We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a weekend but too far from the Beach”
Review of Sanford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanford Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sanford
Latham, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Okay for a weekend but too far from the Beach”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I would recommend this motel to a friend, if they had business in the Sanford area, but wouldn't recommend it if they there to visit the Maine beach areas as this place is too far about 11 -12 miles from the ocean water.

It has been newly renovated to a certain level, the beds are kind of soft leaving my wife and I with sore backs and hips. The exterior doors, windows, roofs, bathrooms and flat screen HDTVs are nice newer upgrades. It is overall, pretty spotless.

The continental breakfast is a little lame, coffee, not great, (not in room coffee available) . The breakfast area is very small,just big enough for about 6-8 people.

The owner lives there so you get personal service.

Overall, the place is great for a short stay. Closeby you'll find the Weathervane seafood restaurent next door, a Dunkin Donuts a 1/2 mile away, a golf driving range, mini-golf and batting cages just 3 doors away. A brand new super Walmart is about 1.5 away that opened in July, 2009.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomSheedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I was a little weary when first staying at the Sanford Inn. The lobby was plain and not very decorated. The manager was friendly and was pleased to hear that some of us were staying there for a second time (I had read reviews on the booking website and they were not too fond of him, but I thought he was pleasant). He gave us newly renovated rooms, with new carpet (can't not notice that new carpet smell!!) and a flat screen TV. The bathrooms were brand new, the showers were awesome! Everything was spotless, and the beds were comfortable. Parking was nice because each room had a designated spot right out front. Only thing I would say is bring a pillow if you like them softer because the pillows are a bit hard. Otherwise, my family was pleased with our stay at the Sanford Inn and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessxsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, vt
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2009

This was the perfect place to stay for a night of "passing through" Clean, good showers, friendly service, adequate selection on the TV, very comfortable bed. Something to break the fast in the morning. Easy in and out of rooms and close parking. Close to the main roads for acess, yet quiet for sleep.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Stayed 2 nights during a business meeting in Oct. 1st night wa ok, room was adequate. 2nd night after getting in after the late night meeting,we were woken up at 7am by roof costruction right over my head. Const. crew told the manager about guests in the rooms. Manager said to do the job anyway that the guests had a full night. Owner refused to give cresit or even a discount to myself and other guests in other rooms. I had stayed there before. I will not stay there again. I am in Sanford several times a year and will be staying just up the road at the Oakwood,much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyhill2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanford hotels

New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We have just returned from another great stay at the Sanford Inn. The owners are very helpful and the room was spotless. The location is great for our needs. Will be returning again.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank motelpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emly296
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We were coming through Sanford on a vacation, and we had booked our room at the Oakwood Inn. We forgot the name of the Inn when we finally arrived in Sanford, which is our own fault. But we saw the sign for Sanford Inn and figured there weren’t any other Inn’s in Sanford. We told the man that we had reservations, told him our name, and he said yes. We thought we were going to be in a large room with an elegant fire place, two Queen beds, and large bathroom. He took us to a medium sized room that was dark and just plain looking. When we asked about the fire place he said he does not have any rooms with fire places and that we misunderstood him on the telephone. We stayed there one night, the next day we found the Oakwood Inn in the center of town. We got our things and we swore to never return to a place that is not honest. We ended up getting our hotel room with our elegant fire place, and it was the best week we ever had!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank emly296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanford
15.0 mi away
The Anchorage Inn - Rochester
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Sanford Kennebunkport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Motel 6 Portsmouth
Motel 6 Portsmouth
#17 of 17 in Portsmouth
255 reviews
13.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland
9.3 mi away
Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanford Inn

Property: Sanford Inn
Address: 1591 Main St, Sanford, ME 04073-2462
Region: United States > Maine > Sanford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanford Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sanford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanford Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing