We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cozy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rumford Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Iris Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rumford Center
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice and Cozy”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Very nice with a lovely view of river from the back porch area accessible from sliding glass door in our room. Proprietor very sweet and very knowledgeable about the history of Rumford. We were given directions to the welcome center who in turn gave us lots of info about site seeing, restaurants, covered bridges in the area. Really enjoyed learning about Hugh Chisholm, the paper mills and ability to walk through Strathglass Park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobapadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
11
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Central MA
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Excellent motel with a great view of the river. Hosts are very friendly and know the area well. Room was very clean and A/C worked great.

Room Tip: The rooms on both sides of #8 all share a balcony overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ffgrizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This motel was very dated. I will say it was very clean and the lady at
the check in desk could not have been nicer- she went out of her way
to ensure I found a place open to have a meal. The room, however, leaves
much to be desired. It was small but okay. The air conditioner only blew warm air,
so we opened up the patio door to the rear of the building. There were a lot of holes in the screens, so a lot of mosquitoes got into the room. I had to get up six different times in the night to kill mosquitoes, so, therefore, didn't get my much needed rest. The view from the rear of the building is very nice, but the back deck should probably be replaced. You could see in several spots where the wood was rotting. No coffee maker in the room. For the price we paid, it could have at least had a coffee maker. No fridge or microwave, either. Very clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noonanite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

First of all, the rooms are tiny. No amenities, no ice, no coffee, no hair dryer, no wake-up call, nothing. I have never seen a hotel that didn't have coffee in the morning, even at Motel 6. This place is completely bare bones, which would be fine if they were only charging $50 a night, not $75. In summary, if you want almost nothing for the same price as a real motel, stay at the Blue Iris.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountainman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This place was recommended to us by family and reviews here on TripAdvisor confirmed that it might be a good choice. We went to Rumford for a family wedding in May 2011 for an exteneded weekend.
The place was spotless, the rooms very cute, the people who ran the place were so nice, and the price very good. The bathroom looked brand new. I don't think we could have made a better choice.
We would definitiely stay there again and I recommend the Blue Iris if you are in the Rmford area. The town was really cute, too. It was our first trip there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucksport Me.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We chose this motel to stay in both in 2009 and 2010. Had mentioned we would be golfing at Sunday River when making reservations the first time and was surprised the woman checking us in remembered our conversation and seemed to have a genuine interest in making our stay enjoyable. The same was true in 2010 on our return visit. The rooms are somewhat dated but are comfortable and clean and the price makes the throw-back look very easy to accept After !8 holes of golf we hit the pool for almost an hour each visit. te will be booking with them again in 2011.

Room Tip: Get rooms w/river view a furthest from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BucksportMe_Chipshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

NIce owners, reasonably fine accommodations and plenty clean. However, I was on a tight schedule having to return to a contract and wanted to relax and nap before the next work commitment. The owners asked when I would arrive and commented when I checked in about what we had chatted about in terms of work commitment showing me they were fully aware that I would be there that afternoon. The room was below 50 degrees when I arrived and it took over an hour to bring the temperture up to 60 degrees; not warm enough for me to unbundle from my scarf and jackets and not warm enough to take the nap I had planned so I could rejuvenate. When I returned later that evening the room was toasty warm. Comfortable bed, noise level between units was well insulated from hearing the neighbors. Set up with microwave, small fridge and coffee maker but no coffee packets supplied. It's probably the better priced option in the area and overall adequate to nicer than adequate but turn the heat on before your guests arrive!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trav3lstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumford Center
20.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
310 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
21.8 mi away
Mount Blue Motel
Mount Blue Motel
#2 of 3 in Farmington
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Wilson Lake Inn
Wilson Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Wilton
493 reviews
13.6 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
13.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iris Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iris Motor Inn

Property: Blue Iris Motor Inn
Address: Route 2, PO Box 127, Rumford Center, ME 04276
Region: United States > Maine > Rumford Center
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rumford Center
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Blue Iris Motor Hotel Rumford Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing