We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here in the middle of November 2013. Lowest cost room found on line in the area. Saturday night and there were plenty of vacancies. Breakfast is no longer being served, (past season) but the room was large, clean, warm, with small refrigerator, flat screen tv, and free wireless. For $65 we had a great nights sleep on comfortable beds in a clean room. No complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Photobill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Schooner Bay is like a taste of the past--a good taste. It's a small, older, family-run motel on Route 1, convenient to Camden, Rockport, and Rockland. As in days gone by, you check in at the owner's house (but in a public room) just up the hill. My room was small, but very well arranged, with room to sit a table, didn't feel crowded. Very clean. Tiny bathroom, but the sink and vanity outside it had plenty of room to spread out. Breakfast of cereal, breads, and juices was ordinary and sort of limited, but the breads were above average. Best feature--even better than the excellent location and good price--was the owner/manager/clerk, who was so welcoming, so helpful, so enthused about the area and so friendly that he felt like family--in the best way. He said he wished I could stay longer, and if I didn't have a plane to catch, I think I would have. Would definitely return, and recommend it to anyone seeking a good place at a good price in this pricey area. It's not luxury, but you'll be well taken care of.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hillretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Schooner Bay was clean, comfortable, and well maintained. We enjoyed a very generous continental breakfast with assorted bagels, breads, and muffins, fruit, cereal, coffee, and orange juice. We would not hesitate to stay here again and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Popsquawli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Schooner Bay Motor Inn is located on Route 1 in Rockport, very near Camden and about 5 miles from Rockland. It's not on water or walking distance from anything but if you are visiting Rockland and Camden, this is a perfect location.

Our room, for $150 per night (which is their most expensive rate; we booked late and nothing else was left for our mid-August weekend visit), had two queen beds, a table with two chairs by the large window, a place to hang clothes, a large bureau with a mirror over it, a couple of comfy chairs, and a nightable in the main room, plus a counter with sink, ice bucket and cups, a small refrigerator (but no microwave or in-room coffee service), and large mirror outside the actual bathroom, which held the toilet and a tub with shower. Very spacious and roomy for a motor inn..

Everything was clean. The plumbing worked perfectly. The beds were very comfortable, as were the pillows. There are many accessories provided: shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shoe-cleaning cloth, facial cleaning cloth, and hand soap, plus a hair dryer. The air conditioner worked and was quiet. Ice is located in a locked room (your key opens it) near the motel rooms, and the motel office and breakfast area are about 100 yards up the hill (driveable if you can't walk it), over a small bridge and past an inviting shady seating area with Adirondack chairs.

We knew we would arrive after the office closes at 10 p.m. so we let the owners know and they left our key in a prearranged place so we didn't have to rush.

The continental breakfast provided (included in room charge) consisted, in August, of several kinds of cold cereal, thawed frozen blueberries, bananas, fruit cocktail, English muffins, bagels, mini danishes, lemon-poppyseed bread, juices, coffee and tea. Unfortunately, the morning news/talk shows were on the TV in the breakfast room, which is the last thing I want to hear on vacation (or ever).

There is free wi-fi but the signal was not quite strong enough in our room.

In all, a comfortable, relatively inexpensive, and relaxing two-night stay in a central spot, convenient to the area's tourist destinations.

Room Tip: Half the rooms are top floor (up outside stairs, which can be a bit slippery when wet) and half are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Schooner Bay Motor Inn is a clean, attractive non-chain inexpensive motel. Gripes are minimal: foam pillows, no HBO- like that. I don't think they have a pool. Clean, well-maintained, hospitable and strongly recommended for a budget stay in the Thomaston<>Lincolnville area.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor may be a bit quieter overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dual1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott P, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you so much for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have been staying at the Schooner Bay Motor Inn for years and I have never been disappointed.
They are conveniently located right next to Camden Maine and not far from Rockport harbor. The accommodations are basic but clean and quite. I always have a very comfortable stay when I am here. They also provide a very nice continental breakfast with muffins, fruit and more. They also have free wifi. The new owners are very friendly and can answer questions about local attractions. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott P, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I are currently enjoying our stay here. This is a wonderful place with a great location, a close walk to the Rockport Harbor and a short drive to the Camden or Rockland Harbors. It is very clean and cozy. The owner is very friendly, accommodating and lives on the premises. A continental breakfast of fresh fruit, including strawberries, fresh breads, muffins and cereal is provided along with coffee and juice. Don't miss out on this gem that is also a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dinkydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott P, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for a great review! We are so happy you are staying with us here at Schooner Bay this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.4 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.5 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
5.1 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
340 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
2.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Bay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Bay Motor Inn

Address: 337 Commercial St, P.O. Box 544, Rockport, ME 04856-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: £53 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Bay Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Inn that caters to our quest needs by providing legendary customers service. Full day trip itinerary planning by the owner (who has lived here there full life). Rooms are small but very quaint and immaculately clean. We will start your day off with a home continental breakfast which includes fresh quiche, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. We are conveniently located in mid coast Maine 3 miles north of Rockland and 2 miles south of Camden at the head of the bay in Rockport Harbor home of Andrea the seal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Schooner Bay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Bay Hotel
Schooner Bay Motor Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing