We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Inn”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rumford Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Iris Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rumford Center
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfort Inn”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We picked this stay after reading the reviews. It was all that was written. Everything was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was updated with a sparkling clean tub enclosure. We only stayed one night but could have easily stayed much longer due to the comfort & amenities of the room with kitchenette. We ate lunch & breakfast up the road at th Route 1 Diner as recomended by Jean. This was well worth a stop. The Rangely Mountain area is an hour away & is a sight to see.. We had a wonderful short vacation. Thanks Blue Iris, Route 2 Diner & Brian's Bistro for your hospitality and the beauty of this earth.

Room Tip: End kitchen/room has view of river but no deck out back. Microwave & coffepot with filters prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyandBBBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
10
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, Ct
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Several family members had stayed here in April 2012 (see earlier review) and we enjoyed our stay so much that we knew we would stay here again. A little different experience this time, not having family members with us, but my mom and I enjoyed our stay nonetheless. One thing we noticed this time that we didn't last time is that you can hear noises from the room next door - nothing too bad, but the murmur of conversations, closing doors, etc. We again enjoyed our wine and cheese and crackers on the balcony out back, looking at the beautiful river, sky and clouds. While we enjoyed the Mexico Chicken Coop last April, we decided to go the other way, into Bethel. Jean told us about a couple of places and we settled on Rooster's Roadhouse, which was an excellent experience. We came back from dinner and climbed into our respective beds to just relax and watch TV before sleep. Nice place, nice people. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This small motel is awesome. Absolutely spotless room!! Great kitchen area for longer stays. Close to Bethel and Sunday River for fishing, skiing etc. Loved it! Thank you Blue Iris........it was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drivemyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, Ct
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Several family members and I were in the area for my great-aunt's burial in nearby Mexico. Found the Blue Iris Motor Inn on line and after reading reviews, shared the info with my sister, who was making arrangements for 8 of us to travel here. Jean and Peter could not possibly have been more welcoming or more accommodating. We were in the "balcony building" - we had 5 of the 6 rooms in that building, with no one in the center room - so we had the balcony out back all to ourselves to kick back with a glass of wine, some crackers and cheese and just relax after a very long and emotional day and several hours of travel. Jean supplied us with buckets and ice to chill our drinks, and Peter came in with a supply of extra cups.

The room was somewhat dated in furnishings, but everything was incredibly clean and comfortable. I would suggest letting the cold water run in the bathroom sink for a few minutes, as it initially comes out hot - but does get cold if you let it run.

The view yesterday morning outside over the river was breathtaking. The sun was rising over the trees, the fog rolling on the river, and a thick layer of fog above the treeline...just beautiful.

Jean was very knowledgable about the area, and restaurants that were open. We had dinner at the Mexico Chicken Coop - great food, great price, one waitress handling the room and she was fantastic. Breakfast was at the Rte. 2 Diner, just around the corner from the Inn, wonderful food, homemade breads, great coffee.

We will be heading back to the area later this year and will definitely stay here. I can't thank them enough for their warm hospitality at a tough time for my family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at the Blue Iris on a Saturday night (before checking in at Sunday River which for some weird reason does not allow Saturday check-ins), we wanted to be close to Sunday River to get a good start on our ski day on Sunday. I found the Blue Iris online and based on mostly positive reviews decided to stay there. We arrived after a long day in the car and were met by Jean, the charming lady who runs (owns) the place. We decide to upgrade to their one and only suite, as we had picked up a pizza at the Rumford House of Pizza (separate review) and wanted to open a bottle of wine and kick back and unwind. While the decor could be considered a bit dated, the unit was 100% spotlessly clean and was perfectly comfortable. Sure, you might find more up to date decor at a big box chain hotel, but this location served our purpose and budget and is a great place to stay. I dropped a bottle of shampoo and it rolled behind the toilet; when I retrieved I noticed that even the often-grungy area behind the toilet was spotless! Be sure to check out the Route 2 Diner (I will be posting a separate review) for a fantastic breakfast!

Room Tip: WiFi somewhat spotty, but that could be the terrain (?).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our first time in the area, and our random choice of lodging turned out to be fortuitous. Well maintained grounds and bright, friendly buildings right alongside the river. The hostess was delightful. We had a suite that was well-appointed and spacious. The kitchenette was fully stocked with utensils and cookware. We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip to the area!

Room Tip: Room 5 was the nice suite we had, but rooms 6 and up have patios overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draigathar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Very nice with a lovely view of river from the back porch area accessible from sliding glass door in our room. Proprietor very sweet and very knowledgeable about the history of Rumford. We were given directions to the welcome center who in turn gave us lots of info about site seeing, restaurants, covered bridges in the area. Really enjoyed learning about Hugh Chisholm, the paper mills and ability to walk through Strathglass Park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobapadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumford Center
20.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
298 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
5.3 mi away
The Perennial Inn
The Perennial Inn
#2 of 2 in Rumford
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
16.2 mi away
Wilson Lake Inn
Wilson Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Wilton
472 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iris Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iris Motor Inn

Property: Blue Iris Motor Inn
Address: Route 2, PO Box 127, Rumford Center, ME 04276
Region: United States > Maine > Rumford Center
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rumford Center
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Blue Iris Motor Hotel Rumford Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing