negative reviews are rebutted as I'm sure this one will be, but it was what it was...

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank georgia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bro248, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Very little this Reviewer has said is true. Only truth is we do have water-saving toilets.

This reviewer stayed with us 1 night and we had little contact with them. We greeted them when they checked-in and we made one request of them. One of the guests in this room was sitting on our deck with the windows open to their room as well as the windows next door to their room, smoking. We are a non-smoking facility but let guests smoke outside away from the building. Sometimes we don’t know the guest is a smoker and this is one of those times. We politely called the guests and asked them to smoke away from the building. Nothing was said in their review about the smoking. We feel the reviewer did not like this request and this review is the result.

All lights and light switches were working properly before & after the reviewer’s stay as was the Wi-Fi. A guest 2 rooms away used the Wi-Fi the same day as the Reviewer’s stay and had no problems.

When a light or light bulb goes out or the Wi-Fi doesn’t work or there’s a problem with a toilet, guests contact the front desk and have the problem taken care of. This reviewer never called, never spoke to us about any problems. As we said, the review is a result of the smoking request and nothing to do with these alleged problems. This is a poor use of Trip Adviser.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.4 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.5 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#4 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
2.4 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Bay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Bay Motor Inn

Property: Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Address: 337 Commercial St, P.O. Box 544, Rockport, ME 04856-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Bay Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Inn that caters to our quest needs by providing legendary customers service. Full day trip itinerary planning by the owner (who has lived here there full life). Rooms are small but very quaint and immaculately clean. We will start your day off with a home continental breakfast which includes fresh quiche, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. We are conveniently located in mid coast Maine 3 miles north of Rockland and 2 miles south of Camden at the head of the bay in Rockport Harbor home of Andrea the seal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Schooner Bay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Bay Hotel
Schooner Bay Motor Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing