We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, neat, homey - plus service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean, neat, homey - plus service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Schooner Bay was perfect for us. If you want a quiet, clean and homey place to stay in the Rockland-Camden area, look no farther. On-site owners and hosts went the extra mile to assure a comfortable 3-night stay. Great location and breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERMESR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    36
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
44
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Cost-cutting construction and furnishings, a water-saver toilet that barely flushed, burned out lights, non-fuctional wi-fi, and unwelcoming hosts. Only for the very tired. I notice that all negative reviews are rebutted as I'm sure this one will be, but it was what it was...

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank georgia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bro248, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Very little this Reviewer has said is true. Only truth is we do have water-saving toilets.

This reviewer stayed with us 1 night and we had little contact with them. We greeted them when they checked-in and we made one request of them. One of the guests in this room was sitting on our deck with the windows open to their room as well as the windows next door to their room, smoking. We are a non-smoking facility but let guests smoke outside away from the building. Sometimes we don’t know the guest is a smoker and this is one of those times. We politely called the guests and asked them to smoke away from the building. Nothing was said in their review about the smoking. We feel the reviewer did not like this request and this review is the result.

All lights and light switches were working properly before & after the reviewer’s stay as was the Wi-Fi. A guest 2 rooms away used the Wi-Fi the same day as the Reviewer’s stay and had no problems.

When a light or light bulb goes out or the Wi-Fi doesn’t work or there’s a problem with a toilet, guests contact the front desk and have the problem taken care of. This reviewer never called, never spoke to us about any problems. As we said, the review is a result of the smoking request and nothing to do with these alleged problems. This is a poor use of Trip Adviser.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

This was my second stay... Schooner Bay is a homey, squeaky clean (no stray hairs, smoky smells, etc.) motel with plenty of parking. And the rooms are a nice size, too.
If you are looking for an affordable, clean, safe stay go here. This is not a place with: flat screens, children running crazy, noisy elevators/ice machines, smoky odors. It is simply a nice place to stay.
Continental breakfast is always included (New England brand coffee and tea, OJ, individual fruit bowls, coffee cake, and breads and cereals), as well as free WiFi. Proprietors David and Dayle are welcoming and very helpful if you need assistance choosing activities and restaurants on the fly as I have been doing two years in a row now. And the other guests were friendly, too. It is located near the Prism gallery, a winery, and a short drive to Camden and Rockport on the water. The fireworks in Camden were really nice this year, with good viewing on the Library hill and even better across the street from Camden Cone at Willey's Wharf (no crowds on the wharf!)
I am looking forward to July 4th next year at Schooner Bay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CT_yankee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

Schooner Bay Motor Inn was very clean and neat both inside in the rooms and outside around the grounds. The room was nicely decorated. The outside grounds had flowers and the trees were just starting to turn to their fall colors. The innkeepers had a continental breakfast with some great pumpkin flavored breakfast cake. My wife and I will be staying at Schooner Bay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrmsbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

The off site office of this property was remodled and clean. The rooms, not so much. Outdated linens, goofy pictures of rabbits on the walls, and most of all, a too tough to take odor of pine sol or some other strong cleaning agent in the room that reminded you of a nursing home. We bought a scented candle and it didn't mask the odor. I guess you get what you pay for. It actually might be acceptable if they changed cleaning supplies.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copeland-Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay248, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2009
This reviewer has made off hand insinuation that are rooms are not clean. We pride ourselves in having clean rooms and we have been told so by our guest over and over again. Reviewers on these pages have used the words “very clean”, “immaculate” and “super clean”
I feel the headline “Bring nose plugs” is very unfair, untrue and insulting. The reviewer said there was an odor in the room from strong cleaning chemicals. We use mild chemicals, we do not use Pine Sol or anything like it. Our person in charge of housekeeping who checks the rooms, has asthma, she would not and could not tolerate strong chemicals. This reviewer was here for two days and never complained to management about any “odor.”
I don’t understand the complaint about out dated linen. We use heavy cotton towels in various colors and we replace them when get warn or just old. We do the same with sheets, blankets and bedspreads. As for the goofy picture of the rabbit, it’s just a print on the wall and we like it. We can’t decorate for everybody’s personal taste; we just try the best we can. Other reviewers have complimented us on our decor.
Our office/breakfast room has not been remodeled. It’s new, having built about 7 years ago.
We do not allow open flames in our rooms, especially a candle. We feel this is a dangerous fire hazard not only in our motor inn but in any lodging. Again I say the reviewer should have contacted management if he felt the chemicals produced an “odor” that he was sensitive to rather than burning a candle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

we absolutely loved our stay in this motel! The location is terrific, the room was super clean and very cute, little continental breakfast and all for a very small price!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Schooner Bay Motor Inn for an overnight get-away to the Camden area. The place was wonderful. The room was immaculate and very tastefully done. It wasn't ritzy like the Hilton --it had more of a home away from home feel. We loved it. The price was extremely reasonable and not only covered the room but a free continental breakfast in a cozy lounge/ reception area. The owners of the motor inn were very pleasant and friendly. The inn is also located within a close proximity to hiking trails ,sightseeing places, stores, and restaurants. Great place!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maineyankee062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.5 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlight Lodge at Seven Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Bay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Bay Motor Inn

Property: Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Address: 337 Commercial St, P.O. Box 544, Rockport, ME 04856-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Bay Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Inn that caters to our quest needs by providing legendary customers service. Full day trip itinerary planning by the owner (who has lived here there full life). Rooms are small but very quaint and immaculately clean. We will start your day off with a home continental breakfast which includes fresh quiche, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. We are conveniently located in mid coast Maine 3 miles north of Rockland and 2 miles south of Camden at the head of the bay in Rockport Harbor home of Andrea the seal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Schooner Bay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Bay Hotel
Schooner Bay Motor Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing