We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Iris Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rumford Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Iris Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rumford Center
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We recently stayed one night at the Blue Iris, and it was everything we were hoping for. Comfortable, clean and a good value. The Androscoggin River is behind the motel, which is very pretty and makes this a wonderful setting. We also appreciated the excellent customer service: A family with an unhappy baby was in the room next to us. We asked to see if there were any other rooms we could be switched to, and she put us in a different room that was a suite-more expensive than what we paid for. We really appreciated that.

Also make sure to heed the suggestion to go to the Route 2 Diner for breakfast. I almost took a picture of the raspberry stuff french toast, but decided I had better eat it right away!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iKneadavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
10
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Ohhhhh geez. FIrst of all this place looks like a scene from a horror movie. We are CONVINCED the place is haunted. At 3:16 in the morning we were laying in bed watching Tv & all of a sudden, the window shade in the bedroom FLEW UP!!! We could hear moaning noises & people walking around. We will not be returning to this place. It's too scary! The woman at the front desk was VERY nice though :)

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vadisrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

Stayed at this inn for a weekend trip to Sunday River because it was the best value for something only 20 minutes from the mountain. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The woman at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. We took her suggestion and ate at the diner down the road, which was a terrific place for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixie5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at the Blue Iris three times this summer: on two different occasions in June and once this August (2009). Each time Jean, the person who greeted me at the desk, cleans the rooms and basically runs the place, greeted me with warmth, appreciation and friendliness. The rooms, though old and with no frills, were very clean, comfortable, and quiet. There was plenty of hot water and the water pressure was excellent. The motel is located about a half a mile from an excellent diner (Rte. 2 Diner) where I enjoyed breakfast each morning I was there. Though a bit dingy on the inside (the diner, that is), the food is delicious and of good quality. The motel is located in a rural area on Route 2 about 15 minutes east of Sunday River Ski Area. It overlooks the Androscoggin River and provides the setting for a safe and peaceful night's rest. It's not plush by any means, but for the price, it can't be beat. Great Value!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue-bird2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcoasteastcoast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

Stayed here on a 2 week trip throughout Maine - one of the best places we stayed. Appears to be an older motor court but very updated. Our room had a poster bed and comfy chair and was very clean. The back opens with a sliding glass door to a balcony (shared) overlooking the river - really pretty.
The office gave us information on a place for dinner and for breakfast and both were excellent. Very friendly - would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Balcony view of the river
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasteastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

We travel to the Rumford area quite a bit to visit my husband's family. For years we stayed in his hunting camp and took pride in "roughing it." Since having a baby last year, we have had to begin staying in local motels on our stays. This was our third selection, and the saying "third time's the charm," is correct. The affordable choices in this area are few, and we were disappointed with our first two trips to other establishments. However, the Blue Iris was very comfortable and clean, and the owners were personable and accomodating. It is obvious they take pride in their property. The room we stayed in had a kitchen area with a refrigerator and microwave, which was great for storing the baby's food and feeding her, and also provided the needed space for her pack and play. There was a pool that looked very inviting on the 90+ degree day that we were there, but it wasn't open yet (my only disappointment). This may be our home away from home on our future trips.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

Blue Iris Motor Inn is a pleasant, small hotel located in Rumford Center, a small town just east of Bethel, Maine and Sunday River Ski Resort.

Our room was small, but immaculate and furnished with two comfortable double beds. The care the owner has taken with the rooms was apparent in the selection of furniture, bedding and decor. Instead of wallpaper someone had hand stenciled the walls with great care. The owner/innkeeper was very nice and provided us with some chocolates upon arrival.

Although there was no table in the room, we helped ourselves to one of the plastic tables outside on the back porch of the hotel room. Although it had been outside all winter long, it was very, very clean - as were the plastic chairs outside as well.

The view from the sliding glass doors and the porch was outstanding. Behind the motel is a wide river; at the time of year we stayed at the Blue Iris, there was snow on the ground and the area is quite rural, peaceful, and beautiful. We really loved the view.

We will certainly stay here again!

  • Liked — Beautiful setting, comfortable room.
  • Disliked — Room was a tiny bit small.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumford Center
20.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
5.3 mi away
The Perennial Inn
The Perennial Inn
#2 of 2 in Rumford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
13.7 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
16.2 mi away
Wilson Lake Inn
Wilson Lake Inn
#1 of 2 in Wilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iris Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iris Motor Inn

Property: Blue Iris Motor Inn
Address: Route 2, PO Box 127, Rumford Center, ME 04276
Region: United States > Maine > Rumford Center
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rumford Center
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Blue Iris Motor Hotel Rumford Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing