We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed from a return visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
cape cod, ma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed from a return visitor”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I reserved 4 rooms for members of my family while attending a birthday party. We had been there 2 years ago and had a positive experience. Things have deteriorated. Everything started with the fact that when we were checking in to what I was told was a "sold out" night a person walked in without a reservation and got a rate $20.00/night lower that that what we had reserved weeks in advance. I was told "that's just the way it is". When my son and his wife checked in they found that their room was dirty and smelly and asked to change room. They were told the hotel was "sold out" and that they couldn't change rooms. They asked whether everyone who had a reservation had checked in so perhaps he could change to one of those rooms. They eventually did move him (twice) and the room was only marginally better.

When we went to our room through the side door, we found empty bottles of beer and cigarette butts in front of the door. When we entered our room we found a dirty, open ironing board in the room and we had to get someone remove it. The comforters had a very bad odor, so strong that we actually had to put them in the hallway. The carpets had a damp, musty odor. When we asked for extra pillows, we were told that they did not have any. There no tissues, no bath mats and the bath tub had mold in the corner.
The two other rooms we had were musty and unappealing as well. We were able to get the manager to agree to lower our room rate and we got a reduction for the terrible state of the room but I will never go back to the hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rblamkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    53
    52
    26
    38
See reviews for
88
61
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, NH
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Good enough for a short stay on the way. We stayed here last year for the Maine State Senior Games and liked it enough to return. We got what we expected - a clean room, accommodating staff, adequate breakfast before the track meet, convenient location. Very unusual for a hotel/motel of this type: very quiet location and no lights shining in the window. The elevator and ice machine could not be heard inside the room either.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Modern building. On main drag on the way out to Old Orchard Beach, fifteen minutes or so south of Portland. Not a destination in its own right.

Plus points: good beds; quiet, efficient air conditioning; plenty of parking; free wifi; free breakfast (of a sort).

Minus points: oh my, I really hope you don't get to meet a young woman at the desk who will (try to) check you in. Alternately incompetent, angry and incoherent in speech. Look out - you've been warned!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The GF and I stopped here with the little man for a night and it was the biggest mistake we could make. We should have known as there was no one in the parking lot. Hotels.com gave us a good deal but they accidentally booked us two rooms. When I went to check in there was no one there. I rang the bell that they put out and it still took 10 minutes to get someone to check us in. They never once said that we had another room, or offered us a key to the other room. When we awoke in the morning we noticed that we had double the charge. The GF went out to talk to the staff to clear it up, and the sheepish lady at the front desk past it off to the owner/manager. He then berated and yelled at my GF saying it wasn’t his fault. My GF works in customer service and is used to being yelled at, but he did it in such a way that she was irate. The icing on this cake is that he did it with little man right next to her. She sent little man down to get me, so I would deal with him. When I spoke with him he was still rude but he didn’t yell at me. I at first thought that the GF might have been over reacting but when the Owner/manager walked out from around the front desk he started yelling at her saying he wasn’t going to deal with her. I pulled him aside, he told me there was nothing he could do and walked away. The GF called hotels.com to see what they could do… and hotels.com tried calling the hotel. The hotel said that there was a leak in the pool and that the manager wasn’t available. This as it turns out is the company lie to get you to hang up so they don’t have to deal with you. After having my family belittled and yelled, with poor customer service I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone.
On the other hand the rooms were nice and clean, and the breakfast provided was nice. It is a shame because this hotel was nice aside from the poor customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Check in was fine and clerk friendly, but I had to ring the bell too. Beds were comfortable and room clean as are standard Comfort Inns. However, the next morning the breakfast which are normally very good @ most other C.Inn hotels, was HORRIBLE. Eggs were bad, poor overall selection, only one juice, lousy scrabble, and afraid to try their coffee. I would stay @ this hotel again but would look @ other options for breakfast. The area around the hotel is very quiet and not on a busy highway so that is a big plus too !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Upon arrival, at 7:30 pm, I had to ring the bell to call someone to the front desk. The clerk simply handed me my room key and walked away. She didn't ask for ID or payment! She assumed I was paying with the card I used to reserve the room (which was my Choice Privileges card, and had recently expired). I had to ring the bell again, and ask her if I could pay for the room. Of course, she didn't know what she was doing, and had to ask someone to help her figure out how to receive payment (why was she working the front desk?)

Our floor was extremely noisy, with children running in the halls and slamming doors, and adults (presumably their parents) partying loudly next door until midnight. When I called the front desk to complain, they did come to the room, and asked them to quiet down, and they did.

We were given a handicap-accessible room, so the bathroom was cavernous, but the room was much smaller than a standard room. The shower was equipped with an ADA showerhead, which was broken, so it sprayed directly into my chest (I'm slightly less than average height).

The TV reception is terrible. The printed guide in the room even described the channels as "snowy". Rather than indicate the channels as "snowy", why not actually fix the problem.

We were disappointed with our experience here, and probably won't come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcrosthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, MI
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Check in clerk was not overly friendly and was very strict about check-in time. We wanted to drop our bags off early (maybe 12-ish), but were informed check in was at 3 PM. Parking lot was empty save 1 car (presumably hers)...so found it hard to believe no room was available...but whatever. 2nd experience with desk staff...it took about 20 minutes to get towels for the pool. This was around 4 PM, and again only one desk person (different clerk)...and he was taking hotel reservations while people waited at the desk! Even by the time it was my turn up in line, the phone rang and I had to stand there while he quoted them room prices and then booked their room. The "shower" you use in the pool area is basically a hose you rinse off with...and pool was very COLD. I booked a suite with 2 queens and it wasn't what I would usually call a suite. But, it was clean and beds were comfortable. But next time wouldnt pay the extra $$ for the "suite".

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,290 reviews
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 329 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074-9703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent non-smoking BRAND NEW Comfort Inn & Suites hotel is conveniently located off Route 1, just five miles from Portland International Jetport. Old Orchard Beach, Higgins Beach, Pine Point Beach, Scarborough Beach State Park and the University of Southern Maine are all just minutes away from this Scarborough, ME hotel. Guests of this Scarborough, ME hotel are invited to enjoy amenities and features like: * Free deluxe continental breakfast * Free wireless high-speed Internet access * Free local calls * Indoor heated pool * Exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Scarborough
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Scarborough
Scarborough Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Scarborough, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing