We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rumford Retreat”
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Boardwalk Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rumford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Rumford B&B and Inns
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rumford Retreat”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

After a day of golf at Belgrade Lakes, we arrived to a warm welcome from the hosts, Joline and Gerry. The Inn was well located, just off a few kilometres from the main route through the western part of Maine. Gerry provided an interesting recount of the evolution of the Inn's history to the newly renovated property. The hosts were very helpful in making a call to a local pizza place and having a pizza delivered to the door of the room in which we were staying. The Baxter room was very large with a comfortable king size bed. The setup of the sitting area with large screen television and tables was a perfect spot for us to enjoy our pizza. We really liked the idea of having the breakfast items already in the room. The choices were more than adequate and the K cup coffee maker was very convenient. This Inn was very reasonably priced and we truly enjoyed our overnight stay in Rumford.

Room Tip: We really liked the south facing room, the side next to the parking area. The newly renovated wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GolfGal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rumford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Although I have never stayed a night at Boardwalk Inn I have toured their spaces and rented their rooms 5 or 6 times for entertainers I've had at my business at 49 Franklin in Rumford. I always ask how was your stay and 100% of the time it's a positive response. I've gotten feedback like "I've stayed at places that cost twice as much that are not half as good!" and "It's fantastic, quite, private and very clean." "The hosts are very nice, and the place is immaculate." It's in fairly close proximity to my business, and it's a pleasure dealing with The Boudreaus, It's where I send all my V.I.P.'s
Scot Grassette

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A wonderful bed and breakfast, great hosts, beautiful and clean room. And the history of the inn is fascinating, a must read when there. This was a business trip, but would definitely like to bring my husband for a vacation in the area, and stay at the Boardwalk Inn an extended time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthbrown27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Was in town for a wedding and was fortunate enough to get a room here. Very clean and comfortable and a great price. Gerry and Joline (the owners) were very nice and accommodating. It was great waking up and having our breakfast on the counter that had been put there the night before. If you're staying in the area, I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey Brook
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the Boardwalk Inn when we traveled to the area for some day hikes on the Appalachian Trail. Our rooms, the Acadia and the Swift River, were immaculate, comfortable, and came with a continental breakfast in each room. The hosts, Gerry and Joline, were very pleasant and offered some ideas on restaurants in the town as well as a brief history of the inn and area.
The Inn is located a couple of miles out of Rumford, not quite within walking distance of downtown, but is quite reasonably priced and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenhoneybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I enjoy staying at the Boardwalk Inn and agree that this Inn is a great deal as well as the best place to stay in the area. Gerry and Joline Boudreau are very congenial and accommodating hosts, The rooms are tastefully decorated, extremely clean, comfortable and quiet. The amenities include a mini frig, microwave, and a large flat screen TV, The in-room breakfast is an added bonus, featuring all fresh items such as cereal, milk, coffee, cream, bagels, cream cheese, muffins/pastry, juice and fruit.

Room Tip: The new wing is very spacious, recommend seeing if one of those rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyFredMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We just finished a ski weekend in Rumford and had an amazing stay at the Boardwalk Inn. The owners are incredibly nice and accommodating. The rooms themselves are spacious, clean and updated. We were able to stay here for two nights and it was the best hotel/ bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at. Here are a few highlights:

radiant floor heating
wood floors
comfortable beds
microwave, mini fridge, keurig, toaster
continental breakfast available in the room
nice clean bathrooms
flat screen tv
nice lighting

It's amazing. Definitely worth the stay. I will be back with my husband next year for sure!

Room Tip: We had the "swift river room." it was right by the road but it had more for their kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumford
19.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Perennial Inn
The Perennial Inn
#2 of 2 in Rumford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
15.5 mi away
Wilson Lake Inn
Wilson Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Wilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Colonial Valley  Motel
Colonial Valley Motel
#1 of 3 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mount Blue Motel
Mount Blue Motel
#2 of 3 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
16.0 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Property: Boardwalk Inn
Address: 867 Route 120, Swift River Road, Rumford, ME 04276-3836
Region: United States > Maine > Rumford
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rumford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 New Suites in Rumford Maine. Private entrance, private bath, phone, Cable TV/DVD, Wireless Internet, A/C, private parking. Suites have solid oak amish furniture thru out. Close to skiing, hiking, fishing, biking in the heart of the western maine mountains. Rate includes continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing